We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but terrible food...”
Review of Mandara Rosen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandara Rosen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First impressions were great. Nice staff, massive rooms, good pool and overall had a nice one night stay as a jump off for Yala national park. However the food is absolutely terrible, too much western and not enough Sri lankan and all tasteless and sloppy, I felt so ill after!! The service is also something to be desired, around the pool it took them 15 mins to bring out a Menu on request, 15 mins to bring over a drinks order on numerous occasions and at dinner when I asked for our bill it never came, despite there being about 15 staff working 3 tables, I asked twice again and in the end we got up and walked out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewisY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 403 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I found Mandara Rosen a heaven set in the remote city of Kataragama. Starting from service, meals, rooms as well as affordability this place is un matchable. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very spacious and excellent in cleanliness. The attached toilets are well equipped. There s a queer designed pool. Buffet meals are extensive in spread and the staff is very helpful when it comes to feeding children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here on our two week Peregrine tour around Sri Lanka and it was a great place to unwind after an exciting but dusty afternoon in a Land Rover at Yala. The room was huge and had two Queen beds to choose from. The bathroom also was magnificent. The hotel had a beautiful swimming. The food in the restaurant was only quite nice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 2nd September 2012 solely for the next dawn's Yala Safari and were very impressed with the hotel.


Rating Scale of 1 to 5 (1 being terrible and 5 being excellent).

1) Reliability – 5
Reasons: Very reliable staff, timely wake up call, delivered us the breakfast packets as promised.

2) Responsiveness (Speed of service) - 5
Reason: Very prompt.

3) Competence - 5
Reason: excellent staff

4) Courtesy (Polite and helpful) - 5
Reason:Staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. Specially room service boy Mohamed was a jovial and friendly.

5) Security (Confidentiality, safety) - 5 .
Reasons: Manned and safe.

6) Understanding (Making efforts to know customer and their needs) - 5

Reasons: Very accommodating. Our BF was packed and given to us on 5:00 AM prior to our safari trip.

7. Tangibles ( Pleasing appearance etc.) - 5
Reasons: Beautiful interior, rooms were pleasantly spacious with two double beds, good set of swimming pools.

8. Food & Beverage - 4
Reasons: We ordered dinner in our rooms and was basmati rice with vegetable curry and grilled chicken in bbq sauce with fries. The rice were well cooked and a portion was easily sufficient for two person and not to mention several vegetable curries that came with it. The grilled chicken was bit below the expectations though.

9. Cleanliness and Hygeine - 3
Reasons: Very Clean rooms and toilets/showers etc. But there were lot of mosquitoes in the room that we had to dealt with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfzalMinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed in Mandara Rozen in 2008 and 2011 with family and friends. This time it has proved to be equally clean, friendly environment and excellent service. The rooms are large, the beds huge (two double beds in a twin room), the bathrooms large and spotless. The buffet is excellent and you can see that there is a speciality chef. I do not understand why some travellers complain, perhaps they have not stayed in five star hotels in Sri Lanka. Mandara Rozen is not five star, but I find it five star quality.
The only downside which I personally find refreshing is that most staff are from the area. And you dont find that snobbish, nasty tout feeling of ususal five star hotel staff. The staff are gentle, smiling, English is not perfect and they do not try to get the extra buck from you. I had a small tip to to the accountant when paying with a visa card. They took the gentle hint as a very serious complaint and immediately corrected the error. I find it one of the nicest places to stay and cannot think of any thing to complain. Excellent location for Yala safaris and local tourism.

Room Tip: There are wheel chair friendly fascilities and you can have ground floor rooms if you wish (for bugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Probably one of the plushest places in rural Sri Lanka and certainly on our tour with a huge room, large pool, free wifi and nice grounds. The food really lets this place down being el blando in most cases. the worst was the chef salad which consisted of slivered frozen ham (with icicles intact!), slivered Kraft pseudo cheese and chicken on a small pile of shredded lettuce.
Not sure of location as the compound is heavily gated but it is a pilgrimage area hence culturally significant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcb5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Although from outside the place may not seem that mind blowing, but once you enter beyond the reception, the place is a sight to behold.

The pool at the center of the resort is nice and convenient, however may be too much in the passage way for some.Rooms were big and the private porch outside each room was a welcome surprise.

The day I stayed the buffet breakfast was not available, and the fixed menu breakfast was fine as long as your are ok with a Sri Lankan cuisine. There were no continental menu choices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paliwals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kataragama
1.0 mi away
Tamarind Lake
Tamarind Lake
#1 of 3 in Kataragama
60 reviews
11.4 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregory's Safari Bungalow Yala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Blue Turtle Hotel
Blue Turtle Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tissamaharama
310 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,679 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kithala Resort
Kithala Resort
#4 of 14 in Tissamaharama
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandara Rosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandara Rosen

Address: No 57 Detagamuwa, Kataragama 91400, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Kataragama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kataragama
Price Range: $81 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandara Rosen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandara Rosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandara Rosen Kataragama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing