We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
4
22
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4
22
10
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at this place by accident. I thought it was in Visby but it was actually about 20 km away. Happily a bus goes straight from Visby bus station (but not always the harbor stop) to almost outside the hotell (can't remember the name of the bus stop but worth checking with tourist info because if you get the wrong one it will be a long walk!).

I mark the place as excellent because of the lovely staff, excellent food, relaxing environment and the delight of hiring a bike and cycling around or going to the beach - all this for a very reasonable price compared with other places I stayed in Sweden. My stay which was only one night was full of sunshine and simple pleasures and I really wished that I had had a car and had chosen to stay there for a few days.
My room was very basic and I had the sense that I was in a Sweden of the past,. The room had almost hostel like facilities (you made up your own bed). It was quite old fashioned, but the idea was to get out and be active. The room was a place to sleep, you would not want to spend much time there. The bathroom facilities were shared and old but adequate. I was lucky I was the only person on my floor so it was not a problem. Everything seemed very clean and well maintained just showing its age. There was a lovely area for sitting out and you could either sit in the shade or the sun on some very comfortable lounging chairs. The bar was open all day for food and drink. The sitting area had a really nice sense of privacy too so you really could sit back and relax - no swimming pool and screaming kids, that was located a little bit away from the area.
The staff were superb, unfailingly pleasant and willing to help. They could not do enough to make sure I was comfortable. The food was also excellent and some of the best that I had in Sweden. I was there for midsummer and I was so glad I signed up for the midsummer dinner. The bread was to die for. They said they bought it from a local baker. Everything else was just excellent in the home cooking not ueber-fancy kind of way. It was also really Swedish.

I had to catch an early bus but the breakfast roll that they packed for me was the best that I had in the whole of my trip. I was really sorry to have missed out on breakfast at the hotell. If it had been anything like the roll or the dinner it would have been memorably good.
My thoughts on this hotell were that it would have been ideal with a car. A traveler could base themselves here and see the island. It was however very feasible to access with public transport. I would definitely come back. What the hotell lacked in fanciness it made up for in price and pleasantness. I left feeling great - like I had been on holiday!

Room tip: I was in the old building. Maybe the newer buildings are a little less basic (might be worth asking the hotell)
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

GENERAL
I´ve been to Toftagården for 2 nights, on August 6th and 7th, 2009. I wento to Gotland to participate the Medieval Festival. The hotels in Visby, where the festival takes place, were more expensive than my budget. Then I found Toftagården at destinationgotland.se , and I chose it because it is just 5 minutes from the Viking Village and because of the price. I booked it at the same website and had no problems at all.
This is a family-run hotel, what makes it kind of special.

LOCATION
Toftagården is located in Tofta, around 17 Km far from Visby. The hotel is close to the main road (5 minute-walk to the closest bus stop) and just next to the Viking Village, and close to the beach.
There are no groceries or stores nearby, except a snack bar by the beach, so if you need something, you´ll have to go to Visby. The buses timetables are limited, and I highly recommend renting a car ( I lost some events because there was no public transportation but taxis at night).

ROOM
I had a room inside the main building; it was a Budget room with shower/wc. They also have cottages outside and family rooms.
My room was large, with large bed and window. There was a minibar/fridge, desk, armchairs with reading lamp, TV. The bathroom was OK, with shower gel, good shower pressure and no problems with hot water. The only problem was that the shower box floor was at the same level as the rest of the bathroom, so everytime I had shower, the whole bathroom floor got wet.
Another negative point is that there´s no AC in the room, so during the day it was hot (although it is Sweden, Gotland actually is very warm at summertime). At night, there was no problem with temperature.
My room was also very quiet.

SERVICE AND HOTEL AMENITIES
The hotel has wifi free of charge, but the connection quality varies depending on where you are.
Breakfast was included in the fee and was very good (fresh breads, some fruits, yogurt, milk, coffee, cocoa, eggs, ham, cheese...).
There is also a swimming pool and sauna, but I didn´t try them
The hotel area is very nice, with lots of green and nice places for walking.

The staff is awesome. The day I arrived, I realized that I had forgotten an item in the bus to the airport, in Stockholm. The guy at the front desk (his name is Hugo, I guess) promptly helped me, calling the bus company and solving my problem.
Everybody was very helpful. I was alone and they aided me to find things to do during my stay.
My flight back to Stockholm was very early, so I would have to leave the hotel around 5 a.m. Then the young lady at the front desk prepared a breakfast bag for me, the night before, as breakfast began at 7 a.m. It was very gentle.

They have also a restaurant, with home made food. I ate there once and the food was very good. My dish didn´t take much time to come.

FINAL COMMENTS
Although there were many families with children, the hotel is very calm and quiet, so it perfectly fits for the solo traveler who wants comfort and a nice place to spend the night. Comparing to other hotels in Gotland, Toftagården has a good price and good quality, and I would stay there again.
The only problem is that Tofta doesn´t have structure like stores, groceries or drugstores; if you need these services, you´ll have to go to Visby (20-minute car ride; more if you take the bus).

As Gotland´s bus service is a bit limited, it was a little difficult to move around and know other places in the island, therefore I recommend renting a car, so that one can enjoy what the island has to offer.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking_Janaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

The Almedalen takes place during the first week in July. Visby gets invaded by hundreds of Swedish politicians, lobbyists and hangers-on as almost 1000 meetings, debates and seminars take place. I was speaking at one of these debates but had been invited at short notice. This meant that there were no hotel rooms in Visby. As a result I found myself 20km south in the tiny village of Tofta Strand – perched neatly on the west coast of Gotland.

The Toftagarden Hotel is one of those rural places where the accommodation is housed in a series of cabins and chalets scattered around a central building which houses the reception area and restaurant. Needless to say, I had secured the last available room.

I really have mixed feelings about the Toftagarden. On the positive side, it is a family-run hotel which seems ideally suited to family holidays and which is quite close to sandy beaches and pleasant farmland. On the other hand, my own personal experience of 24 hrs staying there was, shall we say, memorable. A quick list of my experiences:

The very pleasant young lady on reception directed me to the wrong room so I spent a while pulling my suitcase around the grounds trying (in vain) to find room 219. When I finally gave up and went back for help, even she couldn’t find it.

When I eventually got there the ‘room’ was no more than a wooden lean-to build on the side of a cabin. It was very hot inside (no air conditioning, of course, this was a shed). There were two single beds, a very basic toilet and separate shower, and no luxuries like TV. I also discovered that I was sharing the room with a very attentive family of mosquitoes. This meant that opening a window for ventilation would have invited more of their relatives in for dinner (ie me). I managed to kill three of them (sorry animal lovers), but could hear others buzzing around.

I went to the restaurant for dinner & ordered Gotland Lamb, which sounded lovely and a nice bottle of Wisby beer. The other diners – sitting outside in the evening heat - were mostly families with young children having a relaxed time. Indeed, I had a relaxed 1 hour and twenty minute wait for my meal. I had to remind the staff of my order and, after some embarrassed whispering, they delivered my meal. It was very nice, but the sun had gone down by the time I got it.

On the way back to my room I stopped off at reception to ask if they had some mosquito spray or one of those plug-in devices. They didn’t. This was a surprise as the whole hotel was close to woodland and water and the temperature was hot. I can’t imagine my room was the only one with this problem. To their credit, one of the staff later delivered to my room some anti-mosquito body cream and, by way of apology, a selection of goodies such as chocolate, local jam and a packet of loose tea! This was quite touching, really.

Breakfast was OK and went without a hitch, as did the ordering of a taxi to get me out of there. While I was packing I discovered a bee’s nest under my room, with a steady flow of bees arriving & departing all morning.

Of course, mine might have been an exceptional experience. I’m sure this is a nice hotel for people with young kids wanting basic, homely accommodation with no frills but lots of insect life. The staff didn’t get cross with me when things went wrong (as in other places I’ve stayed), they tried hard to put things right, and for that I was grateful. Don’t be put off by my experience, but this isn’t a Marriott either.

Date of stay: June 2009
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank SaldeanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews