We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveler rating
751
270
80
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
751
270
80
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool great hotel sea view star hotel private beach half board a great vacation breakfast and dinner best hotel on the island mini market hotel bar watermelon long weekend guest relations special thanks rooms are nice big thanks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

the staff at the reception is not nice. i had the baddest check in experience. the minute we entered they asked the time of our check out. and i was told that i have to pay extra 70euros if i want to do a late check out. first give me the details of the room, of the hotel. i wasn’t even informed about the breakfast hours. let me first stay in your hotel than let’s talk about late check out. it gives the intention that the main idea is making extra money. and i’m sure this is not greek hospitality. this is the most noisy hotel i ever stayed. you hear luggage noises, moving chairs every morning starting at 8o’clock. when i told this at the check out i was told that this is normal that the cleaning starts at 8am. no it’s not normal if people is sleeping and if we are in vacation. i don’t want to wake up with noise every morning during my holidays. the room is good, but the cleanless of the bathroom could be better. the breakfast is average, you have every options but the quality is average. i mean this is one of the most expensive hotels of this island, so you expect something more boutique and special but this is not the case. the hotel is very strict with their policies they don’t care about guests satisfaction. they don’t get into the effort to give you solutions. when you see booking.com photos you have the idea of a boutique luxurious hotel, maybe this was my expectation, but this is just a big hotel with moderate staff.
the reception staff doesn’t allow you to go to the spa where the only changing room is located with your luggages after check out, they expect you to open all your things and take whatever you need in the conference room in the middle of everyone. so i opened my luggages with other people, took all the things i need for my shower. so everyone had seen all my luggage details. this is a 5 star hotel but there is no luggage room, no proper system or area for guests who would spend some time after check out. but the funny thing they say they would charge 70euros if late check out is wanted!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank anazli_yyz_ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalisHadjiandreou, Commercial Director at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Alimounda Mare Hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have had during your recent visit in our Hotel, relating to our quality of service and colleagues’ attitude. On this particular occasion, your experience was well below the standards of quality and service we strive to maintain. Please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the concerned department to review this and to avoid a recurrence.

Regarding the amount of 70 euros for the day use, it is our policy because the hotel has to have extra staff in order to maintain clean rooms.

Unfortunately, we do not have a space at the spa where our quests could bring luggages, shower or change clothes. For sure, it is something that we are currently working on in order to have a room just for these purposes.

We might think that reviewing us with 1-star was a bit unfair but undoubtedly we are working diligently to rectify any issues hoping you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Once again, thank you for your time in communicating the feedback which is valuable for us to further improve.

Michalis Hadjiandreou
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

TL;DR: Good and very clean hotel, beautiful view and would recommend when picking Karpathos as your holiday destination!

Together with my wife we stayed in Alimounda for one week and we would consider coming back! The commute from the airport only takes you 15 minutes and at arrival we experienced a swift check in. We booked a room with sea view and that is what we got, very nice and I would recommend paying extra for this. The room itself was spacious enough and most importantly: very clean. Bathroom, although a tad outdated, spotless and housekeeping came every day, including clean towels. The only complaint that I can make is the TV. This is hidden in the mirror and that doesn’t work very well.
Infinity swimming pool is amazing and views spectacular. More than enough sun-beds, but it wasn’t too busy when we were there. We personally preferred to use the beds on the beach, which is more quiet and you don’t have to listen to the music they play near the swimming pool.
Breakfast was good, dinner is simple and should have been better for a 5-star hotel. Personally I also think they should offer a better quality house-wine as the current wine forces you to order a bottle. Most of the staff were polite, but there is enough room for improvement. This also has to do with me not speaking any Greek and most of the staff struggling in English.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tjeerdd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalisHadjiandreou, Commercial Director at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

We thank you once again for sharing your observations, which we will utilize as a tool in order to improve even further.

Look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Michalis Hadjiandreou
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

We have been there nearly two weeks to spend our Honeymoon. It was perfect. Beautiful beach & pool area, big room with balcony. Awesome breakfast buffet, also very good buffet in the evening. All very friendly!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nini_reist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalisHadjiandreou, Commercial Director at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Alimounda Mare Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are glad that you had a wonderful Honeymoon vacation and look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Michalis Hadjiandreou
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. It offers you everything what you need. The staff is very polite and helpful. We were staying here with a baby - 6 months old. We had all inclusive and sea side view... It is really close to Pigadia, so we went for a coffe to Pigadia every morning. There is a lot to do here...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TaZu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeCyprus, Commercial Director at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Alimounda Mare Hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future for another excellent stay!

Michalis Hadjiandreou
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

Traveling with two kids is not always simple. But we had the best vacation at Alimounda! The staff kindly offered us a bigger room with no extra charge and were helpful throughout the two weeks. Before our journey I was a bit anxious after seeing some bad reviews here. But I can only say positive things and we are looking forward to our next trip there again. One of the things I liked the most is the kids pool. The depth is just right for a three year old to learn swimming. There were beds always available and the snack menu was quite ok.

As in almost all big resorts, the lunch and dinner just can't compare with the small and cosy family restaurants in town. We tried lunch once and that proved it again. But that didn't stop us from enjoying our vacation. Breakfast was more than plentiful and we can highly recommend the restaurant Ellinikon downtown for dinner.

Many thanks for all the staff!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaksuPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeCyprus, Commercial Director at Alimounda Mare, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are happy to hear that your stay was a great experience. We always do our bests to provide the high level of services according to our guests’ expectations and needs.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Michalis Hadjiandreou
Commercial Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews