We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bjornefjorden Gjestetun was a farm - hia hia oh…and now the place is very calm - hia hia oh ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
south
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Bjornefjorden Gjestetun was a farm – hia hia oh…and now the place is very calm - hia hia oh ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

It was about 40 minute driving from Bergen and the reason was: not a single room for rent left in Bergen. The guesthouse recommended by the information office in Bergen- well done for them.
The place as we told was an ex farm, design and decorated by a young lady one of the owner of the place. Actually she did a good work except for the TV monitor (picture attached) – please replace it: no one can watch TV at this monitor unless he use a magnifying glass…..
Our room was big, clean and very comfortable. actually, double bed is more fitted for this room and for many couples too, I guess.
The bathroom was just great with its warming floor. The view from the room to the lake is fantastic.
The dining room is very aesthetic, clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and satisfying.
O.k , now what was less fantastic:
The stairs too steep – must watch out when using them (picture attached).
Price - little bit high (picture not attached...) .
The bed – prefer a real double bed.
And of course the T.V monitor - simply a jock.

Room Tip: Ask for room viewing to the lake. o.k., at least try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
15
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, Holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This beautifully located hotel is very atmospheric, both from the outside and on the inside. The room we had wasn't the biggest, but because of all the wooden elements, very 'romantic'. The little balcony with a view over the lake was a nice touch. With the beautiful city of Bergen nearby, this is a hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting this area of Norway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrinocoFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The rooms are clean and tidy and rather sweetly decorated. We had a stable room so sitting room/balcony downstairs and bedroom (with 4 beds) up steep ladder on the top floor - rather fun but not if you are not steady on your feet. It was all good but the rooms were not sound proofed and that was not ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for room on same level if you can not climb a ladder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
250 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

As mentioned by other travelers, this is not your run of the mill hotel. Our room was more like a ski lodge, with two loft beds, a nice size (big) living room, a cot, and funny enough, a privately accessed bathroom outside our room. It is more like a typical ski condo than a hotel room.

We liked it. It was different. The character was cool. There's a nice view of the water / fjord from the hotel. The staff was nice, there's free internet there. They had self-made waffles for breakfast (yummy!).

The downside is that the hotel is not really in Bergen. It is in Osteroy, about 15 miles away (I think), so it's not as convenient. The town is pretty, quaint, but like most small Norwegian towns, things close down early, and you don't have the niceties of Bergen. On the other hand, you don't have the tourists / noise either.

The value was good, it was cheaper than many of the Bergen hotels at 1150 Nkr a night for 2 people during a popular season.

  • Liked — character, quaintness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Bjornefjorden Gjestetun last week and liked it very much. Truthfully, we were a little disappointed when we first arrived. The hotel website had led us to believe that the hotel would have a more secluded and rural setting. In actuality, the hotel is located in an upscale suburb of Bergen. The hotel's grounds are small and are bordered on one side by a fairly major road and on the other by houses. There is no access to the waterfront, although there is a nice view of the fjord. While I had envisioned spending time relaxing at the hotel itself, we did not do this. The good news is that this hotel is not only a short drive to Bergen but is located close to a few ferry lines for exploring the fjords. Our room was very comfortable -- although the beds were located in a loft and the private bathroom was located off a public hallway. You could at times hear the people in the adjacent room, including someone snoring at night. One night there was a large group drinking and partying on the hotel patio, located just outside our room. We waited until 11 pm and then called the front desk to complain. Within seconds the party had been cleared out. The best part of this hotel is the food. We had the prix fixe dinner both nights, and each night it was excellent! The breakfast selection each morning was large, varied and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

We found this cosy and friendly hotel late one evening, driving frantically around the outskirts of the town of Bergen. A very welcoming atmosphere helped us in deciding to stay for the night. Cosy room, although a bit dark situated one floor down as it was. Maybe the breakfast was a little bit bleak, but overall our stay att Bjornefjorden was a experience rating above average. Superb staff!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The lack of good light in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at the Bjornefjorden Gjestetun from the 20th to the 24th of June on our honeymoon. The price was not nearly as expensive as was quoted by a previous poster but I wouldn't exactly call it cheap either. We had a nice room, or in fact two rooms, a bed room and a living room with a nice big terrace/balcony looking over the magnificently beautiful fjord. The beds were rather small but extremely comfortable, and I'm almost 2 metres tall and haven't had a better sleep in ages. The hotel is excellent for someone who isn't looking for a stay in the downtown, but rather looking for a few relaxing days surrounded by beautiful sceneries. Our room even had a little kitchenette and breakfast was included although we preferred to make our own breakfast and enjoy it in the privacy of our own little terrace.

One evening we had the chance of experiencing the hotels restaurant, which due to a large group arriving only had a veery limited menu available, but extremely tasty and with nice house wine. The only downside was the ludicrous price of the dinner which was even in Norwegian standards on the expensive side considering the remote location of the hotel. All in all an excellent and relaxing stay and would certainly recommend it to people who are looking for something different and romantic.

Hint: rent a car to get to the hotel. If you rely on taxis or buses you'll waste your holiday.

  • Liked — Great view and size of room.
  • Disliked — Soundproofing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dondiegoHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osoyro
Panorama Hotell & Resort
#1 of 1 in Steinsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bjornefjorden Gjestetun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bjornefjorden Gjestetun

Property: Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
Address: Hatvikvegen 25 | Os 5211, Osoyro 5211, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Os Municipality > Osoyro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Osoyro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bjornefjorden Gjestetun 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun is situated on Hauge, Os, just half an hour's drive south of Bergen. Gjestetunet (Guest House) has 38 rooms, seven meeting rooms of different size, banquet facilities, a fireplace lounge and a restaurant. The farm was formerly part of Lyse Kloster (Castle), founded in 1146. The farmstead consists of five houses, and from guest courtyard there is a beautiful view over the Bjornefjorden (Bear Fjord).Family Birch is the eighth generation of the farm Hauge. At the entrance is a burial mound from the Viking era. The oldest building on the farm - former barn, and nowadays an accomodation for several of the guest rooms, is from 1655. The farm was once a part of Lyse Kloster, a rich and powerful monastery founded by Bishop Sigurd of Bergen, with more than 200 farms of their own.Guest farmstead is situated in a large garden, on the top of a hill above the majestic Bjornefjorden. From Gjestetunet there is a view to Folgefonna, Rosendal and Tysnes mountains in the distance. The farm is located ten minutes walk from the center of Os. It is also close to Lysoen, the wonderful and adventurous summer villa of Ole Bull.There are several hiking trails and jogging routes nearby. It is possible to combine this with a swim in the bay (for most of us this will be dependent on the season ...).Bjornefjord Golf Club is located on the property and is a nine-hole all-year-round court. We help you with booking and equipment you need.If you want to tailor challenging activities, maybe you will want to rent a real Oselvar (traditional boat), take horse-drawn sleigh rides, canoe or have a mini boot camp before dinner? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bjornefjorden Gjestetun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Bergen
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Hotel Bergen
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun Norway/Osoyro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing