We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mayoka Village(Nkhata Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kaya Mawa(Likoma Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
73
26
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
26
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakuzi beachlake malawibeautiful placeowners and stafffishbar and restauranthour drivelow seasona great experiencecourse dinnerno chargespent two nightsher husbandself containedsix monthsfeel welcomegreat hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 5 days at Makuzi Beach and it was absolute paradise! I couldn't quite believe how incredible it was when I first got there and we had a wonderful time. The beach is straight out of a movie - beautiful white sand, shallow calm water perfect for kids and adults and as an added treat the water is warm. The beach is also private which means no hassling by vendors and there were families there who were very happy to leave their kids playing in the water for hours as it's easy to keep an eye on them from afar. There are little coves to explore and we spent an afternoon taking the canoe out to the nearby island and snorkeling which was a real treat. The staff and locals are all friendly and do their best to make your stay memorable. Lauren and Richard are so welcoming and helpful and really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make sure you're comfortable and happy. The bar is situated perfectly overlooking the beach and we spent many hours sipping on cocktails and enjoying the view. The food is something special and the chefs definitely know how to make the days even better with some delicious meals. We travelled to a few other lodges during the week while exploring the area and Makuzi was by the far the best. If you're in this part of Malawi make sure to spend some time at Makuzi!

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach front cottage number 4 which was great! The rooms are simple inside but perfect and only a few steps down to the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent an excellent 3 nights here. We even left for a night when they were full and came back we liked it so much. Deserted white sand beach, free kayaks and snorkels for exploring. Lovely meals included, had them candle lit on the beach. The manager, Lauren, could not have been more helpful and gave us a lift more than once. Worth a look around the village and the missionary graves as well. Free wifi was really appreciated, as was the excellent service from Fresco and team. Lovely rooms - best mosquito nets yet! Thanks for our stay, we hope we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwalimu_plus_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed four nights in a chalet. We have left before, if we didn't have got some stomach troubles. The beach and location is lovely, but the rooms need to be freshed up and renovated. The management was helpful and nice :) We did the village tour, arranged by a local guide, we can recommend the village tour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Godal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent three weeks travelling in Kenya and Malawi and spent five nights at Makuzi Beach just before flying home.I was totally blown away....everything about here is wonderful.I have never felt so chilled and relaxed as I did here.Richard and Lauren were wonderful hosts and they have a great team around them.We were on the North Shore in Hawaii this time last year and Lake Malawi had bigger waves !!
Food was excellent and the staff were great with our two boys.We had a superior beach lodge but even the standard ones looked fab.Would go back tomorrow in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Pick one looking out onto the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCCC0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Makuzi is 4 hours away from Lilongwe and makes for A lovely getaway from the town. We had splendid time. It is one of the most beautiful beach on the lake. Totally safe for families with little kids. The food is very good and the vegetarian option is worth trying. We will try to come back soon!

Room Tip: The family room is not suitable if you have very young kids. It has steps but is set in beautiful spot on the little island....
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews