We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Yeoman

Royal Yeoman
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Yeoman
Ranked #1 of 1 Grimstone B&B and Inns
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I can honestly say this is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. The room was extremely large & well furnished. Sue & Gary were very pleasant & helpful& provide an excellent breakfast.

Everything about the hotel was well thought out & cared for, even including a recommendation for an excellent local pub (Saxon Arms) for a really nice, home cooked evening meal.

Many Thanks Sue & Gary

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
56
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Royal Yeoman as we were down in the area for a wedding at Athelhampton House. The hosts were fantastic, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were large with great decor and really clean. Breakfast was really good, loads of choice. We ventured to the Saxon Arms whoch was near by and had a great evening meal too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Fantastic hosts, large clean and tidy rooms, great breakfast. Would definatley stay again. A great little find.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just returned from a week staying at the Royal Yeoman and thoroughly enjoyed it. Excellent room overlooking the garden with excellent facilities. Very amiable and helpful hosts. Breakfast first class and enough to see you through the day. Very good pub within walking distance which provides very good evening meals. Perfect base for what we wanted to do. Thanks Sue and Gary for an extremely pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

just had a 3 night stay at this B&B, lovely friendly hosts, bedrooms spacious and a comfy bed. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast plentiful, fruit, yoghurt, cereal AND a full english!
Yes, there was some road noise but after a busy day visiting all the interesting places Dorchester has to offer (Thomas Hardy country to name one) we hardly noticed it!
Also, as its B&B the Saxon Arms down the road in a little village named Stratton provided fabulous food for our evening meal.
Would definitely recommend Royal Yeoman!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scattyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

What a gem, out in the countryside but near enough to coast and Dorchester for visits out and about. Two of the friendliest and accomodating patrons you could wish to meet. The room was first rate very clean with top facilities. We had one of the cheepest rooms and it was large and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel or B & B. Would recomend to all for any type of stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

very clean and modern this is a lovely place to stay the breakfast is fantastic nothing is to much trouble even my request for a broken egg for breakfast !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippalics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimstone
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tudor Cottage Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#5 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yeoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yeoman

Property: Royal Yeoman
Address: 9 Dorchester Road, Grimstone, Dorchester DT2 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Grimstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grimstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Yeoman 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yeoman is a roadside bed & breakfast located about 4 miles from Dorchester offering excellent value comfortable accommodation. Rooms are en-suite and free wifi and plentiful parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Yeoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing