We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts, great accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen and Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen and Dining Room
Coach House Bedroom with very comfy king size bed.decorated in soothing colours Beautiful light flooded sitting room with large flat screen TV with Bose surround sound.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen and Dining Room
Coach House Bedroom with very comfy king size bed.decorated in soothing colours
Beautiful light flooded sitting room with large flat screen TV with Bose surround sound.
large rain shower corner shower cubicle and Highgrove WC. This complements the large bath tub.
Furry friends!
Good size bedroom with built in wardrobes
Free standing wash basin, a touch of luxury.
Farmhouse Kitchen, very well equipped for relaxing by the fire with a glass whilst dinner is cooking
Large bath tub in dressing room
Pot of gold at Cliff House Farm Cottages
Large bath tub in dressing room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike_Chri...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, great accommodation”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Coach House is a short drive (about 12-15 minutes) from Whitby town centre, and a similar distance from Grosmont, making it an ideal base for exploring the area (especially if you want to travel on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway). Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, and they have clearly put a lot of effort into providing a beautiful place in which to stay. There's on-site parking too.

The Coach House was very well kept, clean and tidy, and finished to a very high standard - it's fitted with Hager electrical accessories; need I say more? At the same time, it was comfortable and cosy, and had all the equipment that we needed for our stay.

We would happily visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil19092...
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Luxury Cottage”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Superb place to stay with the dogs (or without). The cottage had been refurbished to a very high standard and is kept spotless. We both loved the decor and furnishings. The bed was really comfortable. Julie & Rob were really friendly and easy to chat to, nothing was to much trouble and made us very welcome. We shall definitely be coming back again soon Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Comfortable Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tasteful, comfortable holiday cottage. Had everything we required & although it is dog friendly was absolutely spotless with not a sign of any previous dogs.

The owners were there to greet us & show us where everything was, as they live next door they are on hand should you require anything.

Perfectly situated for lots of beautiful walks.. too many to mention.

We will most certainly return here when we have chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Check in time could be a little earlier but we walked 1st then checked in so not a problem.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. We will look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
getaway96...
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better.”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Superb accommodation. Clean, stylish, and up-to-date. Ideally placed for visiting Whitby (recommend the Park & Ride as parking in Whitby is at a premium - follow the signs). Also, it is right next to the moors which in themselves are beautiful. 5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No garden but there is room to sit outside.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanBLevi
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect. A really lovely cottage”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week in the Coach House. We had a fantastic time. The cottage has been finished to a really high standard. The kitchen is spacious and very well equiped. Upstairs is a living area with a huge TV, stereo system and a selection of books and DVDs. There is a single bed which we used as a dressing area and then the main bedroom and en suite. The bed is really comfortable and just what you need after a busy day walking!

We mainly walked and there are a number of walks from the door. There is a gate from the back garden directly onto a footpath through farm fields. Don't be put off by the hills. We managed walks to Whitby, Growmont and Goathland without touching the car. There is a shop nearby and a local butchers. Didn't try the local pub!

We took our Border Collie with us. It's unusual to find such a luxurious, well equiped dog friendly cottage. The owners Robert and Julie were very pleasant and full of tips for the local area.

All in all we can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jangleban...
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky characterful and luxurious”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing holiday stay at The Coach House. This is the latest renovation of the 3 holiday cottages owned by Julie and Robert, two of the nicest people we have ever had the opportunity to meet on our travels. Drake Cottage, Mr Ralph's and now The Coach House complete the long restoration project that has been undertaken and Julie and Robert should be very proud of their achievements. The Coach House is quirky and full of charm. Everything in the cottage is of 5* standard and it once again made our holiday in this beautiful part of Yorkshire. Last year we stayed in Drake and now have the hard task of deciding which one we like the best! If you have a dog (like us) they will be made very welcome in all of the cottages and with lots of lovely walks from the door. Iburndale, the tiny hamlet nestling in the village of Sleights is so peaceful and charming. Sleights has local shops and a short drive into Whitby and Sandsend for beaches and restaurants. For us, we have found our forever second home for our much loved "doggy" holidays as it is so rare to find such gems in such beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury retreat
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmpenSpek...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peaceful luxury in delightful surroundings”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Robert and Julie are a lovely relaxed couple who make you feel immediately welcome. The Coach House has recently been renovated and converted to a very high standard. It has been beautifully decorated and is well equipped with lots of mod cons, like dishwasher, surround sound system and a great selection of CD's, etc.

Sleights has a really good butcher/greengrocer and a Spar store, so you can get essentials locally. The Coach House is dog friendly and there are miles of lovely walks right on the doorstep.

Would we go again? YES!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere and peace and quiet.
Liked least: Locally accessible supermarkets have limited range.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing