We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, warm people but the food is just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alimounda Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alimounda Mare
Certificate of Excellence
pardesiyya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, warm people but the food is just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spend 3 nights in Alimounda Mare. The people were very nice, the hotel is very clean and tidy. The pool is absolutely amazing! The view from the room is fantastic. The scenery around the hotel is magnificent. The only drawback is the breakfast which is not so good - there is plenty of choice but the quality is mediocre.

Button line: Amazing pool + view + nice people = Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bark100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    205
    55
    15
    2
See reviews for
208
437
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel facilities are very nice, new and clean. However, the attitude and the little details were not so great. It feels like an hotel that got to many good reviews and doesn't care any more. Maybe if I was told this is a 4 stars hotel or the other places on this tiny Island were less nicer I would have given it a better review. Few examples: no internet (none in the room. 5 euro an hour in the lobby) any where else on the island it is free. one night they had very load Italian children music in the pool until 23:00 we had to close the balcony doors. I has bubble gum on my night stand. The pool is not protected from the wind and so the water were too cold to go in and you cannot open the umbrellas.
The over all atmosphere was not as nice as the rest of our trip and not as good as other TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice winner places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageralimounda, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Alimounda Mare, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
The positive inputs from our guests keep coming in the same way they used to in the past and this is proof of our continuous effords to assure quality.

Internet is availabebut not free and this is mentionned in all our brochures. Maybe there is low speed free internet available from the municipality in certain areas of town or in some cafes and restaurants to their customers but this far from "free internet on offer everywhere on the island".
Each room has a lan connection as the hotel is not full of antenas for health reasons. Guests are being informed from reception.

Our pool is an open air infinity pool and the addition of the protective walls suggested would destroy the idea behind the whole concept, never mind the breath taking views.
Umbrellas are kept closed when strong winds blow mainly for safety reasons.

It is inevitable that in a resort hotel hosting 500 guests there will be some activities on some days of the week, nevertherless not after 23hrs

And we do not allow guests to take food from the buffet for consumption elsewhere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came in the end of august and found a Wonderful service top of the line stuff and excellent Facilities, very rich breakfast. The pool is almost Olympic size and there a small pool for the little children+ a privet beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isl323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms are comfort and clean, the facilities are enjoyable. The beach and swimming pool are great.

On the down side the internet connection is not free. You need to pay 10 Euros for 10 hours. Note that your account will keep charging if you forget to log off before disconnecting.

We had half board. The selection is very rich particularly good for those seeking healthy food.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the the east are better for those who like to watch the sunrise over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yossi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel located on the beach with walking distance to the village port
Rooms are beautiful and well equipped, the rooms are very clean and towels are changed every day. Swimming pool is large ang beautiful, and is located next to the private beach of the hotel. Breakfast is rich and luxurious. Excellent hotel location, just 5 minutes from the city center

Room Tip: Rooms on the port side has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

New, 5 star hotel, which has amenities one would not expect to find in Karpathos. Friendly welcome staff, accompanied by orange juice.
Pros and cons:
+ Fresh sea/ pool towels given out every day, even if guests go to other beaches. Fantastic benefit.
+ Clean rooms, great bathroom amenities, comfortable beds
+ Room service twice daily
+ Very good spa, ask for Rena
+ Smiley pool bar employees, especially Eleni
+ Must try aqua aerobics with Salvatore
+ Rich buffet in all meals
- Trainees in important positions
- Men must wear long trousers for dinner otherwise they are not allowed in. This is truly unacceptable. We have been to other 5 star hotels in islands and this is the first time we hear that. Management MUST review this policy.
- TV channels were only 1 or 2
Overall, I would definitely suggest this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laura30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Karphathos is still what you dream when you think about Greek Islands. I've been in Crete, Kos, Mykonos, Rodos etc , all became "too touristic". If you wish to find beautiful quite beaches, friendly people, simple Greek food you are in the right place. We traveled a bit in the island with a rented car and didn't see any hotel that even close to the quality of Alimounda Mare Hotel. Not like the giant resorts, its very compact. You need only some steps to walk from the excellent private beach, the infinitive pool and the snack bar. Even the hotel was fully booked, we never suffered from crowd, you could find sunbed and umbrella any time (very good quality). The view ,from the beach ,of small islands and the port of Pigadia is beautiful. Pigadia is 10 minutes walking distance, full of friendly cheap taverns and shops.The shop at the hotel price it's goods like any mini market in the Island. You pay for 1.5 Lt cold mineral water 0.45 Euro only!

Room Tip: If you pay extra for Full Sea View make sure you get high floors. If not partial Sea View is good en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
2.6 mi away
Apolis Hotel
Apolis Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ammopi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sound of the Sea
Sound of the Sea
#4 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.1 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Electra Beach Hotel
Electra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#8 of 15 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alimounda Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimounda Mare

Property: Alimounda Mare
Address: PO Box 127, Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 857 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alimounda Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alimounda Mare is a newly built luxurious 5-star hotel with 244 guestrooms and suites located on a quiet cove right on the beach, only a 5 minute walk to the harbor and the center of the town of Pigadia, the island’s capital, where you can find an array of shops, restaurants and bars. Situated only 15 km (30 minutes drive) from the airport, the hotel is ideal for families, couples and incentive groups, offering a comfortable and tranquil environment. The infinity pool offers Water Jets as well as a separate pool for the children just above the sandy beach. All guests are accommodated in elegant rooms (with sea view or side sea view), junior suites with mountain view and executive suites with direct sea view, and are offered a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. Each unit is fully equipped with air-condition, satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, bathrobes and slippers.The restaurant offers show cooking and fine Mediterranean cuisine in stylish dining surroundings, either buffet style or a’ la carte. Drinks and exotic cocktails can be enjoyed at the cocktail bar or the poolside bar with magnificent sea views. When longing for exercise there is a tennis court (5 minutes walking distance from the hotel), table tennis and a fitness room at your free disposal. The SPA will help you complete the feeling of wellbeing. Step into a world of ease, luxury and Greek hospitality at Alimounda Mare. Open from May to October it provides modern luxury accommodation, business- and leisure experiences. It's not just a place for people who love the sun, it’s also ideal for visiting some of the beautiful beaches and sites of the island, hiking in the mountains, diving in the crystal clear waters or just for enjoying the magnificent sunrise from your balcony only a few meters away from the sea. If in need of a quiet luxurious relaxation, Alimounda Mare is the ultimate venue for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alimounda Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimounda Mare Hotel Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Alimounda Mare Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing