We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome with a wow factor!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lorraine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome with a wow factor!”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just had the one night here on a spur of the moment trip up to Whitby. We were lucky to land here at Grove Hall. The welcome from Charles Numi and Aphra is second to none and their chateau style house is a wondrous place! Lovely to share it for a few hours. Many thanks for being such friendly hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The amazing welcome
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
We were very pleased to have you! We have been working on landscaping the garden as the weather has been so good at the moment, and I have been taking time off from The Stonehouse Emporium to enjoy the sunshine.You are now V.I.P guests and get special deals on return visits. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntF51
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave :(”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 6 nights and wished it was more! Numi and Charles made us feel very welcome from start to finish. We loved the location and accommodation - breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Esk valley was idyllic. The room had everything we needed and the decor throughout reflected Numi's eye for design and Charles' photographic prowess. As hosts, they were great to chat to, but never intrusive. Thanks for getting the perfect balance!
PS I'll miss that fantastic porridge in the morning!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Setting, breakfast, hosts
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
Lovely to have such nice guests, who are so easy to feed!! I have just done the same porridge and fruit compote for one of our guests for the second day running,- you have started a trend!
You are now V.I.P guests, and will receive discounts on further bookings.Happy Summer :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibryce2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“quirky, friendly and charming country cottage”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at groves hall for one night as we were at a wedding in sleight. On arrival we received a warm welcome and Charles helped us plan our stay for the weekend. The beds were extremely comfy and the gardens were beautiful. I shall definitely be returning for another visit if we ever get back to sleight.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
We loved having you, and pleased you would consider staying with us again.We worked hard this summer on the garden, so there will be lots of nice surprises for you the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting, warm welcome and great breakfasts”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend break at Groves Hall. The house is great , full of quirky things and set in gorgeous countryside but very close to Whitby. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable.. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious,. Thank you

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Hi Tina,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The garden has undergone some more transformations this Summer, and will be looking superb next year. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHOxford
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just spent the weekend at Groves Hall in Sleights near Whitby. If you are looking for a real country house experience next to the drama and beauty of the North Yorkshire moors and only a short drive or busride in to famous seaside resort of Whitby, then this is the place for you. Lovely house, amazing interiors, your own private garden and stretch of the River Esk for fishing, cat therapy, good food and company, I can't think of anything critical to say about the place...except perhaps that the water takes quite a while to heat up when you want to have a shower! So I went for a swim in the river instead. Alan Harding 10/6/15

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Great to meet you, and hope that the marathons aren't taking their toll.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoadRunne...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome Retreat”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful unique property, very peaceful with amazing views and hosts, unlike any other bed and breakfast. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast! Will definitely visit again if we are in the area. Good Luck with the gig Charles!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
It was lovely to have you stay.Good luck with the baby..get your beauty sleep now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa36200...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly owner...excellent service from booking to checking out!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Groves Hall for the night as we were visiting Whitby for a friend's birthday. My friend checked us in as he was there before me and told me Numi had given him a detailed tour of the grounds which were lovely. The room was very clean and had lots of character. Breakfast was amazing...toast, full English for me and scrambelled eggs with smoked salmon on toasted muffins for my friend. Excellent customer service. I was allowed to use the landline to call home as unfortunately I had no signal. I would highly recommend and most certainly would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Lovely to meet you both and glad you had an enjoyable stay.Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Numi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing