We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but dull”
Review of Restaurante Placeres - CLOSED

Restaurante Placeres
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good enough but dull”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Reading reviews here before we went made us believe that this was going to be a first class dining experience. The location is pretty and the restaurant itself is nice enough, considering the surrounding properties but not really to our taste. All blues and greys,a bit cold.
The staff wrer friendly enough and while the food was tasty it certainly wasn't first class and to suggest that this is Michelin star quality, as others have done, is just plain rubbish.
We enjoyed our evening but didn't get what we expected, so in hindsight it was an average night out.
Like everything in life you get what you pay for and this place is no exception, we paid an average amount and got an average meal. As you would expect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    23
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our first visit to Tenerife, however our friends visit Golf Del Sur every November. After reading previous reviews for the restaurants in Los Abrigos we booked a table at Placeres, what a find. This is an excellent restaurant which offers quality dining in a beautiful setting. The decor is pristine with a delightful gentleman providing the background music. Service is second to none, as is the food presentation. Every course was cooked to perfection, special mention for the fish dishes as all were delicious. Bill for four was 177 euro and worth every cent, give Pablo a call and reserve a table, you will not be disapointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank slowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golf del Sur, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“without fault ......”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

another trip to the island, another visit (well many visits) to Restaurante Placeres, all without fault, not once did we eat off the menu (always happy to be a guineapig there) and if there is ever a comment/slight criticism on one particular dish, the dish is adjusted the next time we have it ..... a sign of a serious chef, willing to listen.
I have put on a couple of lunch dishes and yes, they taste as good as they look !
Well done to Pablo, Anna, Cristian and all the other staff for becoming 1# on TA, keep it up !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvf906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better and Better”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have reviewed this Restraunt before rating it as excellent, and I did not think it could get any better but it has. I recently had the tasting menu and it is excellent value for money,an appropriate wine is provided with each course, the food is delicious , and second to none,service is wonderful. I cannot rate this restraunt highly enough. There is only one Michelin starred Restraunt on Tenerife and this ought to be the second.Keep up the good work Pablo and Anna.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phillip060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Much more than just the food.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

There are so many good restaurants to try on the island that we rarely go back a second time even if a restaurant is excellent. However I broke this rule last night and returned to Los Abrigos, a well-known destination for quality restaurants in the south of Tenerife. OH and I were celebrating a special occasion a 70th birthday and felt that we had to return to Placeres even though it was less than 3 weeks since our first visit.

In ‘fine dining’ I look for good value, obviously, but also a hint of what makes it special and in the case of Placeres it is the owner Pablo and the Manager Anna. It goes without saying that we would not have returned if the food had been anything other than perfect.

The menu has a relatively limited but inspired selection of dishes that suit those who like quality without foodie pretensions. While we waited for our starters of pate and king prawns we were presented with a bowl of breads and bread sticks filling and more-ish, this set the scene for the rest of the meal. Our mains were superb, I had the pork OH the entrecote, as it was an occasion we also had pudding, OH the apple tart with custard and cream, I chose the Tiramisu that had lashings of local honey.

To accompany our delightful meal music was supplied by Joel David a talented and polished performer who had obviously chosen his selection of magical background music with as much care as each ingredient on the menu.

Like the previous occasion the food was outstanding, the service superb and the ambiance comfortable and welcoming - not suffocating as you often find in some of these ‘fancy’ establishments.

An evening here is reasonably priced, the bill for this more than satisfying meal was €73 plus optional tip. This is a place that is already attracting a wide-ranging following so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Aguilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Placeres also viewed

 
Los Abrigos, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing