We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“NOMADIC DESTINATION.”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage
Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
View from the cottage
The Nomad's Cottage
Kunzum La...19 kms from The Nomad's Cottage
The Nomad's Cottage...
The new look Nomad's Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from The Cottage
Traditional Bethak / Living Room
Now we have two sitting / living rooms
Our four bedded Glass room
View from your Glass room
Glass Room
Four bedded Glass room
Premium Room
View from your Room
Washroom
Washroom
Way to the rooms
All set for the cycle tour of the valley
Cook out at Chandra Tal
At Kunzum La ....cycle tour from the cottage
Our picnic lunch spot near the Cottage
Parking lot at the cottage
Our picnic spot near the Cottage
On the way to , The Nomad's Cottage, Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
Entry point to our village
Way to your Other Home....
You have reached your Other Home...
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
Evening View from the Cottage
Night view from The Cottage..
On the way to Chandra Tal (The Moon Lake)
Parking lot at the Cottage
Descending from Kunzum la...on the way to Chandra Tal
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...most popular trek of the valley , nearest to our village
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...near Losar
Summit Mt. Kanamo @ 19,600 ft ....a Non Technical walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Losar, Lahaul and Spiti District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RoyzDen
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“NOMADIC DESTINATION.”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Nomad cottage is an identical place hikers and travellers in sphiti. The place is managed by sahil duggal an amidst traveller and solo biker from delhi who is an encyclopaedia of Sphiti.

This is also an ideal place for having good food at Losar with exquisite and traditionally maintained cuisine beside a fireplace feels like heaven. The cook Norgu is a great guy.

The place is scenically located and secured from cold, so I suggest to have a stay and get a detailed itinerary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The dining Room
Liked least: some rooms doesn't have attached baths.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebhatak...
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a home amongst the mountains”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

we stayed at nomads cottage during our bike ride, cottage is very comfortable and the view is to die for.
we enjoyed great food and a homely comfort. would love to visit losar again and stay at nomads cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpan K
Guwahati
1 review
“I found a home in Spiti”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

You take the rigorous road to Spiti and later in the evening when in the evening when you reach your cottage you feel no less than home. Friendly host, awesome people at work, comfortable & cozy rooms and the lovely local food made all the tiredness vanish in a moment. Wish I could stay there for longer, hopefully will visit very soon.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhingrati...
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
““ Cozy Oasis In Cold Desert “”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It was for the first time for us to explore Lahul&Spiti in Himalayas.. but i was bit worried as i never been to this Part of Himalayas.. i Googled this so beautiful property "Nomadic Cottage at Losar & after talking to the owner of this so beautiful Property ,my all worries just vanished away, i booked only 2 days stay with Them , even though Mr.Sahil guided me throughout whole of my 10 days road trip to Lahul & Spiti ,and after long Journey of 2 days on road when we reached Nomad's Cottage , Losar.. we forgot all our tiredness , as its so magical place to be , The property , the view , people around & The most importantly .. Nobody can imagine that after such long drive to deep hills & into such remote area one can get such beautiful stay..
Overall what I learn about Nomad’s Cottage & Mr.Sahil is that this property is kind of dream child to Mr.Sahil ,its there more to fulfill his inner soul rather than just another hotel to make money out of it..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just everything
Liked least: Why its so far away , wana go there every weekend.. :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karan C
1 review
“Thanks 'Nomadic Destinations'”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I would start by thanking the person behind this wonderful setup; Sahil.

From the cozy cottage in losar, to the home stay at dizzying heights of lanza, to the pacific camps on the bedside of chandratal lake, we experienced it all. A unique experience awaiting us every single day we spent in the valley.

All made possible by sahil and his team who took care of our plans real closely.

Would highly recommend this place to all. You can be rest assured, Sahil will carve out a wonderful itinerary, to suit you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arpit0443
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing place, Amazing hotel and amazing host..”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I visited this beautiful place back in october 2014. Losar is a kind of place that a nature lover always desires for. Peaceful mountains, flowing river, open spaces, beautiful weather and the most warm hearted local people. Its the first inhabitted village while coming from the manali side, takes appx 8 hrs to reach this place. Personaly, while deciding for a stay, first thing that I am cautious about is the hygiene factor - specially the washrooms, and in such a remote location my expectations were not much, but to my surprise the cottage had neat and clean western washrooms. The rooms were neat and clean, the staff would do its best to keep you comfortable and meet all your personalised needs.
Sahil (the owner) was also there during our visit, he is a great host, an actual nomadic traveller who knows this place to the core. Reach out to him for any queries and he would help you to his best to make your trip the most memorable one.
Langcha homestay - a must do if you can compromise on the quality of washrooms for a day or so.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamranjan
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Chandratal along with Nomad's Cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

One of the most impeccably maintained motel at 13,100ft .Green house rooms furnished with imported quilts & exquisite curtains,which has to be felt & seen to be believed.Mr Sahil also got two amiable staff.A feel at home atmosphere.Electricity is a big problem at LOSAR,but is substituted by solar lanterns.The study has got an Japanese influence.It is a great value for money.Very well furnished bathrooms which were provided with bottle of shampoos.One must see it along with CHANDRATAL

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rooms & staff
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing