We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem by the sea”
Review of La cueva de Los Abrigos - CLOSED

La cueva de Los Abrigos
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem by the sea”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were treated to dinner just around the corner from our apartment in Los Abrigos by family who wanted to say thanks for having them here. What a wonderful place, the staff were very attentive, the food was fabulous and we even discovered the cave under the main dining area where we are now planning our next birthday party.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiFreediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bennekom, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just very good”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Passed by by accident, but the menu looked interesting, and we were never disappoined. Very good, very good service, and very nice atmosphere.
This restaurant deserves to be ranked amongst the best in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at la cueva a couple of hours ago. The food was beautiful and the two ladies who served us were really happy and friendly and very accommodating of our 5 month old daughter.
We had prawn and courgette pasta in a white wine sauce and a pizza with pesto and chicken.
The pasta sauce was full of flavour and the pasta and prawns were cooked to perfection.
Our pizza was also well cooked and a good size.
It was the best meal we have eaten since arriving in Tenerife over a week ago and we'll definitely be revisiting before we leave.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem of a resturant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Came over this place completely by accident earlier in the day and booked dinner for the evening whilst we were there. In the afternoon we had a cold beer in the "Cave" which is formed by volcanic gasses trapped in molten lava. This review is focused on the excellence of the service and the food. As I mentioned we booked in person so was presently surprised to see our table set up in what I would say was the best location in the house....overlooking the sea and volcanic beach 20m below. We chose Stuffed Mushrooms for my partner and Mussels for myself...followed by Salmon stuffed with Crab meat in a Thermidor sauce and I chose the Duck in a blackcurrant and whiskey sauce. The food was just absolutely beautiful... fantastically created dishes cooked exquisitely and presented beautifully. The service was excellent without being fussy. The team (Irish Chef and Scottish Server) have created something really lovely here. There were 15 people eating in the restaurant on the evening we dined so the atmosphere was very pleasant. It would obviously be different if we had been the only people in. From the reviews I've seen the only thing this place needs is more clients on the 6 days that they are open (closed Sundays). They thoroughly deserve this place to be a raging success.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaeljohnlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were delighted we tried this restaurant and it was the only place we ate twice on our week in Tenerife. It is small but the food was excellent both times. Ok you can get 2 courses for 8 or 9 euros some places, but you get what you pay for. Here you will get good quality food for much less than you would pay at home. It's quite small so would be wise to book at busy times of the year. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoiraNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La cueva de Los Abrigos also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing