We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!”
Review of Cantueso Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cantueso Cottages
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice cottages, fine pool, great food, beautiful surrounding: Feels like heaven, just perfect!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulenka6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at Cantueso in June 2012. Together with my girlfriend and our 15-months old son we had a great holiday.
The cottages are very clean and provide enough room. We had a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms (one on the ground floor and one on the second floor) and a bathroom with toilet (also on the second floor). There was a nice, big terrace with a fence around it, making it an excellent place for our son to play. The terrace even included a bbq.
Cantueso provides us with all the things that we needed for our son, including toys, child seat, child bed, hand blender, a rug to play on, etc.
The weather was very nice, around 30 degrees celsius. The nice and clean pool provided some cool down for us. The pool was surrounded by a fence and self-closing gates, making the Cantueso property a very child friendly place.
Furthermore Cantueso is located on a beautiful place with an extraordaniry view on the lake.
When you stay at Cantueso, a (rental) car is an absolut must-have. It is located in the mountains and all the cities, beaches are not close-by. Periana is the nearest town, and even this place is not easy to reach without car, as you have to go up and down the hills. Especially when you have a child and buggy with you.
I would recommend Cantueso to other people that want to have a quiet holiday, with the possibility to visit places (Granada/Alhambra, Cordoba, Nerja, Malaga, Sevilla, etc) and beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the pool/lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Very nice cottage, beautifully located, with all the mod cons you can expect from a holiday cottage. Very nice Andalusian style, both inside and out. Small windows with wooden shutters. On the whole the cottages are designed to keep the heat out, which is no doubt an advantage in the summer heat, but it tends to get pretty cold in the evening and at night in February / March. After all, Cantueso is at a 600-meter altitude. The wood burning fireplace (nice!) and using the air-conditioner as a heater helped. However, firewood and extended use of the airco are extras!

Surroundings are great, good for hikes. Picturesque villages in the neighbourhood. The olive oil factory in Periana is well worth a visit, if only to buy some of their excellent "aceite". Make sure to take a walk on the former railway track from nearby Ventas de Zefarraya, great views!

If you want to visit the cultural highlights of Andalusia (Granada, Seville, Cordobá etc.) you will have to drive quite a distance of narrow mountain roads with plenty of hairpin bends before reaching the motorway. The local roads are all right, but the A-7204 to Periana was definitely not designed for speeding, so take your time when planning a day trip!

And here's an advice for satnav-users. On the Cantueso-website there are excellent route instructions including YouTube-movies telling you how to drive. Make sure to study these before you visit for the 1st time. On reaching the direct neighbourhood of Periana our satnav kept on insisting that we take all kinds of byways, some hardly better than cattle-tracks. (Lucky for us, we followed the Cantueso website instructions rather than our satnav and did NOT end up in the middle of the olive trees... Or we've got a lousy satnav, that's another possibility)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frits_Mostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Very nice location in the mountains near Periana. Located at a hill with so much to see. Even the childs liked the 'casa rurale'. With a swimming pool filled with water in the winter. We couldn't swim, but playing in the pool was possible with very cold feet... It still was fun. Nice weather, 7 days of sun. The beach is about 35 minutes away at Torre del Mar and Alhambra is about 1 and a half hours away, its really worth a visit!
The restauant has nice food, we have enjoyed it a lot

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markjdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in 'Cantueso Cottages' in december 2011. We were the only costumers so it was very quiet en relaxing at Cantueso. The weather was alright: sunny, 18°, cold winds at times.
We made some great hikes with the information we were given. Fantastic panoramic views!
The cottage had every comfort we needed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

If peace and tranquillity fits your needs then head for Cantueso in Periana.
Delightful rural cottages away from it all, perched high on a hillside. One can forget for a while what century your in.
Open your door to breathtaking views over Lake Vinuela.
A warm welcome from Nicky and her team awaited us. Also well stocked fridge on arrival. Lunch and dinner were occasions to look forward to at the excellent resturant.
The only trouble with Cantueso was our stay was not long enough.
Dave & Jill
UK

Room Tip: No bad roms all close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our sixth stay at Cantueso, and once again it was superb. We have stayed in four of the cottages, but this stay was our second time in the apartment on the first-floor in the main building. We've always loved it there, as the setting and the views are fantastic, and everyone is so friendly, but the whole complex gets better every time!
Nicky and her team work tirelessly to maintain the highest standards. The food is really good with Carmen still working her magic in the kitchen, the staff are delightful, and it's very good value. The set-price lunch menu is particularly recommended.
A lot of work is going into upgrading the properties, with air-conditioning, new individually fenced patios with barbeques for the cottages, a well-fenced and good-sized pool which is kept immaculate, and well-maintained grounds. A delight to stay there, and also very child-friendly.
A high proportion of repeat visitors to the cottages, and a lot of local ex-pats use the restaurant regularly, which is always the sign of a well-run business.
Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cantueso Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantueso Cottages

Address: Camino Estacion s/n | Finca Cantueso, 29710 Periana, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Periana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Periana
Price Range: $78 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic surroundings with 360 degree lake and mountain views. Secure 12 X 6m pool, games room, swing park, mini golf and ball games area. All cottages (one and two bedrooms) are air-conditioned and have English and Spanish TV. Special facilities for small children, with lots of items provided to allow you to travel without excess bagage. (High chairs, cots, sterilisers, toys, books, baby baths etc). Ideal walking country and we can supply detailed routes for local walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cantueso Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing