We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went from a 5 star to a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went from a 5 star to a 3 star”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my partner, and my 12 and 14 year old, have just returned from a two week stay and to everyone that's asked if I've had a nice holiday, my reply has been, "yes, but I wouldn't go back".
At the beginning of the holiday (14th June) it was beautiful and I thought all the comments I had read on here were very petty. The hotel was gorgeous and immaculate, the cleaners worked all day, every day, and I even watched a cleaner cleaning all the chandeliers in the reception by hand! The food was very tasty, they're was a lot of choice and the service was great ( apart from two staff in the theatre bar that were quite miserable)
I had a few little moans which I wouldn't have mentioned if things didn't get worse throughout the holiday, such as, the "double bed" was two single beds pushed together ( not what you expect from a five star hotel) the beach bar was more like 2 star with its cheap white plastic garden chairs, and tin cafe tables, and the place where the entertainment took place on a night was very tatty and basic and definitely NOT five star entertainment. The beach bar and the entertainment place didn't bother us that much, we just stayed by the pool. The pool bar was fantastic, with two lovely friendly women that worked there.
However, by the beginning of the second week, the hotel began to get really busy. Because of this, I think, the hotel quickly went from a 5 star to a 3 star for the following reasons.... You had to be up at 6am to get a sun bed (people were bathing on towels on the stone floor and a couple even stole my bed whilst i was in the pool) the food was Luke warm and became very repetitive, and as staff were very busy, their service deteriorated.
The pool also became quite grubby, with what looked like sick floating on the top of it ( this may have been a build up of people's suntan oils, but looked like sick and wasn't attractive at all) and I also found a dirty plaster and a nicotine patch in it.
My daughter also left her mobile in the reseraunt and every day she asked if it had been handed in but it hadn't, we called it every day and it was turned off, however, the EXACT day (early hours of the morning) we left the hotel to return home, we rang it and it rang with an "abroad" ring tone and then someone hung up. Seemed strange that who ever had it didn't switch it on until the day we left. Maybe I'm just being paranoid.....
All these complaints are small and didn't ruin our holiday, however, it was annoying that we spent so much money on what was supposed to be a 4/5 star hotel, but there was so many points that were 3 star, sometimes even 2 star.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecivika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    769
    317
    130
    81
See reviews for
1,223
678
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived at the mitsis road hotel . We went to reception to book in . To be told by Stavros you will not like your room ! What ! We said ! He said if you want a better room come back at 11 am to reception tomorrow morning and we will give you a better one . OK we thought we will have a look " a porter took us to the far reaches of the entrance in his car . And said here . When we walked into the room we thought oh my god ! It looked like a nice prison cell .so we went back to reception to complain that we had spent a lot of money on this holiday . And up graded to a superior room and to be given this room looking like a cell.but we still had to wait til next morning . And we were given the room we should have been given . It was a lovely room . But found out later that night aircon blew hot and would not cool down.what next we thought ? The TV turned its self on every hour . Next morning we complained and air on was fixed.we were there for one week and the reception staff and some of the waiter staff treated us terribly. This is the first time after loads of holidays to the Greek islands that we have ever been treated so badly. The resort was beautiful! Just the reception staff and lack of welcoming let it all down ." We won't be back!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Another great holiday at the Roda Beach booked via Hotels4u.com. I would definitely recommend a transfer via taxi which takes 45 minutes provided by Roda Taxi's and at a cost of 50 Euros . Its well worth it as the coach can take upto 2 hours .
Our rooms were massive with a separation around the family pool area, the hotel in general is the cleanest i have seen by far. All staff are friendly ,management are always wondering around and are very approachable. Food is superb , the property has defintiely upped their game since we were here last in 2011, yes the main buffet restaurant is massive and can get a bit much at times but when we were there this month so were another 1500 guests so the staff manage it best they can. You get seated upon arrival which is a nice touch and BTW men can wear smart shorts to the knee , you wont be sent down to the local shop to buy trousers!! we visited all 3 al la carte restaurants on the beach and they were excellent , to be waited upon does make a change. We also ate in the village twice at The Dolphin restaurant, for 20 Euros per person we had a starter , main course and a load of wine - extremely good value for money.
Myself and my partner love this hotel as the scenery is amazing and within walking distance of a typical Greek village that hasnt become over commercialised .
We will be back for a 4th time as this hotel almost feels like our second home .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niksWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A lovely clean hotel, very hard working friendly staff to name a few would be Petros the waiter, Manos & Marius bar staff, Natalia our maid room 536, Mimoza & Georgia waitress. We had a superior sea view room and which was cleaned by Natalia every day we had clean towels and sheets, Natalia did an excellent job. Although we was told our mini bar in our room would be refilled every other day this was not the case and was filled every 3rd day which was a shame as you could really do with a bottle of water first thing in the morning. The greeting we received in the restaurant by Mimoza or Georgia was nice they always had a big smile on their faces and would quickly get you seated, you do have to leave something on your table as we did come back and find other people seated at ours. The food was plentiful and we did not go hungry. The main restaurant when busy is a free for all with everyone buzzing around, we were not impressed by the other European guests as they would push in front of you, try and lean over you with their armpit hair in your dinner! we found them to be very rude especially barking orders at the Greek staff, it does not cost anything to have manors and greet the staff as you would like to be treated yourself. From viewing the guests in the restaurant at dinner time a lot of the guests did not follow the dress code and wore flip flops and shorts and vests etc which was a shame as the dress code stated smart clothes trousers, dresses shoes etc. The Chinese restaurant we liked the best you do have to book these in advance would advise booking on your first day. The Greek restaurant we did not personally like the food and the Italian was okay. We would recommend you take mosquito repellant as we were bitten quite a lot in the evening, also a torch for the beach if walking back from Roda which is 10 minutes away and has some nice places to eat/drink cocktails & shop. We would advise to take shoes you can wear in the water as its not nice walking on pebbles and seaweed. The turtle bay excursion was good with a BBQ and swimming in a cove, you need the shoes for this as its all pebbly and you cannot get into the sea otherwise. The spa do various offers, males be aware of the hydrotherapy water it is very cold! Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Mitsis Roda Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Superior sea view room or one with a pool front, do not want one in the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIHTZUSUSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my third time at the Mitsis hotel in Roda. Since my last visit i now work in the hospitality industry and many things about the hotel and staff pleased me. I really enjoy coming to this property as the staff are lovely and friendly. In particular Aggelios from the Italian restaurant remembered us and made us feel very welcome. His service was excellent and always had a smile on his face.

The food is amazing and the restaurant can get busy depending what time you eat at but you will get this everywhere you go.

The only negative thing about the holiday was that we were in a superior room and the fridge was meant to be topped up regularly but they never seemed to top it up. We had to tell reception on three separate occasions and on the last occasion it never got topped up.

I will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here 8th - 22nd June 2013, fantastic holiday blessed with brilliant weather. OK, let's dispel some myths. It's not 5 star but is excellent value for money. The restaurant can be chaotic, go early or late to the sitting. The restaurant staff work heroically and are not grumpy. No-one cleared our table or sat at our table whilst we were at the buffet. The food choices are limitless, if you think it's limited you are choosing to omit 90% of the choices. Orange juice will run out at times, as will chips, toast, etc. The main hazard is small children, random people wandering around and getting in the way, a smile and a thank you goes a long way.

The sea water pools take some getting used to, we seemed to acclimatize, families loved it. Our european friends have a different take on loungers. I went for a jog at 07.00, the pools and beach were deserted but 50% of the loungers had towels on. There are signs stating that unattended towels would be removed and deposits would not be refunded, this was not enforced. Our section had swimup rooms, people dragged loungers onto their patios, these were hogged for the duration when they were in the restaurant, out on day trips, etc. We had a few run-ins with the Russian contingent who were very 'bling' and oblivious to other's needs.

The drinks were not watered down or 'syrupy', you are not forced to eat toasties, hotdogs or cake all day long, the icecream is fine. The Bar staff appreciate tips and courtsey.

The aircon does function, there are contacts on the balcony doors so the aircon is not pumping out while the doors are open, 20euros for a room safe is reasonable per week, the maid was very friendly and changed the towels daily.

Charging for wifi is poor, there are many bars and restaurants in Roda with free wifi. I would recommend the Pirate Bar in Roda, very friendly welcome and great food, Sky Sports, etc.

Not expecting so many guests to smoke at all outdoor venues including the restaurant terrace or themed restaurants on the beach. Chinese and Greek restaurants were excellent, Italian only soso. Book the themed restaurants three days in advance so no shorts/ trouser policy, there is a clear sign on the staircase to the main restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triplmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Got back from Mitsis Roda Beach yesterday and really missing it as it was fantastic. Great location on the lovely island of Corfu, short walk from Roda Village along the beach. Hotel was lovely, clean, spacious. Pool was fab, beach was fab, food was lovely. The 3 a la carte restaurants were brilliant, right by the beach, so great views day or night. Plenty of bars to choose from, so no queueing. Thoroughly relaxing, although plenty of activities if you want to be more active but we were happy just swimming every day. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karousades
21.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,006 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
9.9 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,289 reviews
16.0 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roda Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roda Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Roda Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Karousades 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Karousades
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karousades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roda Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roda Beach Resort & SPA is a gorgeous all-inclusive hotel located at the northeastern coast of Corfu, a few minutes walk from the village Roda. Spread out in 25 acres of beautiful gardens, it reaches its own sandy beach and the turquoise Ionian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roda Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Roda Beach Hotel Karousades
Mitsis Roda Beach Karousades
Roda Beach Corfu
Roda Beach Hotel Corfu
Roda Beach Resort & Spa Corfu, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing