We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherwood Glen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Sleights B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Our stay at Sherwood Glen was all too short. My wife and I enjoyed four nights there in October We cannot remember staying in a better B&B.We arrived slightly early but were soon enjoying a lovely pot of tea with some delicious cake ! Robin was very helpful with his directions to places we wished to visit. We crammed an awful lot into our stay,A tour through Eskdale and back along the coast to Whitby,A trip to Pickering on the Steam Railway and of course Whitby Abbey.The bedrooms are superb, spotless and spacious.The breakfasts were perfect,full English breakfast which I had ,my wife could only manage scrambled egg on toast There were a choice of cereals as well.not to mention the toast and marmalade There were other options as well Thanks Trish for the lovely breakfasts.We will definitely return !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcarp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
167
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Cannot be faulted in anyway
Quiet location, excellent large bedroom and shower room
Breakfast excellent
Great welcome with tea and cake
Robin and Trish are perfect hosts
Would stay again

Room Tip: Ashley can be double or twin, but all looked good from the photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Iv just stayed here and I have not got a bad word to say! Robin and trish are the most friendly welcoming hosts, the rooms are so big and cosy and the breakfast was delicious! Loved yr little chickens in the garden! :D will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenfebbrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a fantastic stay, you are made so welcome the rooms are fantastic, large comfy with everything you could need. Would definatly go back again a true home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnietowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Travelling back to Hampshire from Scotland, we spent 3 nights at this B&B. On arrival we were welcomed with tea and cake and a friendly smile from our hosts.At the great breakfasts, Robin gave us advice about Whitby and the surrounding area - he is so knowledgeable! - and after long days out and about,we knew we would sleep well in the clean and comfortable bed. The room and bathroom were so spacious. All in all a great place to stay and well worth the money!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot fault it - very clean and peaceful and the owners are so helpful. Lovely rooms and good food - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The guest house was extremely comfortable with large rooms we enjoyed the welcome tea and cakes in the pretty garden. The beds were very comfortable and clean the breakfast was excellent with eggs from their own chickens. Robin and Trish were perfect hosts and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandM855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleights
2.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#106 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Glen Guest House

Property: Sherwood Glen Guest House
Address: Orchard Road | Near Whitby, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sleights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sleights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Glen is a beautiful Edwardian Guest House offering bed and breakfast accommodation on the very edge of the North Yorkshire Moors and less than 3 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. Perfectly located for visiting Whitby, strolling in Goathland the home of “Heartbeat,” beachcombing at Sandsend and Saltwick, “fossilling” at Robin Hoods Bay, riding the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, walking the Cleveland Way, or simply exploring the rugged coast and beautiful moors countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Sherwood Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing