We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Nomadic visit to the "virgin land"”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage
Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
View from the cottage
The Nomad's Cottage
Kunzum La...19 kms from The Nomad's Cottage
The Nomad's Cottage...
The new look Nomad's Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from The Cottage
Traditional Bethak / Living Room
Now we have two sitting / living rooms
Our four bedded Glass room
View from your Glass room
Glass Room
Four bedded Glass room
Premium Room
View from your Room
Washroom
Washroom
Way to the rooms
All set for the cycle tour of the valley
Cook out at Chandra Tal
At Kunzum La ....cycle tour from the cottage
Our picnic lunch spot near the Cottage
Parking lot at the cottage
Our picnic spot near the Cottage
On the way to , The Nomad's Cottage, Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
Entry point to our village
Way to your Other Home....
You have reached your Other Home...
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
Evening View from the Cottage
Night view from The Cottage..
On the way to Chandra Tal (The Moon Lake)
Parking lot at the Cottage
Descending from Kunzum la...on the way to Chandra Tal
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...most popular trek of the valley , nearest to our village
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...near Losar
Summit Mt. Kanamo @ 19,600 ft ....a Non Technical walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Losar, Lahaul and Spiti District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandeep b
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nomadic visit to the "virgin land"”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Nomad's cottage. I have stayed there for a week. I am impressed by the kind of hospitality they maintain in such remote area.

Rooms with the very close view of snowy peak mountains. Very neat and clean set up. Humble and active staff. Very supportive all the time. Good local & customized food. What else one needs.
I recommend the stay big time.

And the guy who runs the show "Sahil Duggal" very friendly and man with the heart. If you are in spiti you have to be with him. His deep knowledge of the area and relation with the villagers will leave with a smiling face all the way. He will make you do the best available things in the vicinity weather it's hiking cycling motorbiking photography. Anything you want to do he will give you the best guidance.

Cheers to the "Team Nomad".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashishrj
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A must trip to heaven on Earth !”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A picture says more then a thousand words!
All I can say is do visit such gems in India rather heaven on Earth with your good best oldies. Recommend time to travel is late June to early October. But as we visited during last month of October 2015, due to bad weather (for us what we expected :) lucky enough to find snowfall with beautiful picturesque location. SAHIL, the man behind this trip and owner of Nomad's, had advised us in all different aspects like travel time, travelling car with a very good driver, temperature, etc. Very difficult for people from Mumbai or more specifically south to sustain below -20 C but was an awesome experience and just love it! All necessary facilities were provided like room heating (fire camp), tasty food, 3-4 blankets to cover while sleeping and more importantly place is "Out of the World".
Lastly I would say why to visit Switzerland & Antartica when our own country has such beauty. Awaiting to visit soon in next year June. Spiti, Lahaul, Losar here we come again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Picturesque location with snow clad mountains around !
Liked least: I only stayed for 2N/3D..Lol :)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhu_Ge...
Patiala, India
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It's been exactly a year since we visited Chandratal and stayed at the Nomad's Cottage, which is just awesome...
It has such a warm and homely vibe to it and the best part is the host Sahil Duggal - what an amazing guy !! He will surely captivate you with the stories he has to share with his guests. Not to forget the scrumptious and homely food that the Nomad's Cottage has to offer from its earthy kitchen (Still can't forget the taste of that delicious Gobhi :p)

Rest, the service is commendable and the rooms are super comfy and clean. I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food, the service and the host - everything about TNC is excellent.
Liked least: As per me, there was nothing i didn't like. I had a great stay.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swatidg
Siliguri, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An experience like no other!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We crossed the Rohtang La and Kunzum La to reach Losar, a small settlement of about 70 families approximately, beautiful beyond words, and so cold and desolate that you really warm up to the people living there. The Nomads Cottage is a home, not really a hotel in cold Spiti, the real mountains, and not the hills of the Himalayas. You find bonhomie with other people who have made Nomads their temporary home in the warm dining room beside the kitchen. A kitchen with a surprising stock of fresh, contemporary ingredients for a wholesome meal. If it snows, you can curl in the bed with a good book and a hot water bag. Then a visit to see the pristine Chandrataal Lake.
Sahil Duggal is passionate about Losar and he will take good care of you. You will not feel cold even if the temperature drops and its snowing outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the people and the property itself.
Liked least: Nothing, I guess.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkitaS9
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pretty Himalayan secret.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a treacherous yet scenic road journey, the very first sight of the village Losar works like a magic to eyes and soul. Nomad's Cottage is a little wonder in the middle of this beautiful village. One can never get enough of going around in the Village or taking a stroll on the riverside. In a harsh and cold climate like Spiti where a hot cup of tea is a luxury, Nomad's Cottage offers all basic comforts of a home. My fav spot in the cottage was Baithak- a cute little cozy space with a fireplace. This is where our group spent evenings talking, sharing and bonding with each other over hot soups and freshly cooked meals. I totally loved my days spent at Nomad's Cottage, Losar. Thank you Norbu, Tenzin, Leena and Sahil for taking care of us.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101Miles
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Superb stay at such a remote location”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We reached Losar at around 4 PM after a long and tiring journey from Manali and checked into Nomad's cottage.
The comfort and warmth you get at the Nomad's cottage after the bone rattling is priceless.
It's a small cottage with 5-6 cozy rooms with attached clean toilets and running hot water which is a Luxury in the Spiti Valley.
The cook Norbu, prepared delicious food for us. They served us the local dish Tigmo with local mix veg and daal.
Most of the time there was no electricity, so we used solar lamps provided by them. Don't forget to carry a torch/ flashlight when traveling to Spiti valley as electricity is also a luxury here.
Sahil, the owner of the property is the gem of a person who not only running the property nicely but also helping the travelers in planning their trip as well as to the local villagers on humanitarian grounds.
Our entire trip to Spiti was planned with his help and managed by him only.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vishakhaa...
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sahil - Your go to guy for information on your Lahaul & Spiti trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 friends who planned a trip to Lahaul & Spiti Valley in the first week of August 2015.

Having planned everything after doing our research online, we had everything booked and planned, including our one night stay at Nomad's Cottage. However, less than a week before our trip, one phone conversation with Sahil and our entire plan went topsy turvy - and thank God for that!

Sahil is your ultimate guide to Lahaul & Spiti Valley. Coming from Mumbai, we had no idea about the region. After hearing our original plan, Sahil made several recommendations and changes to ensure that our risk of coming down with AMS (Altitude Sickness) was minimal. While last minute changes are usually a cause for alot of frustration, the changes reccommended by Sahil were all followed by a simple 'Dont worry, I'll sort it out' and within 10 minutes, our entire plan was changed and finalized as well! I would highly recommend having a word with Sahil once before your trip for useful tips and contacts for the region.

Our stay at Nomad's Cottage was brilliant. The quaint little cottage in the tiny town of Losar - which is the first village after Kunzum Pass in the Spiti region - is a blessing after several hours of being on rather treacherous roads. The rooms are clean and tidy and some of them offer lovely views of the landscape outside. The staff is very attentive and the service is simple yet effective. The cottage is a short walk away from the river, where we sat and admired the beauty of the region.

I would recommend pre-booking meals at Nomad's as the food in the village is average and there aren't too many options. If you book in advance, the staff at Nomad's will whip up a simple yet delicious meal for you which is served in the lovely baithak area of the cottage.

Electricity is obviously very unpredictable in this area and hence, it is recommended that you carry a flash light with you. However, all the rooms at Nomad's are equipped with Solar lamps as well.

Overall, we had a very memorable stay at Losar and an even more unforgettable trip to Lahaul & Spiti. Thanks a ton to Sahil once again for all the help. If you are making a trip to Spiti, I would recommend a stay at Nomad's Cottage, Losar.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing