We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico”
Review of Taverna Fantastiko

Taverna Fantastiko
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Maroulas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditonal Taverna with local food only.Homemade cheese and homemade bread as well as meat from our farm...Enjoy the best view and wonderfull sunsets of the island...
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

Delicious home-made food, friendly service and stunning sunset views. Exciting steep drive up the hill, playground for kids and nice veranda for comfy sunset views

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Set up really high this place has amazing views across Rethymno. You need a car to get to it. Don't park in the village & walk like we did as we had to get a lift from the local farmers!!! Once there the welcome was wonderful. Excellent menu, very cheap & all homemade! Really perfect setting & gorgeous food. Probably the most authentic Cretan restaurant in the area. They even drove us back down to our car in the village. Thank you

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nickymasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Amazing view - day stare over the see, night see stars we can't see in the UK due to light pollution. In addition great service and food!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank BenjiAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

We arrived at 10:30 pm, the waitress welcomed us as if we were at 8.30 pm. The restaurant is situated at the top of a hill, 1 magnificent view on Rethymno and its surrounding. When the other customers left, we had even the restaurant for us alone.
For starter, a wide selection of 'home-made' cheeses or 'classical' greak salad or tzatziki. For main course, If you love the lamb, chops roasted are excellent (it appears lambs come from the family farm). I did not dare to test the goat cooked slowly.
The servie is also good, the owner speaks even a little French. Well, it was a lovely place and a great dinner.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank DPht75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Good food fantastic scenery. What a fantastic view of Crete . if you go do it at sunset unbelievable what a beautiful place to build a restaurant

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Fantastiko also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Maroulas, Rethymnon
Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Fantastiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing