We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Markella Studios
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Castello Bellos(Keri Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harmony Hotel(Keri Village)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Veduta(Marathias)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gloria Maris Hotel(Porto Koukla)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalimera Koukla(Porto Koukla)
View Hotel
Koukla Mare Studios(Porto Koukla)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
46
23
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
23
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool arealarge poolnice coffeein easy walking distancenext yearpoolside barbring your ownsmall beachcould not have been more helpfuleach morningfantastic placekeri beachdimitrifridgeharbourzanteaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 83 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent 11 days at Markella in June this year and it was lovely, Dmitri & Debbie and Lena really look after their guests. We had a self-catering studio (with no intention of eating in) and it was perfectly well-equipped with fridge, kettle, toaster and two cooking rings. Basic but clean room and bathroom with everything working well and no problems with plumbing, hot water, etc, as can be experienced in the Greek islands. Keri itself was quite big enough for the length of our stay, with several good tavernas, snack bars and cafes serving great local food at reasonable process. We would definitely visit again. The location is beautiful and Markella had a lovely sizeable pool and a snack bar serving breakfast, snacks and drinks. Definitely recommend this place! Sue & Peter, Devon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent a week here at the beginning of June. It was our second visit which is unusual as we never go back to the same place twice. The studios are basic but spotlessly clean and are an excellent choice for a relaxing holiday. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool if you just want to relax and Dimitri and Debbie are marvellous hosts - nothing is too much trouble be it a beer or a snack or information on where to eat or hire a car.
Limni Keriou is a gem. A quiet little place with half a dozen places to eat. Would particularly recommend Keri Taverna, Poseiden (at the far end of the bay) and La Bruschetta Italian restaurant which is inland and has a lovely view of the bay.
There are some good walks - inland to Keri village and the lighthouse. Debbie has written directions. We also hired a boat from Big Blue and explored some of the little coves and turtle island.
Overall a perfect place to chill that doesn't break the bank!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are good.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I, as did Martin, (a previous reviewer) spent a week at the Markella Studios in May and would say his views were almost the same as mine. The only difference would be that I did not, after the first few seconds use, find the shower or curtain to be a problem. All can be overcome.
The cleanliness of the rooms, swimming pool, bar area and grounds could not be faulted. Thank you Lena for your great efforts along with a wonderful smile and the 'good morning' greeting. You do however need a bit of lubricant on those cycle brakes. No need for an alarm. Just wait for Lena turning up to a screeching halt at 8am. It's ok, the dawn chorus earlier had put me in a dream world so I needed something to bring me too.
The hospitality of Dimitri and Debbie is second to none. Thank you both for a fantastic week. Always attentive. Always on hand.
The only problem I did find was do I want a coffee or a beer. Hmmm that's a tough one.
The quiet area of Keri Lake was just what was needed. Bars and restaurants down by the small jetty were so welcoming and good value. The 10 minute walk down to the sea was inter dispersed with kalimera's or a Yassas to/from every local that passed by or were sitting outside the supermarkets or the wonderful cake shop. Hmmm ok it's a coffee this time along with a little cake. Well I say little that's what I told them when I got home.
The Markella Studios. A great location. A great place to relax if that's what you want. Great area for walking. Dimitri will help organise a car if you wish to go off and investigate this wonderful Island.
Again thank you Dimitri, Debbie and Lena for a wonderful weeks leisure and pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigManEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent a week at the Markella Studios in May '13.

The studios are clean, light and airy with comfy beds and perfectly adequate for a Greek island holiday. Our studio had a balcony that faced the small road that runs past the studios and so it is possible to hear some road noise however the windows and patio doors are of a high standard and we were not disturbed by the small amount of traffic. I've read reviews that some people were disturbed by dogs and cockerels - again, you can hear them (and the odd owl and cat fight) but I don't understand how one could be prevented from sleeping?! We found the noises of the night quite relaxing!

Lena, the friendly maid cleaned the rooms daily and the bedding and towels were changed mid-week. We found this perfectly adequate.

The room has a safe and aircon although in May, we didn't need the aircon. The studio we had was also shielded from the sun by some attractive vegetation around the patio so I suspect the room never gets unbearably hot. If it does, there's the aircon.
There's a small hob with some pots and pans and a fridge. Personally, we don't go on holiday to cook and the excellent tavernas nearby were a far better option than cooking.

Our only gripe with the room was the shower.
The bathroom was clean and we never had any hot water issues. It's typically Greek so very simple. The shower cubicle has an oversized curtain than gathers in the shower tray and generally gets in the way. The curtain itself hangs on a wobbly rail. It is what it is but with a little effort, it could be improved dramatically - new shower screen/shorter curtain that fits a solid rail for example. There's no hook to hang the shower head onto either so you need to hold the showed over you with one hand. The toilet cistern is also a little too large for the room and doesn't quite fit in the space.
All that said, the water was always available, hot and with decent pressure and as I said, the bathroom was kept clean by Lena.

The rest of the property is great (which makes the shower situation stand out more) There's a lovely pool that is regularly cleaned by Dimitri and Lena and plenty of sun loungers with plastic full length cushions. The pool area is surrounded by beautiful gardens with some nice plants and trees so it's very colourful. This area too is regularly swept and kept clean and tidy. We saw a vast array of butterflies and the swallows were having fun skimming the pool for insects and a drink.

There's also a pool bar with a good selection of soft drinks, beers (served in frosted glasses) and spirits as well as tea and coffee. You can also get snacks here although we never had any.
The pool bar is a great place for some sociable drinks in the evening or a coffee in the morning.

Limni Keri is a great little marina with 6 or 7 tavernas, a couple of bakeries, a few small supermarkets, boat trips and boat hire and scuba diving. It's a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll from Markella.
We hired a boat to drive ourselves which was fun. Word of warning, beware how much fuel you will use and ask the boat hire staff to prove what you've used by observing the before and after fuel levels.

Finally, much is written in other reviews about Debbie and Dimitri. They're both excellent hosts and very hospitable, always available to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They run the Markella extremely well and are both good fun.

The only thing that prevents me giving this a 5 star rating is the shower situation although it definitely didn't spoil our holiday in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Markella Studios and we will definitely be returning. The rooms are clean and air conditioned and well positioned for a peaceful holiday while being in easy walking distance of the beach and excellent tavernas.
I felt completely at home and the children loved every minute of it. The pool is clean, lovely and very peaceful and Debbie and Dimitris could not do enough to make sure our holiday was special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeppyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews