We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not worth of 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Konstantinos Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok, but not worth of 5 stars!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel as i read is the only on Karphatos with 5 stars, but it does not worth it. Ok, the service is vera good but it may vary depends on the staff working on the exactd day. The food is average, very adoptaed to many Italians who are spending their hopidays here. We are missing more Greece cousine, more fresh or griled fish... It would be also nice to preapare some theme dinner.
The rooms are very clean, very big and most of them have ocean view. You can also loan ypur own towel and changed it daily.
But this is Greece - you can seat near the pool the whole day and anybody cpme to ask you would you drink or eat something...
My kids can spend their time in swimming pool but there are no any other activity organized for them.
Ok, I can recommend thios hotel but do not expect the quality of 5 stars hotels around the world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    225
    67
    25
    5
See reviews for
188
255
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We are experienced travellers and have been to many 5 star hotels around the world and this is not a 5 star in any way.
We stayed 14 days at Konstantinos Palace for leisure. We had booked our trip thought Wing. We were picked up from the airport in a bus, which was not so bad. The hotell at first glance didn't look so bad. Great locatin with a well developed beach are with snackbars, umbrella with wooden sun beds and shower. To my surprise the room was tiny! We had booked a rom for 3 persons as we has a teenager with us. We got room 309 which is the smallest room in the whole building!! (i saw the layour of the hotels rooms on the door) There was a queen size bed with a armchair(!) which they had pulled put to make the mallest bed ever! My poor teenager said it was better sleeping on the floor. I went down and complained as i had specificaly booked a room with for 3 person. The receptionist smiled at me and said that this was a room for 3 people??!!! I asked for the neighbouring room as i had seen it has a single bed and a queen bed, much more suited for us then the 8m2 little room they had sqeezed us is. Or any other room for that matter. I was met with a fake smile and blank empty eyes. Needless to say I was furious! Not a good start on our vacation. They advertise clean rooms, which was true. Bathrobes and slippers, which we never saw anything of. The bathroom was a decent size but they keep giving us conditioner instead of shower get. What do i need 5 conditioner for when i don't even get shower gel or shampoo? Towels were noce and frothy. Watch out for leakage in the bathroom. The balcony (ours) were small and places in suck a way as to display us for all the other people on other balconies to view. No privacy. But there was a magnificentview to the sea.
The interior of the room was tasteful. But the carpenting bad. there were penn marks of "309" everythere. As if they marked the furnitures and forgot to take it off. Gave the room a very amateur look, which was sad.
We were on half board. Breakfast the same every day. So after 1 week we stopped eating breakfast inn. Dinner was varied bit after 14 days i was glad of eating something else.
The pool are nice. But many younger kids splashing around making it difficult to have a swim or sunbathe dry by the pool. And soooo noisy.
The staff by the poolbads and the cleaning ladies as well as the janitor were all very nice and helpfull. Waiters were from all different nationalities which was a nice touch as you could find yourself speaking to them in your own language. Most of the time i asked them for tips of where to go. They are much more knowledgeable then the receptionists which didn't even know there was a big museum in the middle of town.!!
Ps , if you want to visit the other beaches, make sure you have a good car, the roads there are suicide.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NOrwegianExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Konstantinos in june of 2010 and had a great time. We booked a double with a sea view through an agency but were given the wrong room at check in. Went to the reception straight away and this was corrected. We got free drinks while waiting so this was fine.

ROOMS: As they were out of doubles we got a triple room with a nice sea view. Book a room with a sea view as the small ones are facing the very uninspiering road and parking lot, and these rooms are tiny. Our room had a good sized double bed and an extra single one plus extra in the form of a small couch/chair. Balcony had nice furniture and bathroom was really big and comfy. The shower, however, is tiny. I'm a size 8 and could hardly close the doors and the plumbing is terrible so you will cause a flood if you use it. We opted to use the shower in the bathtub instead and this worked fine. Nice waterpreassure and good products. Everything is quite modern and sleek and as a young couple we liked this but if you want rustic greek: Look elsewhere.
Minibar ok with good prices. Though there is a little supermarket just across the road where water costs 50c so do buy your stuff there.
I saw a room with a raised double bed but I don't know what kind of room this is. It looked very smart so I would book this if I would return.

FOOD: We booked with halfboard and at first glance I was really dissapointed BUT this was because the buffet is quite small so if they run out of something it might look like they have nothing on there. They do fill it up quite quickly though, so just wait a minute and you will have the best sallads (ceasar, italian, greek) and hot foods around. The hot foods are really nice and have a greek touch but there is also pastas and soup for the picky eater. Desserts were ok. I'm not a big fan of cakes but my BF loved them. I love ice cream and you got to scoop some so this was really nice. I really enjoy food and liked what they had to offer.
Breakfast is nice, although quite unhealthy. No dark bread, no luxury müsli and the salami etc are so-so. But on holiday you are allowed to eat only bacon (and such good bacon!), eggs, toast and pain au chocolate, right? We were very happy and we really value breakfast so decide for yourself. (The OJ is bad though. Straight out of a tetra pack.)
Big plus for the very nice terrass you get to enjoy your meal on, lovely sea views and a nice breeze in the evenings. Service is good and fast. We were dissapointed that the other guests chose to wear shorts and t-shirts to dinner, this is not that kind of place... Greek bear was 3,70e and a big bottle of water 3e.
We also had lunch at the small restaurant which was fine. Small portions but ok food. Karpathos town is only 10 minutes away by foot so go and have lunch there if you can. We didn't out of pure laziness but it would be worth the walk.

BEACH: Really nice beach and waters. Crystal clear water, clean beach and nice sunbeds. Beach bar which services you right in your chair with sandwhiches, ice cream and drinks. Water is not suitable for small children because the first part of the bottom of the sea is a really slippery rock of some sort and it gets deep quite fast. We loved it! Big waves sometimes.
Sunbeds are easy to get until around noon. Drinks are about 9 euros and nice.
You can leave your stuff on the beach all day, no one will take it or remove it. This is a super safe island.
Topless sunbathing (I hate it) is allowed and popular. Too bad.
You share the lovely sandy beach with some other hotels but I think only guests are allowed on the part of the beach in front of the hotels. Sunbeds are nice wooden deck chairs - classy. Beach never felt crowded and I'm quite picky...

POOL: We only used the pool area once as we prefer the sea but the area is nice. The germans love to book their chairs in the morning så be out at about 8 if you want a chair by the pool. (Good tip if you want to eat breakfast in peace! Very few up at this time.) There is also a pool on the roof that people didn't seem to like for some reason. We really liked it and you have great views. Children are asked to wear bathing suites and the pool is really not one for games but, of course, some parents let their kids run wild... Please parents, let's keep it classy. The pool is small and has no childrens section or slides so water games are really not intended here. Really good pool bar.

THE PEOPLE: Mostly couples and small, young families. Lots of italians, germans and some scandinavians and greeks. We are in our 20s and had a nice time. I don't like children very much but felt this place was ok.

THE STAFF: Very good staff and they speak excellent english. As Karpathos has a big american-greek population this is the case even in the smaller mountain villages!

THE GYM: Good gym, never crowded. We seemed to be the only ones using it most times.

SPA: Did not use the spa but there is one with sauna etc. Seemed nice.

EXTRA: There is a playground for kids and a tennis court.

WEATHER: At the the end of june we had temperatures of about 30, sun, one shower that lasted for ten minutes and nice, warm wind. (Don't leave your saris/shirts/stuff ungarded on the beach, they will fly away!) We had no, and I mean NO, mosquitoes or wasps. Evenings are really warm. Sun is very strong so remember the protection.

We wanted, and had, a relaxing holiday and only went into town once. We had a car for two days and visited some villages and beaches. I can recommend Volada and the taverna there. Try the home made cheese balls :) We did not visit Olympos, the old fashioned town, because we did not have a jeep and were not keen to take a boat ride to the northern coast.
The hotel is quiet but offers a beach party every thursday and some greek music on mondays. If you want to party you are better of staying in town but Karpathos isn't really a party island. As the town is only ten minutes away and the island is so safe you can walk there alI hours of the day (and night). I would say this hotel is the only one on the island with a standard of 4 stars or more. Lookig at the other hotels on the beach was interesting. Karpathos does not have masses of tourists and the other hotels are small, family run places. Looked ok but if you like some kind of class i would not opt for these places. We really liked Konstantinos and would return. Karpathos is a really good choice if you want a relaxing, non-touristy holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KaIWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I just wanted to write this report when I saw only two reports for this Hotel. K. Palace is by far the best hotel in Karpathos ( and the only 5 star one).

The location is very good, though you may want to choose sea view rooms than side sea view rooms. Hotel side towards the town has a taverna for neighbor (oops!)

Facilities excelent, beach and service there exfelent.

Breakfast very good. Rooms, baths and cleaninness very good.

I will agree with previous reports that the baths need some "water proof" improvements.

K Palace would have been a reason to revisit Karpathos.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Elegant and brand new hotel. Very clean indoors and outdoors. Helpful and very polite staff . Beautiful sea and swimming pool view. Close to a marvellous sandy beach (20 meters distance ).

The best choice in Karpathos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbats7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed in hotel for one week in September. The location of hotel is great, it takes you 15 min on foot to reach the city center.The hotel is on the beach and it's really great eating breakfast outside in watch the sea. The rooms are very beautiful, big enough, modern and spacious. Rooms are cleaned daily. But hotel it's not build very well, we always had a flood in bathroom, when we took a shower. There was also very heavy rain in that week and the restaurant and lobby was flooded. The water was pouring from lights and air conditioning, it was a real chaos. The diversity of food is really poore for a hotel with 5 stars. Breakfast is great, but dinner not so much. The food has no taste, and small variety.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nity24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
0.3 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sound of the Sea
Sound of the Sea
#4 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
Astron Hotel - Bungalows
#9 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
91 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Arkassa
1 reviews
4.9 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konstantinos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konstantinos Palace

Property: Konstantinos Palace
Address: Afoti, Karpathos Town (Pigadia) 857 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Konstantinos Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At KOSTANTINOS PALACE you can find yourself staying in one of our 139 fabulous rooms or indulge yourself in one of our eight luxury suites. All our rooms are exceptionally spacious with a beautiful view of the ocean and the entire city right before your eyes. All the rooms are equipped with personal adjusting air-condition, mini bar, dimmer lights, TV, radio, satellite channels, telephone and internet access. Also KOSTANTINOS PALACE offers two swimming pools, Jacuzzi, bar, restaurants, soccer-field, basketball court, conference center, room service and parking. Whether your visit entails business or is purely pleasure, a stay here assures you the ultimate in gracious luxury, attentive personal service and the pleasures of an incomparably magnificent and convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Konstantinos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konstantinos Palace Hotel Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
Konstantinos Palace Karpathos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing