We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mt Hutt Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Motor Lodge(Ashburton)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Darfield Motel(Darfield)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Methven Motels & Apartments(Methven)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ashburton(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coronation Park(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taylors Motel(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
24
15
1
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmt huttgreat viewgreat foodthe kitchenenjoyed our staysteakgreat place to stayon site restaurantmountainshospitalityweekviewsmethvenriverfishingdrivewalks
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 45 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We absolutely adored Mt. Hutt Lodge, especially after our last hostel experience. The apartment was spacious, bright, quiet and well equipped. We fixed most of our meals during the week in the especially well-equipped kitchen. There was a welcome party in the bar/restaurant soon after we arrived and we received a lot of good information about the property and the area. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming! We can't use anything but superlatives when describing this property and our experience there. They even had a place where we could wash our car (free!). The nearby hiking trails and sights were spectacular. We even drove up to the Mr. Hutt ski area which still had snow!!! We also drove to Arthur's Pass and hiked to the Devil's Punchbowl waterfall. What a great week!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

MT Hutt Lodge is located at base of MT Hutt.

Jo & Butch are worth a million $$ as managers of this great property

Views_Outstanding

Meals_Outstanding

Lodging_Outstanding

Just go!

Lots of local activities. Skiing is a reason, but the lodging, management, and units are fantastic.

We hifhly recommend!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Seven of us shared two rooms for a week. The lodge is located just an hours drive from the Christchurch Airport and is positioned to provide a clear views of the Rakaia Gorge from all rooms. We were there during their summer months but would love to see this area in the winter and take advantage of the close proximity to Mt. Hutt ski area. While it has been pointed out in other reviews here that the lodge is older, we found it to be well maintained. This is a family run lodge and the hosts Butch and Jo are well suited to operate the lodge. Their hospitality exceeded our collective expectations. Yes we too found the dinners on the pricey side but the quality was first rate. Butch is an excellent chef and Tom was a very attentive waiter. All rooms have well equipped kitchens and a BBQ, so there is always the option of preparing your own meals. The free laundry room was a plus too.There are good hiking trails, fishing and jet boating within walking distance or just relax and take in the amazing views. We found the lodge to be a good value for the area. During winter months you can Heli Ski from the Lodge too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Travelers enticed by the location of this resort should stay away to avoid getting their holidays spoilt. We stayed there during a longer New Zealand vacation and found this to be the spoilsport in an otherwise fantastic vacation.
While the location and scenary is no doubt stunning, it is the unprofessional behavior of the hosts that put us off. There were inexplicable charges put on our card after we had left the place. For visitors coming from outside countries, it is rather inconvenient to contend for these once you have left.
The unit and amenities are okay. With the kind of charges here, there are definitely better options available in the beautiful South Island

Room Tip: Avoid most rooms here
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jashnzindagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of a 4 week NZ cycling trip. The room, food, view and hospitality were fantastic and we had a lovely stay. Our only complaint was that the food was a little expensive, but it was very good.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea_by_Bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews