We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sleights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hedgefield Guest House
Ranked #4 of 5 Sleights B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We only stayed one night but we could not have been made more welcome. Lovely twin bedded room clean and comfortable and an en-suite shower room with all the luxuries you would expect in a 4* hotel. Super breakfast with home made bread and preserves. Will definitely stay again if we find ourselves in that neck of the woods in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 28th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful weekend. Ann and Derek are the perfect hosts which probably accounts for the number of international travellers and their friends who return here year after year. The house and gardens are immaculate and the rooms are spotlessly clean. We had the room at the back which looks over the valley which is a little oasis. Ann's cooking is second to none and almost every ingredient is home cooked - from the terrific breakfast Granola cereal, to the fresh baked bread and her not to be missed 'Little Rascal' scones. Ann and Derek truly think of everything - from the delicious home made tea and cakes on arrival to the fresh milk waiting at your door first thing in the morning! They also have a really terrific knowledge of the area and the restaurants they recommended to us (The Stables at Cross Butts and The Marine in Whitby) were absolutely outstanding. Miss this establishment at your peril....it's a stone's throw from Whitby but much more peaceful with attractions like Sleights Station, Perry's Garden Centre( and riverside cafe), not to mention the rowing boatsat Ruswarp right on your doorstep - Truly top notch!

Room Tip: The rear facing bedroom would be my pick - great views, plenty of space and a large bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrsmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Certainly lived up to the top reviews! We stayed in the endevour room and the view was amazing! Bed was huge and bathroom too. They had body wash and body lotion, fluffy towels, a doona like a fluffy cloud and views to melt your heart! Fresh milk for a spot of tea upon our return with carrot cake (the best I've ever tasted) waiting in our room. Waking up to the sun shining and the birds tweeting and taking a morning stroll was great. Came back to the reason the won the breakfast award. Best ever homemade granola with yoghurt and stewed fruits like apricots and I think dates and raspberries and strawberries! Fresh baked bread and fruit juice! Scrambled eggs and the freshest bacon I've ever smelt! My man had mushroom and poached eggs cooled to perfection too! Thank you so much for such a memorable time we really appreciate your time and effort and love you put into welcoming us.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyJWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was one of my favourite stays during a 2 week trip around England. Hedgefield is a delightful guest house. We were offered tea, coffee and cake on our arrival which was lovely after a long drive. The rooms were spacious and very well furnished. Breakfast was so yummy and if I remember correctly Ann had made a beautiful muesli. It is a short drive into Whitby which is such a special place. Would love to go back and stay again. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitipillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent one night at Hedgefield and the attention to detail was great ,lovely pillows and comfortable bed . Breakfast was first class.
It is a very quite spot , with an easy car ride to Whitby .

Room Tip: Our room was Endeavour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay with a warm cosy feel to it, you get a coffee and a piece of home made cake when you arrive. The rooms are clean and fresh, with all the facilities that you need,tea,coffee,hairdryer,etc. Ann and Derek are the perfect hosts and very helpful and as everyone has remarked the breakfasts are something else! We will certainly go back as it very central for a whole load of attractions in the area and it really has a warm and friendly feel to it.
Thank you for a great four days we thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leschenault Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Amazing value for money - comfortable room with delicious breakfast and the most helpful, friendly & accomodating hosts we could have wished for. Thank you Anne and Derek, for a wonderful 3 days - your kind and thoughtful hospitality very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaniCat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleights
0.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Glen Guest House
0.4 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#108 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eskdale House B&B
Eskdale House B&B
#26 of 51 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hedgefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgefield Guest House

Property: Hedgefield Guest House
Address: 47 Coach Road, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sleights
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sleights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing