We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Entrance to Cliff Farm, 'No long bumpy farm tracks to drive down here' South facing garden, 'who's doing the cooking tonight'?  Table for two, with a view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Sitting room with log burner in antique fireplace
Entrance to Cliff Farm, 'No long bumpy farm tracks to drive down here'
South facing garden, 'who's doing the cooking tonight'?  Table for two, with a view.
The village of Iburndale
Our guests tell us they like a 'bath marathon'. one each for the couple with aching limbs.
Large shower cubicle with raindrop shower head, check yourself out in the freestanding mirror.
Bespoke hand made kitchen, a delight to use the double oven whilst chatting to guests.
'Lets have an aperitif in the courtyard before dinner'
'Wow it's hot today, where's my sunhat'?
I think I'll do a bit of dead heading before breakfast'
'King size and comfy, what more could you want'?
'How quaint can you get'? 'Which side do you want'?
King size and comfy, with soaking tub in your room. Own sink and toilet to this bedroom too
What a place for a BBQ. yes we have Webber BBQ's for your use
Make a wish!!
Out of the gate straight on circular walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Drakes cottage is situated in a tranquil setting. The cottage is tastefully decorated and the furnishings are superb. It's about a ten minute drive from Whitby and central to all the beauty spots around that area. Robert and Julie are friendly people who have done a wonderful renovation job on the cottages and land that they are set in. They live in a house on the land and are always around if there should ever be a problem. This cottage is so well equipt,washer,dish washer, wood burner,hair dryer I think they have thought of everything to make your holiday the best. There is great butchers nearby also a bakers and a Spa shop,if you should need them . There are some very good pubs for meals and most are dog friendly. I can't recommend this cottage enough.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupleapi...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Drake cottage is truly a home away from home, currently sat in the living room of the beautiful cottage and appreciating the beautiful decor, high spec kitchen and amazing bedrooms and bathroom! Close to Whitby 10 min drive and some amazing costal walks with our black Labrador Benson. The owners Robert and Julie have created some beautiful cottages in a lovely location, we would recommend this cottage to friends and family and will hopefully be back for another stay soon.

Thanks
Romy and Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal0
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our third trip to Drakes and still as wonderful. We had another fantastic weekend hosted by the lovely Rob who was as accomodating as always. We were sorry to have missed Julie this time who was poorly (we hope you're feeling better).
As always, Drakes was up to scratch and the usual 5 star accomodation. We did the obligatory trips out early into Whitby and local areas but we would look forward to getting back to put our feet up with a glass of wine and chilling in the lovely cottage in front of the fire.
Good tip for anyone does online shopping, we ordered logs from Asda to be delivered along with our other essentials; made it all a little easier than having to nip out for any during the stay.
We were thrilled to see that Rob has installed a doggie bath/shower next to the cottage; very nice touch for us dog owners. Hot water shower and even a little ramp attached to help the four legged friends to get up and down. Came in extremely handy after a trip with Millie & Dolly to Sandsend and a morning run along the beach! Rob also supplied us with extra doggie. Nothing's too much trouble for their guest and makes staying at Drakes that little more special.
Can't wait to rebook; we love it there and look forward to our weekends away at Drakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspirati...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having been let down on our first choice cottage. We came across Drakes cottage what a fantastic Quality cottage facilities are 5* Owners Robert and Julie where excellent hosts. Couldn't be helpful enough in advising on were the best places to go out to eat out. Really look forward in returning again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing