We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply a pleasure to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castella Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castella Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Kato Achaia B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“simply a pleasure to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Castella was simply a pleasure to stay at. The owners were extremely friendly, always greeting us with a smile. The food at their restaurant was surprisingly excellent, and with the breakfast included, the price is fantastic. Furthermore, we brought our two dogs, and they were well excepted and even were able to visit with the owner's dogs. We highly recommend Castella for a relaxing trip or if you need to stay over near Petras.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Halfway between Patras and Ancient Olympia, the Castella Beach Hotel (formerly known as Tarantella ) is run by the Trachanis family, Spyros and his sisters Maria and Eleni. I know them all since we were children and our father was taking us there at least once a week for lunch, swimming in the summer or just for a coffee break on our way back home from an excursion.

We used to call the place Tarantella even after the change of the name to Castella Beach.

The service was always friendly, the waiters always would cater for all your needs and the food was always good.

I would recommend the place to anyone who travels to the SW of Greece. It is a nice getaway, it can be nice and quiet, safe and spacious for families with kids. It is also well placed for daily excursions to Kylinni, Ancient Olympia, Patras, Delphi, Messologi and Kalavryta.

Room Tip: Get the sea view for spectacular sunsets over the gulf of Patras
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vassilis-Manoussos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Honestly, if i could rate this hotel more than 5, i would do so. We are talking about a hotel, just in front of the beach, with AMAZING VIEWS, and the friendliest owners that i have ever met!!! These people are just amazing!! You had what you wanted, before you ask for it!!
Now, let me take it from the beginning: Fist impression from our booking was that they seemed to be very professional and helpful. Actually they offered to pick up us from the airport of Araxos for a small cost, much cheaper than taxi, which we booked.
On our arrival Mr. Spyros was at the airport waiting for us, and took us at the hotel. And when we stepped our foot there, then we understood why this hotel had a 9.3 rating at booking.com!!!!! This was absolutely AMAZING!!! THE VIEWS, SPOTLESS, everywhere we had the smell of freshly cleaned surfaces. We where offered a welcome drink and traditional feta cheese, garlic bread and gavros fish with an amazing taste!! The owners where willing to give us all the information we asked for sightseeing, buses, where to eat and transportation. They even printed a map for us with buses information. We had lunch there witch was amazing!!
Our room was very comfortable with views of Patraikos bay. You had the beach in frond of you, with wonderful views of green trees. The atmosphere was so calm and relaxing!!
In this hotel you will notice that even the smallest detail, for them is a major thing. They look after everything so well and they are so friendly and lovable persons. I was never treated like that in all the hotels i have been to. We all felt like home!!
What we gained from Castella Beach is 3 very good friends!! Thank you SPYRO, VLASTA and MARIA!!! You made our holidays unforgettable!!!! Special thanks to Georgia, that was fantastic too!! I would recommend this hotel to everybody that wants to visit Achaia.
We will see you again!!!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank despinacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The returant is part of the hotel and had a good selection to choose from. I ate there once and had a fantastic and huge pork chop with propoer freshly made chips. Also a greek salad. Good service, good prices and the view and ambience is exceptional. Well worth a visit to this quiet little gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank dwhitebsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a very pleasant and well presented little gem. Nothing brash about the decor and generally well maintained throughout. There is a small shingle beach to laze out on and, thanks to the seclusion, there are no other people passing through. View over the bay fantastic with leafy surroundings and chirping birds, very nice. I was only able to eat once in the restaurant and was served up the most enormous pork chop with properly cooked chips which was lovely and good value. Breakfast was as you want it. The beds in the rooms were comfortable enough with spare pillows in the cupboards. TV had a good selection of channels. Shower was nice and powerful with a good flow of hot water (takes a moment to come through). Balconies have side panels allowing you privacy. Even if you don't end up with a sea view balcony the standard here as such should not bother you.
There is an issue on public transport at the moment with a lack of information on local busses which the hotel owners are addressing by organising themselves to fill in for the woeful local government. The Castella Beach will make sure you get to Arraxos airport with plenty of time to spare. I had a free lift from the brother and he was telling me that he may be offering free transfers to the airport for longer staying guests and a small fee (much less than taxis) for one nighters, if the local bus system continues to be poor. Email the hotel for the current arrangements. Coming from the airport, take the coach that meets each flight and ask to be dropped off at the hotel and they currently oblige.
An extremely pleasant hotel that cares for you.

There really was nothing to complain about, fridge worked and chilled my water perfectly, the sister could not do enough to help, oh yes, there was one thing – the state of the roads in Greece are appalling. I ended up sliding the hire car and nudging a soil bank knocking out a fog light, silt run off all over the road. Car was arranged through hotel so I hope the repair is simple and doesn’t cost much.

Room Tip: Clearly ask for a sea view, if there aren't any available you'll still love the place and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwhitebsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Achaia
2.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pavlina Beach Hotel
Pavlina Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Niforeika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Niforeika Beach
Niforeika Beach
#2 of 3 in Niforeika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Poseidon Palace
Poseidon Palace
#1 of 1 in Kaminia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
14.6 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#3 of 21 in Patras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
11.4 mi away
Verde al Mare Hotel
Verde al Mare Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kato Achaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castella Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castella Beach

Property: Castella Beach
Address: National Road Patron - Pirgou | Alissos - Dymi, Kato Achaia 250 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Kato Achaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kato Achaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castella Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Castella Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing