We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but too far out of the way!”
Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Virginia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This review is copied and pasted from my previous account.

Starting from the very beginning...

Arrival at the hotel was standard, no issues. The receptionist took our passports in return for 2 all inclusive wrist bands.

We were in the 'old' part of the hotel. After reading reviews I was slightly dubious... Our room was easy to find. Air conditioning wasn't included, we had to pay €36 for the week (July-August is free). The room wasn't the most modern, but was VERY clean and had everything we needed - a bathroom with shower, bed, fridge, balcony, sofa etc.

The following day we took a wander around the resort, which all in all was lovely. The new area was clearly more modern, but I wouldn't say any nicer, as such. There were '5' pools, really there are 2 but both are split into baby pools and more adult pools - plenty of sun loungers and parasols. There are also a couple of play parks and some daily entertainment for the children (music, games and dancing with some reps). A stone throw from the hotel was a beach, but it's down a very steep hill, which in the heat and flip flops, isn't much fun. The resort isn't within walking distance to anywhere of importance, just a couple of supermarkets. There's a bus stop just outside, but at €5 per person, per way, the bus is quite expensive. The hotel has car rental, which for us was the better option for me.

The all-inclusive wasn't very well described to us upon arrival, we had to work out the majority of it by ourselves (not that it was very difficult). You got buffet meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All of which had local Greek foods, but guaranteed every night you could get pasta, chips, pizza etc. so there was always something you could eat! All in all the food was lovely, but if you're expecting steak upon arrival - think again. Drinks wise you could get local vodka, rum, oozo, tequila, wine, beer and soft drinks. The pool bar had snacks during the day that you could nibble on too. The staff were very friendly, but beware - a lot of the guests were extremely rude, keep on your toes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AmyVee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 565 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I and our two kids aged 12 and 8 spent a couple of weeks at the Virginia Hotel in August 2013.

We were checked in efficiently and everything was clearly explained to us at reception.

Our room was nice and spacious and exactly as described on the website. We were in the old part of the hotel, in the garden area with the waterfall/pond and this was fine by us. Nice and quiet. Beds, yes a wee bit harder than what we're used to but we've been to different parts of Greece over the years and expect these kind of things. We all slept well enough though.

Room was cleaned nearly every day and that and the whole site in general are very well kept. Couldn't fault the staff or hotel for cleanliness and hygiene.

We were all inclusive and as we're all veggies, we were a bit worried about the choices open to us but on the whole it was fine. Always something to eat from the hot buffet and if all else fails, the salad bar was very good. Mixture of local dishes and things like pasta, chips, pizza etc for those wishing they were in Blackpool or Benidorm. Considering the mixed clientele in terms of age and country of origin, I think the hotel does really well in keeping everyone fed on time and with sufficient choice. The waiting and kitchen staff work their socks off trying to keep everything topped up and the tables cleared.

Our fellow travellers were mainly Eastern European (Polish mainly), with a few Dutch and Germans. Not many Brits but we didn't mind that at all. In fact the only people we consciously tried to avoid were an extended family of Brits who plonked themselves down next to us at one of the pools on their first day and proceeded to keep a steady stream of alcoholic drinks coming, whilst swapping tales of how drunk they'd got in Rochdale or Rotherham or wherever it was. Lovely. We moved to a different pool and avoided them for the rest of the holiday. Give me the Poles any day...

Pools themselves are fine. The two smaller ones in the older part of the complex were our favourites as they were warmer and surrounded by gardens. The bigger pool in the newer part is definitely colder and more likely to have music pumped out of the nearby bar. That said, the volume was never that bad and I've heard worse in terms of choice of music.

They have some games arranged by the Polish reps such as water polo where they invite anyone one to join in. In terms of entertainment though, that's about it. Bit of karaoke and dancing for the younger kids in the evenings again by the Polish reps but otherwise nothing really apart from a few arcade games and pool tables dotted around. No complaints though as we knew that when we booked.

Nearby village of Koskinou is OK. Not a lot to do. Few bars. Our favourite was a cocktail bar above a restaurant on the l/h side of the road as you're heading into town, away from the hotel. Great cocktails. Were not impressed with the restaurant opposite, think it was called the Koskinou, where you go up a flight of steps at the front of the building to an open terrace at the top. Very ordinary food - was expecting a lot better.

Parrot bar is worth taking the kids to!

Easy to get into Rhodes Town by cab, takes less than 10 mins.

This was the first time we'd been all inclusive and it was fine. Nothing spectacular but I felt we got what we paid for. I'd recommend it to others if you're not looking for the height of luxury and cordon bleu cuisine. There are 5 star hotels in the vicinity but from what we could see they were almost entirely Russian or Polish. We had a nose inside a couple and they were fantastic but you obviously pay 5 star prices.

Room Tip: The older part of the hotel is generally quieter than the newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wellsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Virginia Hotel on 21st Sept - 5th Oct and we couldn't fault the hotel or staff. The receptionist checked us in with ease and we extremely polite and very helpful. Our room (216 in the older part of the hotel) was overlooking the smaller quite pool and was clean, tidy and had plenty of storage. The bathroom was basic but cleaned everyday and fresh towels every 2 days.
Both pools were cleaned every morning and the grounds were kept to a very high standard
We spent most of our time at the larger pool as there was music and a bit more space. Although the water was quite cold it was very refreshing as we had amazing weather.
At the pool bar there is a snack bar which offered a good variety of hot and cold snacks from 11.00 - 16.30. There is also an alacarte restaurant (you pay for) and I can recommend the burger special however all food was very reasonably priced. You could also get all the usual drinks from the pool bar and fabulous cocktails.
In the main restaurant there is a buffet for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was always plenty of choice and all food was very fresh and tasty. All food was clearly labelled during our stay and I never felt "bored" of the food. All the restaurant staff are very helpful and always have a smile on their face.
The pool bar was open in the evening too - However, we tended to spend the evenings in the main bar. There is no entertainment at the hotel but that suited us perfectly. And the bar staff certainly kept us laughing - even getting you up and dancing on many nights to greek music.
Outside the hotel there is a good variety of supermarkets, shops bars and traditional greek tavernas.
The beach is approx 150m from the hotel and the water is lovely, calm and clear. There are sunloungers to rent and a couple of places to buy drinks and snacks. There is also a beautiful Beach called Kallithea Springs which is about 3 miles for the hotel. Just come out of the hotel and down to the main road, turn left and keep walking. It's like a little slice of paradise.There is a little bar there which is extremely reasonable.
There is a bus stop just on the main road too. If you stay on the hotel side the bus will take you to Rhodes Town €1.70 each (well worth a trip by day and night). If you cross over the road the bus will take you too Faliraki and Lindos.
Please ignore the bad reviews on this hotel - It is a fabulous hotel with fantastic staff!
P.S A massive thank for to Dominic @ the pool bar and Christos @ the Main bar - You made our birthdays and holiday so special xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clareandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here in August - 2 adults and child aged 9 - for 2 weeks. Were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the newer, larger rooms overlooking the new pools. Room consisted of 2 bedrooms with inner hallway where there was a large wardrobe and plenty of drawer space also housing the safe (payable at reception). There was a separate spacious bathroom with hairdryer and plenty of area around basin for your lotions etc. We had a bath with a shower over - my criticism of this would be that the shower cradle was not directly over the bath, it was waist height so you had to hold it over yourself to shower - very awkward. The hotel should really look at moving these into a better location.
Plenty of hot water though. Main bedroom was huge with a massive balcony with 4 large metal framed chairs and a table - lovely spot to have a drink in the evening as the sun went down with sea in the distance.
This is the first hotel for years where I have not had to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed! There were still plenty left late morning, and in fact most of the day.Such a pleasant change. Don't know if this was because the clientele were mainly Polish guests or not. There were not many British guests staying here but the ones we met all seemed to be enjoying the hotel and were great to chat to.
The restaurant did it's best to accommodate all tastes. Food was quickly replenished and was mainly well labeled so you knew what you were eating and even the most fussy eater could usually find something they liked. We tended to eat on the terraces outside as it got very hot inside. A lot of the crockery was chipped so the hotel could look at replacing this in time!. Cutlery and juice glasses were always very hot - so you knew it was clean! Restaurant staff worked hard to clear tables and the bar staff worked very quickly serving drinks to keep queues down. Good range of drinks included in the all inclusive option except for whiskey. But you could always pay for it and cocktails if you needed to.The longest queues were always at the ice cream station with small children battling to scoop out the different flavours (usually choice of 3 or 4) bending down into the large freezer! Teaspoons and dishes here were always in short supply.
Hotel entertainment was provided by a Polish tour operator (their answer to Thomson or Thomas Cook). They ran a kids club (British children joined in with this occasionally) an Aqua Aerobics session in the morning, poolside games late morning, waterpolo in the pool mid afternoon, then Kids Disco early evening followed by - occasionally- a quiz or bingo or themed night. They worked very hard, involving guests of all nationalities and having a great range of languages. Current pop music played round the larger pool all day but wasn't too loud - just right.
In the older section of the hotel was a couple of smaller pools which were quieter. There are 2 playgrounds for the kids, the newer one having a large wooden pirate ship with built in slides-very impressive.
Special mention must go to Iris on reception(there was another receptionist but we didn't see her as often)- as she is so helpful - and honest in her suggestions on what to do, where to go and how to get there etc. She speaks so many languages too. Hotel has it's own small supply of cars for hire on site which we took advantage of one day to drive down to Lindos - wow a must see but incredibly hot and busy. Stopped off on way back at the beautiful Tsambika Beach as Iris suggested, where you can park for free at this large and fairly busy beach - the water was so warm here too. Just a few miles south of the hotel just before Faliraki is the waterpark. Great for a day out - we wore flip flops walking around as the ground was so hot, Just leave them at the bottom of the slide or ride and pop them on again when you finish - quite safe. Excellent snack bar here with great food at reasonable prices. Entrance was about 22 euros per adult. There is a free bus that runs from Rhodes Town but didn't stop enroute past our hotel (we already knew this though) so got a taxi from the main road instead - quick and quite cheap. Park operates a cashless system, you just select how much credit you want put on your wristband and use this to pay for food and drink etc.
The beach by the hotel itself is so close and more than big enough to serve the few hotels in this area - 10 euros for 2 sunbeds and 1 parasol. Yes there's a short but steep lane down to it but most people even those with pushchairs were managing just fine.
There is nothing in the way of shops and restaurants in the immediate area, just a few 20 minute walk away, but I would suggest taking another cheap taxi to Rhodes Town just a short ride away, Lovely walled town overlooking marina filled with flash yachts, pleasure boats and the like. Then meander through the streets to the top for the best views of the area with loads of shops and restaurants to choose from. Great atmosphere here - beautiful place.
All in all a good holiday in a good hotel where staff work hard, are friendly and welcome all nationalities. Just a couple of niggles with the shower holder and chipped crockery and wish it was closer to a town but would definately recommend to others

Room Tip: Email hotel before your stay and request a new room overlooking pool, especially if you have a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zosie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Virginia 7-21 September 2013. We haven't got a bad word to say about the hotel. We loved the food the people and the company. I would say that outside the hotel is like a rubbish tip and was quite off putting but this is not down to the hotel but the local council.
The bed was extremely hard but clean, we had a room in the old part it was definitely adequate for our needs. What do you do in the room? Met a lovely couple who showed us their room in the new part, it was very good but too big really for 2 people.
Would definitely stay there again. I think it would be a good place to take children too, they have an animation team and play area's around the hotel which would suit the young.

Room Tip: I think any room would be suitable but if you like more space then chose the New building
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Peggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Virginia from the 14th - 25th September and were really worried before arriving after reading all the negative reviews but when we arrived we couldn't of wished for better. We were given a lovely room in the new section of the hotel which overlooked the stunning pool, the room was lovely and modern with both a bath and shower cubical. All the staff were really friendly with a special mention to Iris on reception who is so lovely. Both bars are good and play all English music, there is no entertainment at night but we made lots of friends so we made plenty of that ourselves, good selection of drinks and you can buy cocktails and bottled beer if your fussy. The food was very nice, always hot and a great selection, we never went hungry and always enjoyed all meals. Both pool areas are lovely with plenty of sunbeds, we preferred the new poo as they play music, the lower pool is abit quieter. It seems as though they do have a animation team on throughout the days but they finished on the day we arrived, it looks as though they only work certain months. The hotel is abit out of the way but bars, shops and restaurant's are only a ten minute walk away and taxis into the old town and Faliraki are only 9euros per way. We had a great holiday, the weather was fab and we cant complain about the hotel. Ignore the 'moaners'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauzStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just got married at Kalithea Spa and all stayed at the Virginia Hotel. As soon as the hotel knew we were getting married they immediately upgraded all our wedding party most of us being in the new maisonettes which were lovely. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed we even had complimentary champagne and flowers in our room on our wedding night. The hotel was very clean there was plenty of food with excellent service - well done hotel Virginia! !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.3 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
0.3 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantza Mare
Romantza Mare
#12 of 20 in Kallithea
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amada Colossos Resort
Amada Colossos Resort
#11 of 20 in Kallithea
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Address: Reni Kosnikou, Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range: $49 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Koskinou
Virginia Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing