We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sole Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sole Hotell
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Noresund
Zürich
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked our room via Booking.com Unfortunatly the room with the double bed that we booked was not available (two seperate beds only) However the staff was very sorry about the mistake and did their best to compensate.
The Sauna and pool are not exactly a wellness - temple, but just about what one needs after an exhausting day on Skis! Also hanging out at the beautyful lobby is quite nice.
We were very very sceptical about the Dinner (as there was only one Menu to choose from available) but we were extremly surprised and not disappointed at all! It was delicious.
Breakfast was nice at well. All in all: A quite nice stay

Room Tip: Do not book via Booking.com Call in directly to make sure that the room category you want is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effendi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg L, Eier at Sole Hotell, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi! Thank you for giving us such a good recommendation at TripAdvisor. We always try to do our best and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards from Management
Georg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
20
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here during our driving tour of Scandinavia. The hotel is ideally situated on a beautiful stretch of water and our room looked out over it. There's a very comfortable lounge area that also shares these views.

Dinner in the restaurant was a very nice affair and we all enjoyed it thoroughly. The room itself was very spacious and much better than a lot of Scandinavian hotels we've experienced on this trip. Breakfast was also excellent and the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.

I'd certainly stay here again, given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks out on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Skytte1, Eier at Sole Hotell, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you. It was lovely to have you as our guests and I'm so happy that ypu enjoyed your stay! Have a safe trip back home! Regards Georg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
330 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went there for a wedding. The location is good, dont judge it from the roadside of the hotel. Go around to the garden.
The food was very good, and most of the employes was helpfull and nice. Except for one in the reseption.
Rooms are old, but some other guests had new rooms, so ask for that.
Ok breakfest.
Pluss foor serving food at night when you have a party!

Room Tip: Ask for a new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg L, Owner at Sole Hotell, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Google Translation
Tusen takk for konstruktiv tilbakemelding. Vi setter alltid stor pris på tilbakemeldinger som også gjør at vi kan bli ennå bedre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilhelmshaven, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been in Solehotell twice during the winter time and really enjoyed both stays. We had different rooms each time , which were both very individual and cosy with a wonderful view. Just like the rest of the hotel. During all times of day we liked to sit in the salon on one of the comfortable couches, having a cup of free coffee/tea and admired the beautiful view on the lake.
The breakfast has a lot to offer for everyone. Including fresh fruits and typical norwegian food. And also the dinner was tasty and left nothing to complain about.The hotel manager , owner and the staff were helpful and friendly. You can also use the swimmingpool and the sauna.
Solehotell would always be my first choice for the area of Norefjell.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "old part" are the most cosy and traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotta-Madita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georg L, Manager at Sole Hotell, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I hope to see you again this winter. I can also tell you that the Breakfast is even better now and will be a big surprise.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we arrived - we where greated at the entrance - wich made us feel at home.
The kitchen Chief, did a very good job, the menus we were served the 2 days we were there - just fantastic.

Has a good location, and possibility for cross country skiing outside the door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainboyGeilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is situated in a excellent place with huge park and lake. Unfortunately the lake was frozen due to winter. But the hotel surroundings offers a lot of activities through the year. It is situated next to Noresund Ski centre. It also houses a place for conference seminars. Staffs were very friendly and excellent food. It is an excellent place for both family and business meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishnukanthan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here medio January 2012. It was a lovely stay on a lovely place, with a lovely staff. Lunch was super! If I had chosen to eat my dinner elsewhere, I would probably have recommended to stay at this hotel. Unfortunately we choose to have dinner at the Hotel. Worst food experience ever; we were served grilled pork tenderloin (but not sure due to its extremely over-cooked state). It was like putting a piece of sand in my mouth, or a pencil rubber. The other servings was neither any good, and the entire food-experience smells of unskilled labour in the kitchen combined with the cheapest poor-quality ingredients. This might have been a one-timer for the kitchen staff, but it still killed our stay. Lunch was great, dinner was the disaster that makes me rate this stay 2/5. Do not pre-book in dinner here with your stay. Otherwise everything was top-notch! To me though, the food is all important to the overall experience, so the rating will be poor.

Room Tip: Ask for lake-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noresund
3.5 mi away
NorefjellHytta Restaurant & Overnatting
19.4 mi away
Tyrifjord Hotell
Tyrifjord Hotell
#1 of 1 in Vikersund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
23.9 mi away
Klaekken Hotell
Klaekken Hotell
#1 of 2 in Honefoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Lampeland Hotell
Lampeland Hotell
#1 of 1 in Lampeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
24.7 mi away
Sundvolden Hotel
Sundvolden Hotel
#2 of 2 in Krokkleiva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
21.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Ringerike
Comfort Hotel Ringerike
#2 of 2 in Honefoss
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Hotell

Property: Sole Hotell
Address: 3536 Noresund, Noresund 3536, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sole Hotell & Herregaard)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Krodsherad Municipality > Noresund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Noresund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sole Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet ligger vakkert til ved bredden av Krøderfjorden og ved foten av Norefjell, kun kort avstand til skianlegg og golfbane. Langrenssløyper finnes rett utenfor hotelletHotellet er opprinnelig fra 1910 og bygget som doktorgård og fungerte som distriktslegebolig frem til 1959. Hotellet stod ferdig i 1965 og har i dag lange og gode tradisjoner på det kulinariske og intim og personlig atmosfære. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sole Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotell Norway/Noresund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing