We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting, warm welcome...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina B
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting, warm welcome and great breakfasts”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend break at Groves Hall. The house is great , full of quirky things and set in gorgeous countryside but very close to Whitby. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable.. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious,. Thank you

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Hi Tina,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The garden has undergone some more transformations this Summer, and will be looking superb next year. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APHOxford
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just spent the weekend at Groves Hall in Sleights near Whitby. If you are looking for a real country house experience next to the drama and beauty of the North Yorkshire moors and only a short drive or busride in to famous seaside resort of Whitby, then this is the place for you. Lovely house, amazing interiors, your own private garden and stretch of the River Esk for fishing, cat therapy, good food and company, I can't think of anything critical to say about the place...except perhaps that the water takes quite a while to heat up when you want to have a shower! So I went for a swim in the river instead. Alan Harding 10/6/15

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Great to meet you, and hope that the marathons aren't taking their toll.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoadRunne...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcome Retreat”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful unique property, very peaceful with amazing views and hosts, unlike any other bed and breakfast. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast! Will definitely visit again if we are in the area. Good Luck with the gig Charles!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
It was lovely to have you stay.Good luck with the baby..get your beauty sleep now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa36200...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly owner...excellent service from booking to checking out!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Groves Hall for the night as we were visiting Whitby for a friend's birthday. My friend checked us in as he was there before me and told me Numi had given him a detailed tour of the grounds which were lovely. The room was very clean and had lots of character. Breakfast was amazing...toast, full English for me and scrambelled eggs with smoked salmon on toasted muffins for my friend. Excellent customer service. I was allowed to use the landline to call home as unfortunately I had no signal. I would highly recommend and most certainly would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Lovely to meet you both and glad you had an enjoyable stay.Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Numi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaT37...
1 review
“Bliss”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just returned from a fantastic stay and cannot recommend highly enough. Whitby was busy as you would expect and it was bliss to return to such a tranquil haven. Numi and Charles are perfect hosts, the room was comfortable and the whole place was peaceful, with the added bonus of a very occasional steam engine in the distance. Will definitely come back and would definitely recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Thanks Amanda.
Really nice to meet you both and look forward to having you stay with us again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean0
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blissful Tranquility”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I'd been thinking of checking out Groves Hall for some time so my wife and I decided to go.
After a 180 mile drive, the place itself was very easy to find yet amazingly secluded.
We were met by Charles who made us tea and we sat chatting in the garden. We thought we'd take a look around Whitby before the shops closed for the day and Charles came with us - just to give us a few pointers.
It's a matter of minutes in to Whitby and although I generally have a dislike of 'sea side' towns - Whitby is different from the stereotypical resort town. It's clean and litter free, friendly and obviously steeped in history. If you go near the Abbey, you must go in to the hillside church nearby - I've never seen anything quite like it inside.
Back at Groves Hall - you could fill your time with all sorts of activities, but we came here to relax, and that's exactly how the place made us feel - instantly !
I can only describe it as blissful tranquility.
The house is stunning and the gardens vast and the apartment section is very well contained.
Charles and Numi are the perfect hosts.
Warm, intelligent and interesting people and as we were blessed with glorious sun shine, we had breakfast in the garden and chatting with them both - it felt like we had know them for years.
We liked Groves Hall - we liked it a lot, and we will definitely be going back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Just realised that I hadn't thanked you for staying with us!
So nice to meet like minded people who understand how we operate.
The garden is starting to look Spring like now, and it is about time you thought about coming back to see us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gimmeabre...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All we had hoped it would be - and more!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable few days stay at Groves Hall in Sleights, near Whitby. This elegant, country pied a terre was just perfect for the two of us with idyllic views and even a steam train passing by at the end of the garden every so often. The peaceful location is close to and perfectly placed for most areas of interest in Whitby and surrounding towns, villages. But the most appealing thing about Groves Hall is the warmth and charm of the owners, Numi and Charles. They provided hearty breakfasts, comfy accommodation (and cups of tea in their kitchen when we returned from our wanderings) all the while ensuring that we had everything we needed. They are a delightful couple and their hospitality is second to none. Go and find out for yourselves! (and while you are there, be sure to attend a Harry Collett Ghost Tour, he's extremely entertaining, then have fish and chips at The Magpie, superb).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the setting, the laid back atmosphere,
Liked least: The Yorkshire weather!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Lovely to meet you both, and the garden is feeling very Springy at the moment!
Perfect time to come back and see us,
Don't forget we have the Tour de Yorkshire cycle race coming down the hill in Sleights on May 1st..book your seats now :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing