We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
63
18
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
18
2
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

600 meters outside Pigadia. Beautiful view from all rooms. Friendly staff, clean, nice looking rooms, good food for lunch when staying by the pool (salt water, so very clean). Steep hills surrounding the hotel invite you for a walk around the area for some great views over Pigadia. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank petergabriel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

A very nice, peaceful place to stay. Professional and friendly owner and host. Clean and spacious room, with wonderful view. Good cooking! Basically all you need for a perfect holiday at Karpathos. 10 minutes walk down to town. So you don't need a car, but car recommended for a few days to explore the island, the beautiful beaches and small town up in the mountains or by the shore. Hope to go back some day!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Great location, as it is close to town, but very quiet. Nice sea view from the apartments.
Staff was very nice and did everything to accomodate us (we were a very large group with lots of kids!)
The resort has a nice pool and a tennis court, which comes in handy when you get back from the beach. Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ChefScracco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015

This is a terrific hotel in a spectacular location,a short walk to a secluded bay around harbour rock face. We had the cottage to ourselves, with full catering facilities. and a little terrace and fresh figs and pomegranates within reach. Helena is a welcoming and efficient host and her mother, Roula, presides over the kitchen, creating delicious breakfasts and meals. She is a wonderful, colourful character, full of warm embraces and laughter. The spacious sea-water pool, with spectacular views out to the ocean, is inviting and there are plenty of sun loungers. The clientele was almost exclusively Dutch and friendly. The walk back from the harbour, after eating in one of the many restaurants, is five minutes. After a short stay in Olympos it felt like returning home. Warmly recommended

Room tip: All tooms have sea views, but the cottage is unique.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Sound of the Sea was suggested to us by our local travel agency. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to see the well maintained buildings and were greeted by the lovely staff. The apartment was very nice and clean and they had prepared a baby bed for our 8 month old son. They have a swimming pool that is big enough to fit all the guests and even though we were in mid-summer we never had trouble getting a pool-side sunbed.

There are some downsides though:
- The swimming pool is saltwater, some of you may not mind but this is not ideal with an infant.
- The air conditioning was available in our room but came at an additional charge of 8 euros per day.
- The apartments have only one waste bin, located in the bathroom. When we asked about it we were told that was on purpose to keep unwanted insects out. People traveling with small children need more than just a 5L toilet waste bin.
- The resort is located about 15 minutes from the town center but this road is not well maintained and it's a tough climb, especially if you're pushing a stroller.
- The resort is even further from the nearest beach. This is about a 30 minute walk but the walk through the center is better maintained and filled with nice shops.

The resort does have a road to the sea which is only a 5 minute walk down, but there is no beach and it doesn't have facilities like toilets or showers. It's more like a small harbor. The road down (and up) is also steep and not well maintained. I recommend wearing good shoes. The water is pretty clean/nice but the ground is slippery and there is nowhere to comfortably enjoy the sun.

Now for some great tips:
- If you like a nice sunbed on the beach with great facilities within walking distance, walk to the Alimounda Mare Hotel. This is a 5-star hotel with a nice beach and you can rent two sunbeds with a beach umbrella for the entire day for just 7 euros. There are showers, toilets, waiters, great (affordable) drinks and food and they even clear out a pathway into the sea (no watershoes needed).
- The Sound of the Sea has a great little "snack bar". They don't serve a fancy dinner, but the breakfast is a delight and for a lunch they have very good toast and burgers. I also recommend their home-made lemonade. It's delicious.

This place was packed with Dutch people, most of them come back every year. This could be a good or bad thing depending on the type of people you are and like. We are Dutch but try to stay away from them on holidays.

I just want to thank the terrific staff for their excellent service and love. The family that run this place is very caring and hard working. I can understand why people come back every year.

I hope my review helps you decide if this is the place for you. If you think my review is helpful please hit the "helpful" button.

Room tip: Apartment D7, palm trees in front of the balcony give some privacy and it's near the pool/restaurant
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Freddie_Leeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews