We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun accommodation, peaceful location”
Review of Old Mac Daddy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Mac Daddy
Ranked #23 of 273 Overberg District B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the Love Cake unit decorated by the ladies from Charley's Bakery - a fun evening with lots of little touches in the aluminium airstream caravan. The restaurant was a welcome addition (you are in the middle of farm country) and seeing the Milky Way at night 1 hour from Cape Town was amazing.

Room Tip: The toilets in the caravans are tight. There were units where the caravan was only for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 716 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I decided to take my family to lunch and was looking for a farmhouse feel which catered for young kids, I have 2 young girls aged 3 and 6. WOW! Firstly the place: the views are incredible - being off the beaten track in the Elgin Valley Grabouw made me feel relaxed like I was on holiday. Its open and spacious and yet charming and has walks and bikes to hire if you want. The service was so friendly, I really thought our waitress must enjoy working there. The food, Im not sure of all the menus but it was a public holiday and we had lunch - the menu was limited, mostly pizza but there were a few other items to choose from ie hamburgers, wraps, toasted sandwiches. My girls share an Hawian pizza, my husband had a California and I had a beef wrap. All our food was superb and reasonably priced and I must say that my Creme Brulee was the best I have EVER tasted. The best part was the kids room.. below the restuarant was the kids room, it has dvds, books, table tennis, colouring books, puzzles plus a lady who stayed in there to look after the kids.. She seemed to have a wonderful way with the kids. I felt very comfortable leaving my kids there whilst the adults ate upstairs. The children could find there way there and back without help leaving mom and dad to sit, relax and enjoy the views.
I am going to make a poin of going there again - kids have already asked if they can go back. I truly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hubby & I spent 1 night this week in this oh so unusual accommodation. Up in the hills of Grabouw, in an old fashioned American trailer with the lovely bathroom and lounge add-ons. Enviromentally friendly in every way that it could be. There is a great kids play area, tv room, swimming pool....everyone's tastes regarding relaxation taken care of. All the staff is so friendly. Had one of the best pizza's ever for dinner, whilst the cosy fire was burning in the dining room. The ONLY thing I could suggest would be a light behind or by the bed for reading before going to sleep. Definitely recommend a stay over here!

Room Tip: We had the "Bees" trailer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I hosted a 1 night workshop with my marketing team and it was a great place with great service. Would be amazing for families! Rooms are great as was the food. Only issue for us was we were told there was Internet but it was not really working! For most people that would or should not be an issue but we needed for our work! I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 26 - 28 August at Old Mac Daddy. From the moment we arrive it was pure hospitality. All of the staff is so friendly, proud and knowledgeable on this establishment. They were also assisting on what to do where. We stayed in The Dream. Pure bliss....the trailer and the 'sun room' were unspecable; the bedding and cushions were to die for. We also had a back, neck and shoulder massage...what a wonderful experience as the massage is doen in your apartment with a wonderful view. We also went hiking in the mountains and for wine tasting at Southhill wine estate. If you want a perfect pizza? Old Mac Daddy restaurant is the place to go! The breakfast was scrumptous. We also made new friends as all the visitors to Old Mac Daddy are just relaxed and sooo friendly! Thank you Old Mac Daddy for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Best to look at the pictures on the web site as the interior of all the trailers are done by South A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I have stayer here twice now, both times an excellent stay! Would highly recommend for a quick escape from town over the weekend - only an 1h20 away. Great setting, nice restaurant, awesome rooms, friendly service and great Sunday night special!
Will be back!

Room Tip: Try get one of the top trailers like Dirkie Sanchez
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is like some fantasy kit made straight out of a children's story. The ride getting to the land is an adventure in itself. Once you find yourself at the doors, the landscaping is so magical you may find you are hypnotically drawn to staring at the plants. Each accommodation, so simple in that they are trailers, is made mystical by the artistry involved in the design and decor.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElginTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overberg District hotels
6.1 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
852 reviews
17.6 mi away
Athenian Villa
Athenian Villa
#5 of 11 in Caledon
48 reviews
70.3 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
727 reviews
98.2 mi away
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
56.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mac Daddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mac Daddy

Address: 112 Valley Road | Grabouw, 7160, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Overberg District
Price Range: $75 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Mac Daddy 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part wholesome caravan park, part designer farm lodge, Old Mac Daddy Trailer Hotel is a new chapter in adventure, escapism and pure relaxation. Set on the pine-whispering slopes of a beautiful corner of the Elgin Valley, Old Mac Daddy is a collection of vintage Airstream Trailer Suites, each designed by an artist, designer or creative living and working in Cape Town. Fully catered and serviced; Old Mac Daddy offers trailer units with themed bedrooms and earth-friendly living spaces. A big designer barn is the communal area where all meals are served. Visit the Grolsch bar or take a dip in the swimming pool, explore the area or just relax. TRAILER SUITES Old Mac Daddy consists of ten trailer suites, two lake-side units and a family farm house - Daddy’s Villa. Each of our trailer suites is a world of its own. The Airstreams themselves have been transformed into bespoke bedrooms; each with its own theme, style and feeling from the magical to the quirky and a whole range of delicate and wonderful things in between. All but the lakeside suites, have additional living areas and decks, which allow for light-filled lounging (or use it as a kids bedroom) and time out. An en-suite bathroom with shower adds luxury to the experience making it a camping holiday like no other. Heated in winter, cooled in summer and cleverly insulated throughout, you will be sleeping way past the first cock-a-doodle-doo! THE BARN, RESTAURANT AND GROLSCH BARThis barn is more of an off-piste designer ski-lodge (without the snow, of course) boasting dramatic agrarian vistas and a vibe that says poolside in summer, fireside in winter. The indoor-outdoor Barn is where guests can enjoy healthy, wholesome meals, and treats throughout the day. Chef Siya Mnguni and restaurateur Gordon Manuel have composed a kitchen vision that centres around fresh, local ingredients and big appetites. Grolsch, the premium Dutch beer behind the sleek, magnetic Airstream, is also the creative force behind the world-class bar at the heart of the park. The large 13-metre bar makes a bold statement with its size and striking finishes. One of only a few to offer Grolsch draught, the bar is fitted with a stainless steel tap imported from Europe. Old Mac Daddy welcomes small people with an indoor-outdoor play area and a daily kiddies meal. Parents must take heed however that a pool and natural, unfenced lakes are a part of this landscape and children should be watched at all times. CONFERENCING & CELEBRATIONSA brilliant venue for conferences, meetings, pow-wows, retreats, celebrations and weddings – Old Mac Daddy can be rented entirely for functions or partially for meetings. A boardroom/conference area is located on the property (seats 20). Wireless broadband is available for those needing to get some work done. WHO IS IT FOR?Old Mac Daddy is for anyone who needs a break from the city. Anyone who wants to breathe fresh air, have apple juice run down their chin and swim in the farm dam and spend star-shot nights melting marshmallows over the fire. It’s for anyone who loves to take brisk walks in winter and then curl up in front of a cosy fire. Old Mac Daddy is for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Mac Daddy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mac Daddy South Africa/Overberg District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing