We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, great views, by the forest, a bit dated, uncomfortable bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, great views, by the forest, a bit dated, uncomfortable bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a studio for two.

Pros:
- Welcoming owner and family-ran business
- Balcony with great views of the Ionian towards Igoumenitsa
- Thick forest on one side, a tree garden in front
- Room and all common areas were very clean
- Wide bed
- Ample parking space
- No traffic noise
- Reasonable price for August (peak season)

Cons:
- Building dated back to the 70s
- The bathroom was old fashioned and not well designed. The shower was too small for 1 person and the water would always spill outside the plastic curtain and you would have to mop it off afterwards. The owner should invest in bigger showers with a glass cover
- No way to stop light coming in in the morning from the balcony door. The owner should invest in a thicker curtain
- Bathroom was ventilated via a window, so the room's air-conditioning could not keep it cool
- Noisy fridge. We thought of unpluging it at night to allow us a good night's sleep

Tips:
- Room was exposed to the sun on two sides throughout the day and gets hot by nighttime. In order to keep it cool at night we either had to use the air-conditioning or leave the balcony glass door open
- To repel the mosquitos, use a mosquito coil (can be found in all supermarkets in Greece) in the balcony and a mosquito plug & tablet in the room (was provided)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We could not have asked for better accommodation for our first visit to the beautiful island of Corfu. Costas and Helen Brentanos are such a friendly family and made us feel very welcome. Our apartment was 346, the one at the top of the block overlooking the pool with views across Ionian sea to mainland Greece. It was so clean I don't think the cooker has yet been used! Towels are changed every day and the sheets twice a week. The views from the balcony are amazing, especially the sunrise which is a must! Costas and Helen are always on hand with their extensive knowledge of the island and the best places to visit and how to get from A to B if you don't hire a car. We are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and really just wanted to chill for the week so we used the bus to get to Benitses and Corfu town. We quite often found ourselves at the bar chatting to either Costas or Helen or with other guests, some of which had been going back to the apartments for the past 14 years if not more! Yes, the road leading up to the apartments is relatively steep but it's surprising how quickly you get used to it! There is a small supermarket just 10 minutes walk away with a few local restaurants but more in Benitses, just a 10 minute bus ride away. We enjoyed it so much we are already planning a return visit with friends! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had yet another fabulous holiday at these superb apartments.
Our room was 344 overlooking the pool and with a fabulous view of the sea and across to the mainland.
The hospitality shown by the owners really goes above and beyond anything we've ever experienced while on holiday - nothing is too much trouble.
The apartments are spotlessly clean and the beds extremely comfortable.
The view from the balcony is amazing day and night.
There's nothing more relaxing at the end of the day than sitting on the balcony with an ouzo watching the tiny fishing boat lights out at sea or the odd cruise liner sailing by listening to the Scops Owl in the distance. It really is a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGCCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks long enough to get real good feel for the place. The rooms are spotless and serviced every day. The breakfast prepared by Helen and Kostas are very Greek, and tasty. The pool is absolutely amazing and the view is something that you find only on postcards. The only drawback is the narrow road leading to the place, to be fair most roads on Corfu are very narow. Overall great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was an excellent choice for our summer stay in the beautiful island Corfu where I originate come from.
A very short distance from the Corfu center and the airport and 20 minute drive to some of the best beaches the island can offer.
The personnel one of a kind. Their Hospitality is the reason to Return and suggest it as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late April 2013, before the 'season' had got under way. We were welcomed by the very hospitable Mr Brentanos who showed us to our room in Block C. Our balcony looked out over lemon orchards towards the mainland acrossthe Ionian sea and every sunrise was magnificent (this is, of course, the wrong side of the island for sunsets!).
We knew that the swimming pool would not be ready for use when we booked (out of season) but we were compensated with huge complimentary breakfasts, served to our table, that kept us going way past lunchtime.
The room, which incorporated a small kitchen/dining area as well as a shower/wc, was kept spotlessly clean by the staff on a daily basis. There were adequate English TV channels for holiday browsing (2 movies, BBC news etc) and free wifi .
We had 'heavy-footed' neighbours in the apartment above for a couple of nights, so sound does travel through the tiled floors, but we could live with it.
On a personal note we found the beds a bit hard, but hotels are never going to please every taste, and as seasoned travellers we have learned to adapt.

A car is a must if you are staying here. It is a wonderful base from which to explore, but the nearest restaurants and shops are in Benitses, a couple of miles south, or Perama, heading north towards Corfu town.
This side of the island is not greatly blessed with 'bucket and spade' beaches - these are to be found on the north and west coasts. Here most of the villages are still fishing ports and marinas, each with its own charm, like Boukari, where restaurants/cafes serve a local clientèle.

Brentanos apartments are about 15 - 20 minutes drive from the airport and are well signposted on the road to Kaiser Bridge, although the entrance/exit onto the highway will require extra care from those not used to Corfu's roads and driving habits!

We rented a car through EconomyCarRentals.com (local firm was Auto Union). For under 100euros for the week we got a not-so-new Hyundai Atoz with 27000kms on the clock. Very friendly service, on time pick-up outside the arrival hall for the 2 minute ride to the depot. (Small cars are better suited to the roads in the more out-of-the-way areas where 20 tonne trucks always have right of way!)

Don't be alarmed by the apparent closeness of the airport to the apartments when looking at the map. Yes, planes are visible over the sea on their final approach, but there is no noise problem at all.


To sum up: The hospitality and generosity of spirit shown by Mr and Mrs Brentanos are what makes these apartments such a pleasant place to stay and superb value for money for this type of accommodation. We would be more than happy to stay at Brentanos apartments again

Room Tip: Top floor room would have better views and there would be no risk of having 'heavy-hoofed' g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freespirit1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I just stayed here just after easter 2013. My wife and daughter found it online among dozens of other places to stay, I'm glad they chose this one. It was like visiting family, the service and frendliness was lovely. Helen, her husband and daughter, Yiota, made us feel at home. Our apartment was great. Tidy and clean. The view from the balcony is second to none. Brentanos is 15 minutes by car from the airport, just outside town. All in all top rating on all accounts. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 228JimR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiotab, Yiota at Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Our dear friends,

It was a pleasure offering our Hospitality to such a great family. We thank you personally for all your positive comments and we hope to be able to welcome you again in our complex.

With our warmest regards to you all,
Yiota - Helen - Costas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gastouri
0.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Bridge & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
4.0 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
4.5 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise

Property: Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise
Address: Kaiser Bridge, Gastouri 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gastouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gastouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal destination for relaxation and rejuvenation of the senses, the Brentanos Apartments "View of Paradise", is a "little paradise" in the cosmopolitan district Kaiser Bridge. Next to the magical forest of Achilleion, the old picturesque port of Benitses and just 8 km from the city of Corfu, is a crossroad of options, relaxation and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brentanos Apartments - View of Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentanos Apartments - View Of Paradise Corfu/Gastouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing