We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic_Butch & Jo_Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt Hutt Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Hutt Lodge
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,447 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,756 helpful votes
“Fantastic_Butch & Jo_Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

MT Hutt Lodge is located at base of MT Hutt.

Jo & Butch are worth a million $$ as managers of this great property

Views_Outstanding

Meals_Outstanding

Lodging_Outstanding

Just go!

Lots of local activities. Skiing is a reason, but the lodging, management, and units are fantastic.

We hifhly recommend!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF, California
Level Contributor
1,577 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Seven of us shared two rooms for a week. The lodge is located just an hours drive from the Christchurch Airport and is positioned to provide a clear views of the Rakaia Gorge from all rooms. We were there during their summer months but would love to see this area in the winter and take advantage of the close proximity to Mt. Hutt ski area. While it has been pointed out in other reviews here that the lodge is older, we found it to be well maintained. This is a family run lodge and the hosts Butch and Jo are well suited to operate the lodge. Their hospitality exceeded our collective expectations. Yes we too found the dinners on the pricey side but the quality was first rate. Butch is an excellent chef and Tom was a very attentive waiter. All rooms have well equipped kitchens and a BBQ, so there is always the option of preparing your own meals. The free laundry room was a plus too.There are good hiking trails, fishing and jet boating within walking distance or just relax and take in the amazing views. We found the lodge to be a good value for the area. During winter months you can Heli Ski from the Lodge too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Travelers enticed by the location of this resort should stay away to avoid getting their holidays spoilt. We stayed there during a longer New Zealand vacation and found this to be the spoilsport in an otherwise fantastic vacation.
While the location and scenary is no doubt stunning, it is the unprofessional behavior of the hosts that put us off. There were inexplicable charges put on our card after we had left the place. For visitors coming from outside countries, it is rather inconvenient to contend for these once you have left.
The unit and amenities are okay. With the kind of charges here, there are definitely better options available in the beautiful South Island

Room Tip: Avoid most rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jashnzindagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of a 4 week NZ cycling trip. The room, food, view and hospitality were fantastic and we had a lovely stay. Our only complaint was that the food was a little expensive, but it was very good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_by_Bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed one night at Mt Hutt Lodge in the Rakaia gorge.
Our hosts, Butch and Jo, were lovely, warm people. We had a lovely dinner with them, prepared to perfection, and then we spent several hours chatting to them and other guests after dinner.
Or room was comfortable and we had a good sleep.
The natural beauty of the area, and the views from the lodge, are also spectacular.
If you can look past the obvious age of the lodge, then I heartily recommend the Mt Hutt lodge. If, on the other hand, you want the latest and newest, then perhaps this lodge is not for you.
For us, the fact that everything worked and was clean, together with the natural beauty of the environment, were much more important than the age of the buildings, and we would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked a "studio motel" expecting basic cooking facilities of microwave and hotplate, but only toaster and jug is supplied. The website is not explicit in this respect. On expressing concern, Butch was adamant that "motels don't have cooking facilities", something I disagree with in the NZ situation.
He offered an "upgrade" to a kitchen unit (at extra cost) which we took. Built around the early 1970's, unit 5 is badly in need of renovation. Heating is barely adequate even for October.

Room Tip: Avoid Unit 5 - ask for one of the newer units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently visited Mt Hutt Lodge just west of Christchurch.
In terms of the natural beauty of this location, one could ask for no more. The awesome views of the gorge, river and hills, the snow capped peaks in the background, were spectacular.
May I say too that the hosts, Jo and Butch were lovely, warm people to be around.
The room was fully equipped to everything on needed, warm and relaxing.
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakaia
1.4 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
8.3 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
7.9 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 11 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quickenberry Guesthouse
Quickenberry Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
12.6 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 11 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
14.3 mi away
Staveley Heights Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Hutt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Hutt Lodge

Property: Mt Hutt Lodge
Address: Zig Zag Road | Rakaia Gorge, Rakaia 7782, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rakaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rakaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Hutt Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Hutt Lodge is a tranquil resort located an hour from Christchurch in the town of Rakaia on New Zealand's South Island. The Classic Managed Resort features 4 fully self-contained 1 bedroom apartments with spa baths in each room, as well as resort facilities including children's play equipment, swimming pool and on-site restaurant and bar A View, overlooking Rakaia's stunning scenery. Opportunely positioned close to the inland tourist highway, this Rakaia accommodation has easy access to a range of South Island holiday treats, including skiing at Mount Hutt, jet boating, and salmon or trout fishing in the bountiful lakes and streams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mt Hutt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing