We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but very basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Sabina Playa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location but very basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the rooms are clean and fairly modern they are very basic, which for the price ($300AUD per night) is not good value. We had just come from 5* hotels in Madrid & Barcelona which we paid less per night for so were very disappointed when we arrived. The official photos make the rooms seem far bigger and luxurious than they actually are. As they're apartments it can get quite noisey with doors banging and loud voices from other guests. The swimming pool is small but a nice to have with a few sunbeds.
Overall the location is great, just near the port with lots of great restaurants nearby (recommend Luna), and a lovely bay to swim in. Definitely recommend hiring a bike and cycling to platja de ses illetes or de llevant (great beaches), don't bother with Sa Boca beach. Also the bus goes to Es Pujols which is also a nice beach with restaurants etc. If you stay in the La Savina area then I'd recommend staying in the hotel next door: La Hostel Savina.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
23
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I think you couldn't expect more for this price range in Formentera. The only think that could be improved is the wifi, which was not available in the rooms, but just in the shared area near the swimming pool.
The complex is situated on a small, very calm beach, which is perfect for a late afternoon or evening bath.
It's very close to the port, so you can check in and have a shower minutes after your arrival on the island. (check the opening hours for the check in, when we arrived we had to wait 2 hours, until 16:30, but it was clearly stated in the information)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloverde11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

nice spacious clean apartment has everything you need for a lovely stay in formentera. very helpful friendly lady on the reception tells you where everything is and times of boats etc. bang in the centre of the harbour, absoloutely stunning place and beautiful sunsets. definitely recommend this place. beautiful sea view to wake up to.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

1 minute from the port, I stepped into this hotel (next to the apartments) from a main road to be wowed with the view straight through the lobby to a bright little lagoon dotted with gorgeous little boats. This is a stunning view and an amazing place to relax. I must admit that my heart sunk when I discovered my room was on the road... I was SO looking forward to spending early evenings on the balcony just drinking in the view... despite my best charm and offers to pay more... I couldn't get a sea view (no real surprise that all rooms are booked in advance and in real demand). Once my petted lip had reduced I noticed my room was spotless and very clearly recently refurbished (A/C, fan tv, fridge and cracking shower). The road noise was negated by the A/C and fan. We were able to spend all day on the quiet lagoon beach (free sun beds) and enjoy really good food in the hotel restaurant (dinner menu is great value for residents 3 courses +wine for 2 = under 50 euros).The port had too many bike rental shops for my liking (at least 40 - 50).... half should be replaced with cafes and restaurants. The island can easily be explored by bus...regular and cheap. The supermarket across the road is really handy for water etc. We loved the peace and quiet (end of May) and would definitely return.... this time I would try and book a sea view room!... This is NOT available online.

Room Tip: Book a sea view in advance... good luck trying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZebraJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our bedroom had cockroaches. After asking politelly to change rooms and be told that it was impossible, I decided to take some pictures of the more than 30 cockroaches we had killed and finnally, after living with the bugs for 2 whole days, we got placed in another room. Appart from the bugs, the room we were first placed at did not fit the 3 of us and the fridge had an awful smell. Do not stay there!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anaindignada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Savina hotels

South Wales UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The apartments are located close to the port, public bus stops, scooter hire, restaurants and a supermarket all in easy walking distance. The apartments neighbour with Cafe Lago and Hostal Savina and has its own private swimming pool area. The room we stayed in has a sea view with no road noise whatsoever. It is light and airy with a private balcony and patio table and chairs. The room is airconditioned and has a flatscreen TV with cooking facilities and a well equipped kitchenette. The room was comfortable and very clean on arrival; it was cleaned with a towel change and bins emptied every other day, however the bedding was not changed for the six days of our stay. Noise could be heard from the Cafe next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Savina
0.0 mi away
Hostal La Savina
Hostal La Savina
#1 of 3 in La Savina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Roca Bella
Hotel Roca Bella
#5 of 9 in Es Pujols
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#2 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
7.0 mi away
Insotel Club Maryland
Insotel Club Maryland
#11 of 29 in Formentera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ses Eufabietes
Ses Eufabietes
#2 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Sabina Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Sabina Playa

Property: Apartamentos Sabina Playa
Address: Avenida Mediterrania 2, 07870 La Savina, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > La Savina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in La Savina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Sabina Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Estany des Peix beach. 50 Metres from the Formentera marine (La Savina), and 700 metres from the begining of Illetas beach. Rooms: Most are studios consisting of living/bedroom (2 twin beds with sofa bed), breakfast bar, bathroom, air conditioning and satellite TV, ceiling fan and terrace. The apartments have the same facilities, plus bedroom (2 twin beds). Most studios and apartments have sea or pool view. All units have a safity deposit box ( te rent see reception): Residence: The complex has a reception, swimming pool with solarium and sun umbrellas. There is also a pleasent bar-restaurant in quiet setting, with splendid views over the Estany des Peix.Ix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartamentos Sabina Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Sabina Playa Formentera/La Savina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing