We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
222
56
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
222
56
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace and quiet swimming pool half board the hotel offers nice pool recommend this hotel sea view enjoyable stay lovely beach clean beach clear water south crete hotel beach small children shallow end greek cuisine coarse sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 288 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We wanted an entirely relaxing few days, and Porto Belissario fitted the bill just perfectly. From the welcoming and permanently cheerful staff (Dimitra and Theodora stand out in the memory but everyone was charming) to the spaciously laid-out grounds and delightful terrace for breakfast, this is a great choice if - as we did - you want peace and quiet, rest and relaxation.

The pool is huge - and as a previous reviewer has said, looks like a David Hockney painting! It has no shallow end though - and maybe this is the reason there were no families with small chidren there during our stay, which suited us very well. And the beach - at the bottom of 70 stairs which are actually surprisingly easy to navigate and to acsend - is just fabulous. Coarse sand, and excellent for swimming - no beach beds or umbrellas though, which didn't matter to me in the least as I only went down there to swim.

We had two small niggles while we were there - a curtain came off its hooks and we couldn't get the shower bracket to stay in place. But within minutes - literally minutes - of letting Dimitra know, she had them fixed. Any hotel can have small problems like that - only a truly efficient one with excellent customer care can deal with them as fast.

Our only negative was that we didn't find the evening meal at all to our taste - but we remedied that by going into the little village and eating at a taverna there each evening. The breakfasts, on the other hand, were fine and the coffee was good. In all this was a really enjoyable stay and if we're ever in the vicinity again, we would absolutely go back and stay at the Porto Belissario

Room tip: We had a Superior Room - 223 - which gave us peace and quite and a view of the pool and the sea.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

It was an excellent relaxing one-week holiday in South Crete, Ferma. The hotel itself is a hotel established by a Greek family and you can feel it everywhere, the staff is very kind, all needs are fulfilled. Rooms and hotel are beautiful with a staircase leading to the small private beach that never becomes overcrowded. Breakfasts and dinners offered buffet with every evening changing offer of choice. And thanks to the chefs and the operations manager Dimitra Sioubara also our special dietary requirements (lactose-free + gluten-free) were fulfilled. It was outstanding - getting lactose-free cheese for the breakfast, soy milk and also special gluten-free bread or gluten-free pasta for the dinner. And moreover all the meals were really delicious - souvlaki, meat, fish, greek potatoes with olives and a lot of others. The friendly staff always answered every question and was really helpful. We recommend this hotel especially for couples and will definitely come back to hotel Porto Belissario.

Room tip: Rooms with a sea view are adorable.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SophieMadridista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We were there in the beginning of June 2018 - We simply LOVED this place. It was like having a second family and everyone was simply lovely. The staff took care of our special food needs and served the most delicious dishes. We were 3 families there and they made sure we were all close to each other. Amazing staff and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Crete. Dimitra was even incredibly helpful up to our trip there and supplied us with bus tables and helpful tips to reach the hotel. They also have their own beautiful and very clean beach, where we spent our mornings. Top hotel!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ilham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights during August.

The rooms have a spatious modern design, and they were extra clean.

Our room had a sea view, so from our balcony we could see the sunrise in the morning, or the moonrise in the afternoon, while we were laying in the sun-beds, privately.

The breakfast was also great with all the usual egg combinations, yoghurt, fruits, and cereals along with coffee, while you could eat it in the outside balcony enjoying the sea view.

The hotel offers a nice parking, and WiFi.

The staff was very friendly and willing to help us for any inquiry.

Definitely we would stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ilias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We spent one week there and were quite satisfied. Nice hotel with swimming pool overlooking the sea. In fact private sandy beach framed by rocks with clear water.Descent to beach is not easy (66 steps) but definitely worthwile. Buffet breakfasts and dinners - Greece cuisine, quite tasty, plenty options. Possibility to get light lunch as well, very good options too. On the top of that very friendly and competent staff. Cleaning every day, speedy service, reasonable prices. Nothing was a problem.
Ferma is a quite village, so not for those who are looking for excitement and fun, but ideal for relaxed and romantic stay. Normally we used to go to different place every year. But in this case we will have problem not to come again next year.
We thank the management a staff of Porto Belisario for perfect holiday.

Stravili jsem v Porto Belissario tyden a byli jsem absolutne spokojeni. Meli jsem prostorny pokoj v prizemi s vyhledem na bazen a more. U bazenu dostatek lehatek. Sestup na plaz (66 schodu) neni snadny pro deti a seniory, ale urcite stoji za to. V podstate privatni pisecna plaz s cistou vodou, oramovana skalami, u nichz lze snorchlovat a pozorovat ryby. Na plazi nejsou slunecniky, ale neni nikdy preplnena a poskytuje soukromi.
Stravovani - polopeneze formu ranniho a vecerniho bufetu vyborna. Dominovala tradicni recka kuchyne, velky vyber, ryby, spousta zeleniny a ovoce, vyborne dezerty, kazdy den jine menu. V poledne si lze dat v restauraci lehky obed, opet velky vyber za prijatelne ceny (3-7 Euro).
Perfektni personal, pocinaje kazdodennim uklidem, pres rychly servis v restauraci a ochotu resit s usmevem jakykoli problem.
Ferma je mala vesnice s jedinym obchodem a par malymi tavernami, takze ne pro ty, co hledaji zabavu a chteji si uzit nocni zivot. Ale za tim si lze dojet do 15 km vzdalene Iarapetry. Idealni pro ty, co hledaji klidnou a romantickou dovolenou.
Na zaver chceme podekovat managementu a personalu hotelu Porto Belissario za perfektni dovolenou.

Robert a Slavka

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rfremr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews