We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a upper class taverna ( and you know what that means.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of To Psaraki

To Psaraki
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Vlychada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional seafood Taverna in Vlychada, Santorini
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a upper class taverna ( and you know what that means.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an okay sea food place. A little bit busy and the service slightly slow.
All was good, except the main dish (Grilled grouper), it came a bit dry.
And when we told them they told us that this is the way the Greeks want it and they did not apologize but found it natural to tell us they knew how to cook it. (We are Greek by the way, if for their mishap we also happen to work for high-end/ luxury cooking establishment in London)
They also found it strange, from their expressions on their faces as we gathered, that we asked for a receipt when they brought us the bill.
Jokes are over, we pay taxes you pay too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kosimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    250
    65
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent, fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

On a road side overlooking a small marina, this is one of the best places in Santorini to have fresh seafood with a reasonable price. They even serve delicacies like sea urchin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IstanbulValhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect end to day in Vlychada!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved our meal here with the beautiful, colorful harbor view. After spending the day visiting ancient Thera, Akrotiri, and Vlychada Beach (very peaceful and not overrun with tourists), we had a relaxing meal consisting of mezes and fresh tuna. The staff are very friendly and you can taste the truly homemade quality. Truly one of the most special meals of our 2 weeks in Greece. We had planned to return a second time (it's that good!) while on Santorini but didn't make it back unfortunately.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swimisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just as others have said...lovely fresh seafood overlooking the fishing boats that catch it.

It gets quite busy both locals and tourists at the main meal times. Well worth the drive and money. We*ve eaten here twice now and the food is really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikegoodveggifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the type of restaurant that I get very, very excited about. We were staying in Vlychada and had no idea that there was a restaurant of this calibre - we connected immediately. I wouldn't call it gastronomic but it is definitely a 'foody' restaurant run by people who love their food. There was something that reminded me of the better 'SlowFood' places i've been to but I don't think it is affiliated. You can stick to a hot and cold starters or go full on - we tried both approaches and to be honest I preferred it when we went through the entire mezze list. The tatse and texture of bottarga on cream cheese with spring onion will haunt my palate until I return - as will memories of marinted anchovies, squid and calamari everyway you like, caper salad etc etc. The view's OK too !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Psaraki also viewed

Fira, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Akrotiri, Santorini
 

Been to To Psaraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing