We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really the feeling of being in a national park”

Agulhas National Park
Attraction details
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
282 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Not really the feeling of being in a national park”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The rest camp in cape Agulhas national park has 8 cabins, all positioned on a row with view on the sea. The cabin we chose had a deck, comfortable bedroom, kitchen with all you need and a shower. The rest camp is at the end of a small village, and honestly we didn't have the feeling to be in a national park, we saw people walking with dogs, you're looking from your deck on to people fishing at the shore.. a bit strange.. bare in mind that you've got to bring all your food with you, as no shop at the reception (and no info either, we wanted to ask something about the walking trails, and although we saw people moving inside, the office was closed .. at 3pm ..) so.. for us, ok for 1 night , but no special feeling at all...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The SAN Parks rest camp in Agulhas National Park is a real treat for those who wish to get away from it all. The rest camp is surrounded by beach shrubs/fynbos. It is wonderfully serene and the sights and smells are beautiful -- the sound of the thundering ocean at night when you're in bed is a real treat! The wooden cottage we stayed in (double) had a large bed, cozy fireplace, and a Weber for braaing (BBQ'ing) on the deck with a view of the ocean.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kissaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Where Two Oceans meet”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stopped off at Cape Agulhas on our road trip up the Garden Route from Cape Town to Knysna and it was really great. There's not lots going on in the sleeping town, so I wouldn't spend too much time there, but well worth seeing.

We went horse riding along the beach which was really great - nothing to see but miles and miles of sand and surf. Ask around the town - there's only really one stable in town! The lighthouse also makes for some really lovely photos.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
Thank Dassie473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most Southern Tip Of Africa”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Always a fantastic tour to conduct to the beautiful Southern Tip of Africa and where the two oceans meet. I conduct day tours to Cape Agulhas for the past five years and this has always been one of the best tours in the Western Cape. A must see

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cathystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
825 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“The most southerly tip of Africa where the Atlantic and Indian Oceans meet”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We were staying in Hermanus and decided to make the two hour trip to Cape Agulhas...we were not disappointed. Cape Agulhas is relatively unspoilt and does not have many tourists. It really is the most southerly point in Africa and for that reason alone is worth a visit. However there is much more as it is a really delightful walk from th town/village and a trip ip the lighthouse is also worthwhile

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agulhas National Park also viewed

Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
Cape Agulhas, Overberg District
 

Been to Agulhas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing