We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and rooms”
Review of Mandara Rosen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandara Rosen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and rooms”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you are doing the Yala safari, there are closer hotels to choose from .. That being said I think this was perfect for me .. The staff were welcoming, friendly and smiling which is always a plus point and gives a great first impression .. The room was big and nicely laid out and the air con kept the room cool even though it was really hot outside .. Blankets were the only thing missing but I noticed this is almost all the hotels around Sri lanka ..
Wash area and shower was also a big area to move around in, very spacious ..
The hotel is nicely laid out with the coffee shop and pool area and a little more maintenence in cleaning the grounds would be nice .. But I guess surrounded by greenery makes it quite hard to do ..
Still i wouldnt hesitate to stay here .. I had a nice, if short, trip ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalidfromBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    147
    93
    30
    24
See reviews for
122
147
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose to stay at Mandara Rosen for a night. We were in the vicinity because we wanted to visit the Yala Wildlife Sanctuary. It's a beautiful hotel. The lobby and entrance are actually the most poorly designed spaces in the hotel, the rooms, lawns and the pool area are way more aesthetically designed.

They have a pool which is a great amenity, unfortunately the pool is closed after 8pm which is quite sad. I wonder why hotels haven't realized what a benefit it is to have pools that are open till much later in the night for people who come back from sightseeing only late evening.

The rooms are huge! We got rooms on the ground floor which are beautiful They had two double beds and a huge gorgeous bathroom (although it was with showers and no bath) and a sit-out area which opens to a backyard where each of the rooms open out to. But because of the 45 degree angle, each room has privacy and yet it's open. They have tea/coffee sachets with a kettle in each room. The rooms are quite spacious and well designed too. One thing lacking in the rooms is blankets. They only provide thin bedsheets so remember to call room service for extra blankets.

Loved the dinner buffet while we were there. They surprisingly had fresh seafood which I just loved. No ice creams for dinner though. :/

They have a gorgeous tiny jewelry store that sells semi precious stones and precious stone jewelry and the shop seller is very very eager and gentle. He didn't mind spending nearly 30 mins with us showing us the various jewels even though it was quite apparent that we weren't going to be buying most of them. The prices are quite expensive, so if you are planning to visit Galle / Colombo after Kataragama, then buy jewelry in those places as they have more options and it's priced much lower.

Room Tip: We took a ground floor room which had two double beds. They don't have blankets in the room as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo-Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is by far a better hotel compared to most of the slums in the area although there is a lot of room to improve. What stands out of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff which is far better compared to most of the Sri Lankan hotels and what you can buy for few hundred dollars in Singapore where I live.

Rooms are spacious and adequately equipped for the money we paid. Bathroom is huge, well equipped yet there is no sense of design. Room we stayed was clean although we had to fight for a better room at the beginning which had stains in the bathroom.

Swimming pool is big and I noticed that a fair effort is being put to maintain it well. However it is filled with small insects and particles. Little bit extra work would help maintain it at the same level as in only two five star hotels in the area.

I find it difficult to believe how an extremely friendly service results in a terrible outcome but it happens here. We called the room service many times but they did not respond. We had the dinner served in the room and we finally managed to call the reception and ask them to clear it. We were advised to keep it on the floor outside the room and they'd clean it in few minutes. The next morning we opened the doors to find out all the plates and dishes spread all over the place with food in front of the room after serving a nice dinner to the wild animals. When reported to the room service we got the answer in same friendly voice "it's ok Sir". I do not know where those tableware disappeared later but I'm sure they'll be back in service.

Food is pretty average and not worth the money. However I will remember the friendliness of the staff for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dinooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,817 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 919 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Received warm welcome and cool towel and chilled juice upon arrival. Stayed here on Exodus tour. Staff member Mohammed is very eager to assist and provide excellent service. Given room #102, a king bed room.

Room doorway is private and has a sand garden on either side-kind of Zen. Room is very spacious and well-appointed. Two teak steamer chairs and a table on the private patio outside the room.

Bathroom is very spacious. Amenities include shampoo and body lotion (no conditioner, body wash). Hans Grohe bath fixtures (wow) and wonderful shower. Hairdryer in bathroom. Lighted make-up mirror. No wash cloths. Large bottle of water (free) in room daily. Free wifi in room. Excellent air con. Kettle for tea/coffee.

Great pool area with lots of chairs/loungers. Unfortunately the underwater speakers weren't working when we were there (we asked and they tried to play the music but it didn't work).

Onsite restaurant and bar, as well as jewelry shop with nice selection. Private, gated and secure car park. Breakfast was good-plenty of Sri Lankan options.

Short walk to other places in Kataragama. Take a torch/flashlight with you if you're out at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on an independent tour of Sri Lanka. Our purpose was to visit the religious shrines & puja and the hotel was close enough, we walked there enabling us to see the local area ( about 20 minutes) and returned by tuk tuk. We spent the first afternoon relaxing by the very pleasant pool, the bedroom was spacious and well appointed and the food was fine ( not gourmet but acceptable & reasonably priced). The hotel exceeded my expectations after reading a few negative reviews in Trip Advisor & we were more than satisfied

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jillley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First impressions were great. Nice staff, massive rooms, good pool and overall had a nice one night stay as a jump off for Yala national park. However the food is absolutely terrible, too much western and not enough Sri lankan and all tasteless and sloppy, I felt so ill after!! The service is also something to be desired, around the pool it took them 15 mins to bring out a Menu on request, 15 mins to bring over a drinks order on numerous occasions and at dinner when I asked for our bill it never came, despite there being about 15 staff working 3 tables, I asked twice again and in the end we got up and walked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I found Mandara Rosen a heaven set in the remote city of Kataragama. Starting from service, meals, rooms as well as affordability this place is un matchable. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very spacious and excellent in cleanliness. The attached toilets are well equipped. There s a queer designed pool. Buffet meals are extensive in spread and the staff is very helpful when it comes to feeding children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kataragama
7.7 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gregory's Safari Bungalow Yala
7.4 mi away
Hotel Chandrika
Hotel Chandrika
#5 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandara Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Property: Mandara Rosen
Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama 91400, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandara Rosen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing