We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hardanger Hostel B&B
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice hostel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hostel is beautifully located along the fjord and has nice views. The hostel is actually a boarding school which is turned into a hostel during the summer. There is a kitchen and the rooms are clean. There are some picknick tables overlooking the fjord, which makes it very nice to have an evening drink. The breakfast was very nice as well, the best we had during our stay in Norway. I think this hostel gives excellent value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at Hardanger Vandrarheim while exploring nearby fjord Norway. Located in Lofthus, the hostel is a good 10-15 minutes walk from the center (a small collection of shops by the water), but otherwise easily located and convenient to the area.

Our room had two single beds and a private bathroom. While simple, the room was very clean and provided ample space for luggage and hiking gear. Common spaces felt deserted while we were there, but were comfortable enough to spend time in.

The view from the hostel is absolutely stunning and with the long nights, it was pleasant to eat snacks/drink outside on the lawn. A simple breakfast is included, although I ended up sleeping through them both mornings.

Overall I had no complaints with the hostel. At $120 a night, it's not the cheapest hostel (or even hotel), but for Norway is a great deal ... and it the location was perfect for exploring the nearby towns and hiking trails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very happy at this pleasant summer-only hostel in the beautifully located village of Lofthus. It isn't very easy to find but once you finally track it down you're met with a lovely looking old school (old as in not new, it still is a boarding school most of the year). The rooms are simple but clean. Bigger than in your average UK hostel too - with twin beds rather than bunks. The showers are spotlessly clean and nice & hot. And the buffet breakfast as good as in some hotels. Free wifi throughout too. The garden is lovely with great views of the fjord and mountains. Why not pick some cherries from the trees in the grounds and enjoy a beer or two (don't worry - the no alcohol rule is not enforced) while soaking up the views?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in a twin room (though we've booked a double) with ensuit shower and wc. We didn't have a good map and found it not easy to locate but people in the village could easily point us the way.

Pros:
- great view of the fjord, nice building, has potential for shooting horror movies ;-)
- very clean
- cherry orchard provided us with great dessert...
- very good breakfast spread. Generous buffet, staff kept replenishing food even after breakfast time
- very quiet!
- very clean and well equipped common kitchen with everything you need from cooking ware to condiments and cutlery

Cons:
- we were not informed that linen are not included (but we could buy or rent for a reasonable price)

Ask for a room facing the fjord! The other side is facing the mountain and cherry orchard.
The hostel is only open during summer months.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Fantastic area, average hostel with good breakfast. Great value in this part of Norway. The rooms are simple, but they gives you a good night of sleep. During the school year this hostel is a boarding school, folk high school.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lofthus
14.3 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
30 reviews
17.3 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
129 reviews
7.4 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
67 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
105 reviews
17.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
#2 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardanger Hostel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardanger Hostel B&B

Property: Hardanger Hostel B&B
Address: Hordatun, Lofthus, Ullensvang 5781, Norway (Formerly Hardanger Vandrarheim)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang > Lofthus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lofthus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hardanger Hostel B&B is a big hostel situated in the beautiful landscape of Lofthus, Hardanger. We offer bed and breakfast to a low cost. Twin-rooms with two beds in every room. The budget-rooms are with bunk-beds. There are either shared WC and shower facilities or facilities in the room. We give you free use of washing machines, dryer and sauna. We also offer free parking, free WI-FI in every room also outdoors and guestkitchen for preparing your own meals. The hostel is situated about 20 minutes drive from the Trolltunga parking. You may bring your own bedlinnen, or you can rent it at the hostel. If you want us to make the bed before your arrival you need to tell us before 12.00 o`clock the day before arrival. You can also rent towels at the hostel if you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hardanger Hostel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing