We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secluded Little Getaway in the Spanish Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda la Laguna
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A quiet & cosy little retreat, with a fantastic restaurant & spa set in the Spanish mountains. Great for country walk through the olive groves with a very secluded lake close by. Very clean & modern rooms/facilities with a very friendly service. English language very good.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

tHIS HOTLE IS SITUATED IN THE MIDDLE OF VAST OLIVE GROVES DIFFICULT TO FIND BUT WELL WOTH IT.
5KMS OUT OF BAEZA TOWARDS JUAN THE ROOMS ARE VERY GOOD PLENTY OF PARKING. Hotel has a large out door pool and a spa facility.The retaurant is brilliant with varied menu to a regional flavour-portions are large but cooked superbly,value was excellant.Owned by the Olive firm they also sell olve oil products not just cooking items creams,shampoos, body washes all top grade. It's off the normal route to the Costa Del Sol but worth a couple of days stay to unwind before the coast.

Room Tip: Rooks all in quadrangle some at the rear are two stories but no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and we can`t wait for our next visit. We stayed in one of the superior rooms and we were delighted. The breakfast is buffet and the first time we came last time it was just Spanish themed but this time there was bacon and scrambled eggs as well. The main resaurant is a delight, the service is superb and the food is very good and prices average. The hotel has an olive oil museum in the grounds which we found very intresting. The hotel have changed their toiletries to olive oil based ones and there was towelling robes in the room as well. The spa is very good and well run, the laguna is 1.5km away and is a lovely easy walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in 129 which is a superior room, we have seen the normal rooms and they are fine but for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsGranadaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hacienda La Laguna is clean, quiet and reasonably priced but it was not what we were seeking, or had expected from our investigations beforehand (including reading the reviews and both this and other sites).

We had decided to book a place out of town as a bit of a get-away, but this wasn't really somewhere you could sit around all day and relax. Essentially, it was a bit like a North American or Australian motel, with the standard rooms opening directly onto a large internal courtyard and the 'deluxe' rooms off a narrow internal corridor. The rooms were quite compact and there also wasn't really anywhere else on-site to sit around apart from the pool area. We had planned to spend a few nights here but moved on to somewhere else after one night.

We booked a double/twin 'deluxe' room in advance, and specifically requested a double bed, This was not commented upon in a subsequent email exchange, but once we had checked in we were told none were available, so ended up with twin beds. We could lived with that, but I didn't like the apparent deception as (from the fire plan, at least) all rooms seemed to have twin beds. As far as we could tell there was also no one else in any other deluxe room on that night.

That said, the 'deluxe' room was clean and modern, but it was also quite small and dark. Some effort seemed to have been put into the decor but it had only one small window and that faced onto a small internal courtyard. For some reason we were also given the room that overlooked the stairs onto the roof, and there was a fair bit of traffic up and down those stairs while we were there (I think because the lift was being fixed) so we didn't have much privacy when the blind was raised ... but then it was dark when the blind was down! I suggest that if you are seeking that sort of place then the standard rooms are probably sufficient even though they are older and a little more basic (although they seemed to have only one small window in each room as well).

On the positive side, the continental breakfast was a basic 'serve yourself' but there was plenty to eat and it was of reasonable quality (and was included in our rate). You definitely need a car (or taxi) to get there but it was not difficult to find from the map that was emailed to me. We didn't try the restaurant as we had been driving all day and still had some of our 'picnic' with us, so we stayed in our room and searched for a better hotel for the following nights.

The pool looked nice from the photos but it was actually in a large open area that was some distance from the rooms ... out of the front door of the hotel, along the road and across a carpark. It wasn't an especially inviting setting to laze around in, and seemed a bit 'neglected'. It looked like there used to be a bar next to the pool but that was all closed up while were there, and didn't appeared to have been used for a some time. In fact there was a bit of a sense that the whole place (including the museum and catering school) had been developed a fe years ago but wasn't attracting very many customers anymore and so was gradually cutting back on its costs. We were there in mid-September but there were apparently no more than 5 or 6 other rooms occupied, and all but us were in the standard rooms.

A couple of odd things: there was a strange smell in the corridor of 'deluxe' rooms (perhaps from the spa underneath) and also the power and water went out in the middle of the night and did not return until about 6.30am. Perhaps it was a one-off, but it made a late-night toilet stop a little tricky!

In summary, if you have done your research in advance and are happy to stay in this sort of place and location then it might suit your needs as well as some of the other reviews suggest. However, I suggest going with the cheaper standard rooms and just use it as a base for staying overnight.

Room Tip: Stick with the standard rooms, and expect twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ex-sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed for one night and were very impressed. Check-in was efficient and we liked the attractive inner-courtyard. All rooms in the older part of the hotel open onto this. Our standard room was simple but very clean and everything worked well - the airconditioning was particularly important to us - the beds were fine and so was the bathroom and the fridge containing complimentary soft drinks was a real bonus. The building itself is very attractive and can be found down a small road at the side of the La Laguna olive oil factory set in a sea or olive trees. It has its own lake with a lakeside walk about 2KMs from the hotel. There is a big car park and it seemed likely that they get tour groups sometimes, though not whilst we were there. We arrived in a heatwave (41C) and were delighted to find that the huge swimming pool and welcome poolside bar. It was very busy as it also serves as the local public pool in the afternoons - but what a treat next morning to find that it opened for hotel guests only and we had it all to ourselves! However, the best bit of our stay was dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was excellent and beautifully served by a young waiter (perhaps a student at the neighboring hotel school?) and accompanied by very well-priced wines. We were incredibly impressed by what we got for the money we paid. A great stop-over or a good base for visiting Jaen, Baeza and Ubeda.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

A hacienda style hotel, consisting out of 15 ground-floor rooms surrounding a typical Andalusian patio. Hotel is situated a few kilometers out of Baeza in a village called Puente del Obispo. Car required. Large (bath)rooms. Very friendly and helpfull staff. A place to relax. Nice, also recommend restaurant, but with a limited menu. Hacienda has a large open-air swimming pool which is also accessible for locals and/or other tourists. Entrance for hotel guests is free. Price for a double room: 80 €/night. Extra bed: 16 €/night. Parking for free. Probably the best hotel we stayed in during our holidays in Andalusia.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank be_watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jose25400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puente del Obispo
0.0 mi away
Balneario San Andres
Balneario San Andres
#1 of 1 in Canena
102 reviews
4.7 mi away
TRH BAEZA
TRH BAEZA
#2 of 8 in Baeza
400 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Rosaleda de Don Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda la Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda la Laguna

Address: Puente del Obispo, 23529 Puente del Obispo, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Puente del Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puente del Obispo
Price Range: $57 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda la Laguna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hacienda la Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing