We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent B&B”
Review of Royal Yeoman

Royal Yeoman
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Yeoman
Ranked #1 of 1 Grimstone B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent B&B”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, had a good room even though it overlooked the road, it was clean and comfortable with a very good mattress. Breakfast was cooked to order and to perfection. Sue and Garry were excellent hosts, Sue an absolute mine of local information which we found very helpfull. We enjoyed sitting in the lovely garden upon returning from sightseeing every day and then enjoyed an excellent meal in the local pub just a few minutes drive away. We have booked a return visit in September.
Sylvia and Michael de Lara

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaeld029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Room was clean and tidy, beds made up, extra pillows that I had asked for in advance. Breakfast was a big choice...Hubs had a "full English" I went for scrambled eggs and bacon. Toast was fresh and warm, plenty of proper butter which is always a "plus" for me...I don't rate anywhere that offers one measly pat of unsalted margerine for 4 slices of toast! Evening meals....excellent choice, and varied...huge portions though! Neither of us managed to finish our dinners, even though on our last night I asked for a "small portion" Garry and Sue were excellent and helpful hosts, Garry helped us with our luggage, my husband is disabled....I was enchanted by Jinx, a very friendly cat.

Room Tip: If you sleep well and are used to traffic noise then a room facing the road won't bother you. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrops
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Royal Yeoman, we had room 4 which is facing the busy road, but it didnt bother us too much, if your a light sleeper then it probably will!
The place is spotlessly clean, sue is a great hostess, nothing is too much trouble,shes happy to help in any way possible.
The full english was cooked to perfection by gary,the only tiny downfall was that there is nothing within walking distance, you are about a ten minute drive away from Dorchester, where all the shops and restaurants are.We were happy to have a drive out to find a country pub.
On the whole we had a fab weekend and would definitely recommend the Royal Yeoman to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxsamShrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We used the Royal Yeoman as a base for visiting the Jurassic Coast, Weymouth, Stourhead and Montacute House so it was perfectly positioned. Sue and Gary were great hosts and the room clean and very quiet. Plenty of off-street parking. The Saxon Arms is about 5 mins away by car, and it has a good selection of meals (and beer) in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Moonduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and my father recently stayed at the Royal Yeoman B@B in Grimstone (Dorchester), The accommodation really is first class. It boasts a large car park and spacious rear gardens with excellent views over the country side. The house itself is spacious and immaculate inside, with a comfortable lounge with large TV screen and all the required sky channels. The bedroom came with on suite, tea and coffee making facilities and TV with free view channels. The food and service is superb and you also have the use of free wi-fi during your stay. Sue and Garry generate a friendly atmosphere and make you feel most welcome and nothing seems too much trouble. All in all I would recommend this accommodation to anyone and I will definately be visiting The Royal Yeoman in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

There were many of our colleagues staying in and around Dorchester, but I think we found the best! Just a few minutes outside Dorchester, there is ample parking (which you don't get in town), and the gate is shut at night for security (I had a van full of tools so this was a real plus point). We had a warm friendly welcome on the evening we stayed, and although the Yeoman had stopped serving food they were happy to recommend the local pub in the next village - The Saxon Arms - which served food until 9pm, and we had a really good meal (£35 with drinks). Back to the Yeoman, our room (no1) was huge, spotless and tastefully decorated. With an on-suite bath room with very powerful shower! The bed was BIG - 6'6'' square with lovely cotton linen, very comfortable indeed. Plenty of tea and coffee making bits and bobs for the morning. Breakfast was freshly cooked from a selection of your choice as well as having the choice of cereals/fruit/yogurt and juices. Only trouble with such a good breakfast is that I didn't feel like doing a days work after it! Felt more like a mini holiday than a work stop over. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfamileeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here alone for 2 nights during a business trip and was so impresses with the value for money. Good sized room with comfy bed and great brekkie/evening meals from the very friendly owers. Easy parking and everything you want while away from home. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasaurasrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstone
3.8 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
184 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
124 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#12 of 45 in Dorchester
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbury B&B
Melbury B&B
#17 of 45 in Dorchester
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yeoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yeoman

Property: Royal Yeoman
Address: 9 Dorchester Road, Grimstone, Dorchester DT2 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Grimstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grimstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Yeoman 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yeoman is a roadside bed & breakfast located about 4 miles from Dorchester offering excellent value comfortable accommodation. Rooms are en-suite and free wifi and plentiful parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Yeoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing