We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Traditionally Sri Lankan”
Review of Mandara Rosen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandara Rosen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely place located in a serene environment. Good food and very comfortable rooms.Very friendly staff ready to assist at all times.
Great stop over if you are travelling towards the Yala Forest Reserve.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are the best with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjayB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 403 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Large, spacious modern rooms with a balcony overlooking manicured gardens. Bathroom was well appointed and also spacious.
I had been injured earlier in the day and attended the spa for treatment. The lady was excellent and not only gave me a good massage but also provided Ayurveda treatment which assisted with my neck and shoulder injury.
Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a big room with exit to a terace and the hotel's palm garden.The service was good everything was clean.The swimiming pool and the relaxing area around it is superb.They have a very good spa.I ordered massage for one hour.The woman was very good and kind.She knows her job and at the end I realy felt relaxed.The price is relativly cheap.
You can order many trips from the hotel in Kataragama area,safari trips and even a visit with explanations at a local school and hospital.Do not forget to bring candies for the children.
The food in the evening was not so tasty and maybe it can be improved.
The room has all modern facilities(safe TV coffee maker mini barhair dryer)

Room Tip: I recomend the ground floor rooms because the exit to the terace and the garden which is full of swe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Due to unavailability of The Safari and Taprospa at Tissa we were so fortunate to get a last minute cancellation booking at Mandara. A la cart meals were much better than the restaurant Breakfast. Dont miss the Hoppers at the breakfast buffet.:). We ll definitely stay at Mandara on our next visit. Special Thanks to Sudesh at reservations.

Room Tip: Ground Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely, big room and excellent bathroom. The hotel looks great and the pool is lovely. Service at the poolside tables is woefully slow and inefficient but don't expect fast service in Sri Lanka. The dinner buffet is just ok for a country where the food is normally delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taistealoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The pool area is amazingly beautiful. The spa is terrific. the room is big, nice and have a nice porch behind, with many squirrels running around. the breakfast is fine and beyond satisfactory. the staff is very polite and welcoming. I enjoyed this hotels very much and wish i had spend there a few more days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

First impression not so good with a cockroach travelling through the room and musty bathroom. Space and overall look of room and pool area was nice.

You need to exit the reception of the hotel to go to the restaurant, not cosy. Buffet was average. The night was sentenced when a giant cockroach walked in our table, plates and cutlery. They did not ask us if we would like to change table.
The worst was yet to come: the WORST NIGHT EVER since midnight vomiting and in pain. A gastroenteritis that almost ruined our vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kataragama
1.0 mi away
Tamarind Lake
Tamarind Lake
#1 of 3 in Kataragama
60 reviews
11.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gregory's Safari Bungalow Yala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,679 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandara Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama 91400, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Price Range: $81 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandara Rosen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing