We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay, superb arrangements”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Welcome to The Nomad's Cottage...
Chandra Tal , approx. 40 kms from the Cottage
Chandra Tal aka The Moon Lake
View from the cottage
The Nomad's Cottage
Kunzum La...19 kms from The Nomad's Cottage
The Nomad's Cottage...
The new look Nomad's Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from The Cottage
Traditional Bethak / Living Room
Now we have two sitting / living rooms
Our four bedded Glass room
View from your Glass room
Glass Room
Four bedded Glass room
Premium Room
View from your Room
Washroom
Washroom
Way to the rooms
All set for the cycle tour of the valley
Cook out at Chandra Tal
At Kunzum La ....cycle tour from the cottage
Our picnic lunch spot near the Cottage
Parking lot at the cottage
Our picnic spot near the Cottage
On the way to , The Nomad's Cottage, Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
En route Losar
Entry point to our village
Way to your Other Home....
You have reached your Other Home...
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
View from the Cottage
Evening View from the Cottage
Night view from The Cottage..
On the way to Chandra Tal (The Moon Lake)
Parking lot at the Cottage
Descending from Kunzum la...on the way to Chandra Tal
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...most popular trek of the valley , nearest to our village
Kunzum la - Chandra Tal Trek...near Losar
Summit Mt. Kanamo @ 19,600 ft ....a Non Technical walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Losar, Lahaul and Spiti District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
snk99
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, superb arrangements”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights during our trip in Spiti. The rooms are clean, nice, infact reminded us of hotels in Switzerland. Bathroom is clean and staff is always on call. Check in was quick and so was check out. Our entire 22 days trip was planned by Mr Sahil Duggal, pwner of the cottage and it was just superb. We are very happy with Sahil and the way he planned our journey, we are happy to recommend him and his hotel at Losar to all. Losar itself is so very quiet and beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room and view from it
Liked least: Npthing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharadSha...
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise between Kaza & Manali”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This place is not just a holiday rental for me, it is more of an encyclopedia on Spiti - 100s of stories & 1000s of experiences. More than the place, room, food, service etc., it is the owner, Sahil, who makes this place special. I owe every second of this trip to him. He is a walking-talking information centre. I'll be back in Losar soon ;) A monster big thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No maggi :'(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanayGoel
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Losar-one of my fav place on earth!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Losar- small beautiful village, great off-roading experience just to reach there.

Nomads cottage- A home away from home. Have been to the valley thrice and nomad cottage has to be my base camp for trip to the valley. Clean rooms, clean attached toilets, running hot water @12k+ feet, great boys to help you in whatever you plan to do. Last october went there with 10 friends including my wife and we all had a blast. Thanks "Sahil-promoter" for setting up a gem in the wilderness.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawan S
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place, must stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2012

Its heaven, the place the stay and the food. We didn't reach there without any plan and found this place turns to be blessing in disguise. It is very difficult to find such clean, cosy and nice property in hills. The food is home cooked and they can get you anything to eat as per request, whats best you can even cook if u want your own food.
If you are visiting spiti stay at nomad's is must.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spry_2811
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

This place is located in a small village called Losar which is the last village before you head towards Kunzum pass, chandrataal or Manali.

It is easy to find this place as it is on the same road as the circuit house in Losar. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable provided with heavy blankets and low thatched roofs to keep the rooms warm. We traveled last year when the cloud had burst over the kinnaur region and it had impacted the power supply in the whole district.

The caretaker and others along with him were very kind and considerate. We had reached there almost unannounced but he was ready to provide us complete support. He started cooking on our order and given the temperature and the power supply it was quite difficult for him to prepare food for us but even then he agreed.

He provided us with temporary lights and other settlements required for us during our stay. We also had a driver and the caretaker really took good care of him to make him feel comfortable and have food. The next day we went to Kaza in the hope of power supply and checked out a few places there but they were not as clean and comfortable as this one. This also offers the unique experience of living in someone's house unlike other places that we saw which looked more like a guest house or a home stay.

We felt it was slightly expensive for the place but given the hardship that it takes to arrange for everything in this place, we could give that benefit to the owner and the caretakers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leenas150...
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home !!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My four Friends and I visited Losar in August 2013. What a splendid place it is !!
As we were all women travelling to such a remote area, yet we felt very safe and and were looked after very well by the staff at the cottage, at Losar.

The food was simple and tasty. The traditional food served at the Cottage is something to look forward to. Sitting and eating at the Bethak was a different experience.
And the best part.......... ...we were allowed to use to Kitchen for cooking our own food also !!
On our visit to the Chandrtal lake, we were given packed food which was mouthwatering.

The experience of eating home cooked food at such a beautiful site left us all speechless.

The Rooms at the cottage are very comfortable, clean sheets, clean towels and warm room. Hot water was readily available.

We were completely guided by Mr Sahil who has a vast knowledge about the entire Spiti region. All the guidelines given by him were apt.he was readily available on phone and was very helpful. Sahil even sent one of his staff members with us to the Chandratal Lake trek, who guided us throughout the trek and showed us around.
For an all women trip.......... we had an unforgettable experience and looking forward to visit Losar again, with a larger group of women !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Owner of the property, Sahil
Liked least: Food and Food
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing