We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweden when it is best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We where 15 people staying at the hotel. The purpose of our visit was the Vasa run from Salen to Mora.
The hotel is beautiful and has not changed for the last hundred year. There where fire in the stow and snow in the garden - it is hard to find a more cozy place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bossebertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited Åkerblad during March, 2013. Since we are not into skiing, so March is not really the best time to visit Tällberg. Though there was plenty of snow, it is apparent that this area is beautiful in summer. The hotel is a family business, and the rooms were transformed from a traditional Swedish farm cottage. The bed is Hästens, a luxury Swedish bed maker, very comfortable. The only flaw of the room is that the bathroom is out of date. Regarding the service, you got everything you need, though there is little chance for you to see the hotel staff (very Swedish). We do recommend the dinner, it is fantastic. The breakfast is plain.
We will visit Tällberg again during summer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This Hotel/Spa is one of the best we have stayed at in Sweden. When visiting Dalarna this is a must to stay at. Excellent service both in hotel and in the fantastic restaurant. Never ever have we
experienced so fantastic taste in the food. We spent 3 nights in this hotel in December and we will for sure come back to stay in the nice rooms and have all meals in the nice restaurant overlooking
the lake Siljan. Both i the summer or in the winter this is a fantastic area of Sweden. Even if we live in Sweden this is one of our 3 favourite places of our country.Don´t miss this area or this fantastic hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is located close to the lake Siljan.
We were there at the beginning of December - snow, lovely Christmas decoration everywhere - this hotel has a great spiritual atmosphere! History breathes from all corners, all walls and all pieces of furniture. But it is still modern in its services.
Our rooms were in one of the small cottages across the garden. They were rather small but cosy, clean and calm.
Food was super delicious. We did not take traditional Swedish Christmas buffet (Julbord) as dinner, but we ordered served 4-course meal. A very good choice! Super tasty! We were also recommended drinks to each course and we enjoyed this evening very much. Great services, friendly and very helpful waiters.
The next day we had buffet lunch and it was yummy as well (salmon in different styles, herrings, etc. - traditional Swedish Christmas buffet, but really tasty).
Check-in and check-out very smooth.
I can only recommend to experience a stay in this hotel!
Only regret - we did not have time to visit spa. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Akerblads is a many generational family hotel dating back to the middle ages. It is in the Dalarna region where the Dala horses, symbols of Sweden, are manufactured. The red wooden buildings throughout this heritage region establish a unique ambience before you even reach the modest approach to the hotel. Our room was large, authentically furnished and decorated and comfortable. As we approached our room, we found notices on the doors to rooms attesting to stays by Britt Ekland and various notable Swedes. The evening in the restaurant was one of those meals you always remember for the right reasons. The staff were not only efficient and friendly, but also gave the impression that you were a family guest. Although it is expensive, it is indeed a wonderful experience to remember and a cost you won't regret.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have been living in Sweden for nearly half a century, and never in all that time have I, away from home, been so royally wined and dined as at Åkerblads last weekend. The bill of fare was either designed or inspired by Gert Klötzke, a celebrity chef whose reputation rests on letting the food speak for itself, as opposed to making it a vehicle for ego-tripping. At lunch time, go for the herring and salmon buffet. For all meals except breakfast, try for a table in the glazed passage on the garden side. Breakfast – another right royal buffet – is served in the “Clan Hall”, the walls of which are decked with art and family history; this place has been in the same family since the 15th century. You are quartered either in the main building or in one of the houses dotted about it, very close by. The staff are wonderful – friendly, competent and helpful. All in all, a worthy introduction to a very “ethnic” part of Sweden. Go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerTidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallberg
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dalecarlia
0.4 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tallberg
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tallbergsgardens Hotell
Tallbergsgardens Hotell
#3 of 5 in Tallberg
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Langbers
Hotel Villa Langbers
#4 of 5 in Tallberg
70 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mora Hotell & Spa
Mora Hotell & Spa
#1 of 5 in Mora
240 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Hotell Lerdalshoejden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri

Address: 2 Sjoegattu, Tallberg 793 70, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Akerblads Gastgiveri)
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Tallberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tallberg
Price Range: $102 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akerblads Hotell & Gastgiveri Sweden/Tallberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing