We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kivotos Villa

Pool area  with... a  view !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda Night view from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Pool area  with... a  view !
amazing  views at the Agean Sea from the Veranda
Night view from veranda
Relaxing near the pool  and  the gazebo
Villa garden and pool area
Romantic relaxing
lavanders in the garden...
living room
Fish ...in the living room area .
Kitchen
Bedroom with double bed
Twin beds
Main bathroom for the disables
Master bedroom with en- suite bathroom
Sofa bed in the Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom
bathroom en-suite with jacuzzi
children painting....
children playing...
Master bedroom
Sofa bed in the master bedroom
Master bedromm
Vegetables from your organic garden
sun set by the pool
pool area
pool area
relaxing by the pool
sea view from the living room
night views from the living room
pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nico W
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife, 2 kids and I stayed at Kivotos Villa during the last week of May and the first week of June 2014. This was the third time we've rented a house for the holidays and this time we could not have chosen better. No description or picture can do justice to this fantastic place. The villa has everything we could have asked for, the pool is a dream, the 180 degree view of the Aegean Sea is undescribable and the house owner family is so generous and so sincerely interested in the well being of their guests. Words fall short. This place is so private that it is hard to believe that we were just a five minute drive away from the beach and merely 10 minutes to the lovely town of Rethymno. Eva, Sakis and their daughter Zania made the stay memorable, offering valuable advice on what to see and where to eat. The welcoming package that awaited upon our arrival was ample, the house was cleaned 2 times a week, the pool was chrystal clear every single morning and we even had our own organic garden where we could go and pick our own veggies :) The hardest part during our stay was to convince the kids that there was more to see and do than simply use the pool! This place is a 5+ star property in our book and we will most definitely be back! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally O
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay for all ages”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Situated close to Rethymnon in Crete, this villa is a wonderful place to stay. Close to mountain villages, beautiful beaches and the old town of Rethymnon. The villa is well appointed with everything you need and the owner, Eva and her daughter, are extremely welcoming although not in any way intrusive. We travelled with my 9 year old daughter and her grandparents and everyone had a fantastic time. My daughter particularly enjoyed the pool and the friendly kitten and cat.

A big thank you to Eva for making our stay so memorable. We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razz55
Penrith
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect and relaxing holiday at a fantastic villa. Cretan hospitality at ita best.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Just completed a wonderful and relaxing holiday at this lovely villa. The perfect location provides a peaceful setting with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside and the bay east of Rythmanon. It's within easy reach of supermarkets and just as important small local shops offering everything from bread/cakes to plants. With easy access to the highway to enable visits to Rythmanon and Chania. Internally the villa is modern, clean and beautifully equipped and externally has a lovely pool and dining terrace. However the most lasting memory of this visit will be Eva's hospitality and kindness. She ensured we located the villa under her personal guidance, following our late night arrival into Iraklion, which meant our holiday was relaxing from the start. Eva's presents of home grown organic aubergines and tomatoes made cooking an evening meal a joy and her pannacotta with chocolate sauce was superb. We left with homemade olive oil and a vow to return to this lovely villa. P.S. the cat and her black kitten were a bonus, which made us start the day with a smile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eva's warm personality and great hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LotanRiba...
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
“Kivotos Villa is perfect!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent a lovely holiday in Crete, staying at Kivotos Villa. Just like other reviewers mentioned, this place is more than you expect.
The house itself is beautiful, the villa fully equipped in a high standard. It was clean and spacious and beautifully furnished. Everything is new and modern. The location is nice, on a hill over looking the sea. A short drive gets to a several supermarkets, which made cooking in the beautiful kitchen fun.
The owners are very friendly and think of your every need. We were on vacation with our babies, so the villa was perfectly arranged to our needs, including the smallest details that are normally overlooked. There were cribs, high chairs, a safety gate for the stairs, an activity mat and lots and lots of toys! It was very considerate and made all the difference in our stay.
The owner's organic vegetable garden was put to good use by us with their encouragement, another lovely little bonus of this fantastic villa.
All in all, a great place to spend your holidays, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners' care and attention to details.
Liked least: The location requires a car to get anywhere.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Crown.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want stunning Panoramic views, peace and tranquillity, with a lovely spacious modern Cretan Villa north facing looking over a vast sea landscape and set amongst Olive Groves, this is definitely for you.
A perfect setting, great pool and gazebo to enjoy the brilliant sunshine which rises at 6.00a ( perfect for Tai Chi) and follows the villa around all day, super sunbathing trap.
The villa has 3 very well appointed bedrooms, furnished to a high standard, super Kitchen /Dining Room, with sofa suite to relax out of the sun, leading to a spacious balcony set out for open air eating whilst you gaze over those tremendous views. Two bathrooms which are excellent. Everything you need at a high standard, to have a Great Holiday.
The best villa we have ever stayed at, and the owner Eva is so charming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The 3 of us (retired) had a Super Holiday here, plenty of quaint villages to visit nearby, along with lots of taverna's serving first class food, with stunning views. Nearby supermarkets, butchers and bakers, everything you need.

A car though is needed, but a villa we will visit again and again. Superb

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquillity and stunning views
Liked least: A car is needed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDeiger
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“WIsh we could of stayed longer!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Absolutely stunning property and house! It was spotless. The kitchen has everything you might need, bathroom large and clean, and the bedrooms, nice and comfortable. We enjoyed our peace and quiet evenings outside. It was so nice after long days of siteseeing to come home to our Cretan oasis, set up high, with beautiful views of the ocean. Eva is an excellent host, so warm, kind, and accommodating. She knows how to go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. An absolute pleasure. If you are looking for a place away from all the hustle and bustle, book this villa. It is a retreat in and of itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing