We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect. Great location, good facilities and helpful, welcoming host.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gammelfileten Brygge
ecosse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“perfect. Great location, good facilities and helpful, welcoming host.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Henningsvaer proved to be a great choice as base for few days in this part of Lofoten, and Gammelfiliten an exceptional place to stay and enjoy it. Easy short drive from Svolvaer, warm, comfortable, well-equipped, superb views directly onto harbour. It was great to enjoy Henningsvaer when the day visitors had left ( not so many though in early June). It is a picturesque small place with several places to enjoy the work of local artists, good fresh seafood, and endless fantastic scenery. There is a gorgeous beach at the top of the road, and kayaking and boat trip options nearby. Easy base for trips to places like Eggum, Gimsoy and other midnight sun top-spots.Gammelfileten was so relaxing and charming to return to, and Kenneth is a most genial and interesting host, we really appreciated all he could tell us about the area, the changes it has seen, and about the cod-fishing which is at the centre of everything here. A completely enjoyable stay, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gammelfileten, Owner at Gammelfileten Brygge, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for the visit and your very kind words :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Svolvaer, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Gammelfiléten several weeks and it is for sure something we would recommand to everyone : the rooms are beautiful, clean, extremely confortable, with the magic charm of tradition in the use of wood. The place is quiet and the owner is more than welcoming and helpful. A perfect experience, from the first to the last minute.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eol111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gammelfileten, Manager at Gammelfileten Brygge, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

When going to Henningsvaer forget about hotels, we can only recommend this hidden gem here! We stayed a couple of days in the Ranveig apartment, located on the top floor, which is very spacious, nicely refurbished and offers splendid harbour views from the large windows. Sleep quality is very good, what is important to us: quality mattresses and blinds to darken the room (essentially in the land of the midnight sun, but not often found). Quiet location close to supermarket and several restaurants.
And Kenneth is a great host: always helpful, nothing is too much trouble for him and a very nice guy to chat with.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capricorno-vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We happened upon this brygge accomodation on trip advisor and weren't sure what to expect given how laid back the management was and how cheap it was. But, we were thrilled to pieces with it, and i'm a hotel snob!

He only has 3 apartments and we took Ranveig, the largest of the lot. It has a separate bedroom and a great room with complete kitchen sofa/sitting area, dining table and 2 extra bunk beds. All that you could say is missing is a microwave, a toaster and laundry facilities. We stayed for 2 nights but tried to stay for an extra 2 nights - sadly it was booked.

Given the competition in town, the owner could easily charge double the 800 krone per night that we paid.

It's an apartment, not a hotel - so no room service or daily maid service. But it has free wireless broadband and is decorated with classic photos of Henningsvaer. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Clean, cheap, reasonable price, good space and aparently newly renovated.
Located close to a supermarked and in the centre of the village with restaurants and small handcraft/souvernir shops.
Very good view from our apartment. Silent area by the beautiful canal inbetween the islands. Friendly host, wanting to help with anything and very talkative. We borrowed a couple of bicycles and he did not charge anything.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChayaneOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henningsvaer
0.2 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
124 reviews
10.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tobiasbrygga
Tobiasbrygga
#2 of 6 in Henningsvaer
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finnholmen Brygge
Finnholmen Brygge
#1 of 6 in Henningsvaer
55 reviews
11.2 mi away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
17.8 mi away
Hattvika Lodge
Hattvika Lodge
#1 of 7 in Ballstad
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gammelfileten Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gammelfileten Brygge

Property: Gammelfileten Brygge
Address: Dreyers gate 81, Henningsvaer, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Henningsvaer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Henningsvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self service apartments with kitchen/livingroom, bathroom and one bedroom. A double bed in the bedroom and one bunk bed in the livingroom. The apartments :"Ranveig" : Livingroom / kitchen, bathroom and bedroom with a double bed. A bunk bed in the livingroom, (4 persons) "Venus" : same as "Ranveig" "Kontoret" : Livingroom / kitchen, bathroom and one bedroom with a double bed, (2 persons)Bedsheets included, towels for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gammelfileten Brygge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing