We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Glen Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Sleights B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a fantastic stay, you are made so welcome the rooms are fantastic, large comfy with everything you could need. Would definatly go back again a true home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnietowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 206 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Travelling back to Hampshire from Scotland, we spent 3 nights at this B&B. On arrival we were welcomed with tea and cake and a friendly smile from our hosts.At the great breakfasts, Robin gave us advice about Whitby and the surrounding area - he is so knowledgeable! - and after long days out and about,we knew we would sleep well in the clean and comfortable bed. The room and bathroom were so spacious. All in all a great place to stay and well worth the money!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and cannot fault it - very clean and peaceful and the owners are so helpful. Lovely rooms and good food - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The guest house was extremely comfortable with large rooms we enjoyed the welcome tea and cakes in the pretty garden. The beds were very comfortable and clean the breakfast was excellent with eggs from their own chickens. Robin and Trish were perfect hosts and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KandM855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here during our road trip in Yorkshire. Its very beautiful, tastefully done place , with great breakfast, run by very lovely people. Rooms are very spacious and clean. complete value for money. will recommend it t everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backup m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Enjoyed Tea and Cake in the garden when we arrived. The room was first class, and the breakfast was very good too, with plenty of choice. Will be calling there again.

Room Tip: The room was first class every thing you needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Robin and Trish are fabulous hosts. They are knowledgeable about the local area and what it offers. The location of the house is perfect, its surrounding trees and foilage are a haven for birds. The breakfast at Sherwood Glen was perfection (eggs where possible supplied by their own chickens). Robin provides details of local walks, we followed the one into Whitby. Sherwood Glen is perfect for people who don't want to be in Whitby town itself and it is a good base for walking and visiting other local attrcations. We will definately reccommed them to friends and stay again next time we come to Whitby. The only downside for us was that we booked late and were unable to get one of the larger rooms that they offer.

Room Tip: The standard double is ideal for those who are out and about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleights
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
2.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#88 of 152 in Whitby
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Glen Guest House

Address: Orchard Road | Near Whitby, Sleights, Whitby YO22 5BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Sleights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sleights
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood Glen is a beautiful Edwardian Guest House offering bed and breakfast accommodation on the very edge of the North Yorkshire Moors and less than 3 miles from the seaside town of Whitby. Perfectly located for visiting Whitby, strolling in Goathland the home of “Heartbeat,” beachcombing at Sandsend and Saltwick, “fossilling” at Robin Hoods Bay, riding the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, walking the Cleveland Way, or simply exploring the rugged coast and beautiful moors countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing