We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
330
79
13
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
330
79
13
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool great view minute drive set menu bergen airport junior suite beautiful garden finnish sauna steam room fish many times dessert buffet wellness area delicious food historic hotel separate bedroom fantastic hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 428 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2019

We primarily came to Solstrand for the spa experience, that was a bad idea.

They were renovating the saunas (which we in all fairness was informed of in advance), but they were renovating during operating hours meaning handymen were running around, drilling and hammering, and this combined with bright work lights isn't exactly what I associate with a spa experience. The steam room, which was the only sauna open due to the renovations, must be built or calibrated completely wrong, my thighs were cold while my head was so warm it was uncomfortable. In addition, the entire spa area (wardrobes, pool area etc.) was incredibly cold, not a place to relax.

Oh, and the standard in general was subpar – what especially disappointed me was the state of the towels and bathrobes in a spa hotel. The towels were tiny and flimsy, and the bathrobe was probably ready for disposal a few years ago. (But if you wanted to take it with you, mind you, you’d be charged almost NOK 600.)

The dining experience was also underwhelming. They have a set menu, and the waiter brought the starter as we had barely taken a sip of the aperitif, gathered our plates as soon as the last bite was taken, and 40 minutes after sitting down he cleared our main course plates. He also served our table and the table next to us in the same go, providing a bit of an assembly line feeling. And in stead of continuing the set menu for the dessert as well, they served a buffet where they had clearly opted for quantity over quality.

Just plain disappointing.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kikki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PernilleSchauLarsen, Owner at Solstrand Hotel & Bad, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2019

Dear Kikki59,

Thank you for taking time to give us your review.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

In January we do renovate our saunas to reassure that they will be of top of the line quality as well as more environmental friendly. With respect for our guests, we always strive hard to inform well in advance of arrival about how this might effect their stay. With daily opening hours in the wellness area from 7am to 10pm, unfortunately it was not an option to do renovations outside opening hours. This is why we have assigned specialists who are trained to work among guests to this job. We are sorry for the disturbance you experienced and will definitely take your feedback into consideration for future renovations.

We appreciate your comment about the quality of the bathrobes and towels, and further to this a quality check is already in progress.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your dinner expectations. Our team in the restaurant are trained to find out each individual guests expectations with the aim of adjusting the service accordingly. On Saturdays we can host up to 300 guests and do offer a dessert buffet with a selection of cakes, fruits, desserts and cheese. We are proud to serve local cheese, and especially cheese from the two latest winners of the World Cheese Award – both Norwegian producers.

We hope to see you again and would love for you to have a new Solstrand experience.

Kind regards
Pernille Schau-Larsen
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

Yes it is a bit pricy but you have not had a proper Norweigan Christmas dinner before you've been to Solstrand.
the amount of food is staggering but the qualtiy is what makes it stand out!
A mus have if you are in the region in december
The hotel rooms are ok but the view is spectacular.

Room tip: All rooms have views over the fjord
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jacken03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PernilleSchauLarsen, Owner at Solstrand Hotel & Bad, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear jacken03,

Thank you for taking time to give us your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our traditional Norwegian Christmas buffet. We hope to be welcoming you back to Solstrand in the future.

Kind regards
Pernille Schau-Larsen
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

An hour south of Bergen (bus or car) takes you to the Bjornafjord. The view is spectacular wintertime as well as in the summer. The hotel has great rooms most with views, a fantastic kitchen and a spa with sauna and fjord access a few steps away.
This is a little bit away from the railway feeling of Voss but the salty fjord is worth the detour.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank kalle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PernilleSchauLarsen, Owner at Solstrand Hotel & Bad, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear kalle46,

Thank you so much for giving us this nice review. We appreciate that you highlight the view from Solstrand. The open fjord landscape can create magical pictures all year around. Welcome back to Solstrand!

Kind regards
Pernille Schau-Larsen
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018

Third stay at this magnificent hotel. Every trip enjoyed every second. Our room top corner had magnificent views. Staff very friendly, Christmas spread delicious and breakfast buffet superb.
I only wish we could return more often .

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GEZENBEY1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PernilleSchauLarsen, Owner at Solstrand Hotel & Bad, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear GEZENBEY1234

We are glad to hear that you have visited Solstrand several times, thank you for taking time to give us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Pernille Schau-Larsen
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We visited for about 6 days in the summer along with our son and his wife and their one-year old. Solstrand was a perfect place for us. We made our arrangements rather late, and from the first moment we contacted them the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. (Plus everyone speaks English beautifully.) We stayed in junior suite-type rooms, one in the old section and the other at the fjord end of the newer wing, and both were beautiful. As you can imagine, it's not always easy traveling with a one-year old, but the staff was always accommodating. This is a place that readily accommodates both families and conferences, all at the same time.

The location of the hotel is spectacularly beautiful - it's one of the few places I have visited where if anything the reality is better than the pictures on the website. There's a large indoor pool with a connected outdoor pool, along with two nice exercise rooms and very nice locker room facilities. One of the highlights of each day was to go in the disappearing-edge outdoor pool that looks out over the beautiful fjord and is so warm that you can enjoy it even when the day is quite cool. The food is very good, especially if you like seafood, and often excellent; the half-board option is a great choice. This isn't an over-the-top luxurious place - there's no air conditioning, for example, because it's rare that this area gets hot, and you're not in the middle of a city - but it is a wonderful, comfortable place to unwind. We would very happily return.

Room tip: Choose a room with the best view of the fjord that you can afford.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marjoriel599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews