We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation”
Review of Kresten Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kresten Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very pleasant experience over a two week period.
The arrogance and ill manners of an individual at the front desk marred an otherwise first class hotel.
No English speaking programs could be obtained on the television, and only one English paper was displayed ( we just needed details of world news ).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FletcherUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 720 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

Just returned from a two week stay at the Kresten Palace - Overall view .... Excellent. The pool is probably the best in the area plenty of sun loungers even in the height of season. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The entertainment team (Italian) were superb especially with the children even though my kids dont speak a word of Italian or German they were still welcomed to join all the activities - mini golf, pool games, mini disco. Claudia especially was a star!

There was an excellent buffet selection for breakfast and dinner (we stayed half board) The salads were delicious, and the big selection of desserts kept the kids happy.
The rooms were spacious and cleaned every day by the wonderful cleaning staff. Returning to fresh towels and clean sheets everyday was a delight, we have always holidayed self catering in the past so this was a real treat! We had a double room which actually had 4 beds (2singles pushed together, then a room partition and then 2 seperate single beds)

The hotel guests were mainly German and Italian, I think we were 1 of only 2 British families staying at the hotel, but for us this was fine.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to freinds and would most definitely book again if/when I return to Rhodes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shazbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Visited in 2006 and we had a great stay. Good food, good personnel
We had a room with street view and we had no problem. The greatest pool from the area.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrooveRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Kresten Palace has a luxurious lobby and beautiful grounds, for that it deserves its four-star rating. However, the rooms are more like two/three stars. The doors feel flimsy and insecure. If you're getting a bargain deal on this hotel like we did, you're probably in one of the street facing rooms that was not renovated when the rest of the hotel was. You can hear the noise from the bar downstairs. The carpets are disgusting. It's very worth the 6 Euro per day to upgrade to an ocean view room--most of these have marble bathrooms and tile floors it seems.
The minibars are empty, but that's no big deal. You can buy from the downstairs shop at a reasonable price. But we were there on May 30, one day before "high season" and they refused to use the air conditioning in the rooms. It was quite hot and uncomfortable to sleep, and we are people who like it hot.
Most notably the service was problematic. The hotel staff was not accomodating and always urging us to leave the dining room so that they could go home. It was like pulling teeth to get the front desk to move us to an appropriate room--even when we were paying for the upgrade! Not four-star service.
We had breakfast included which was fine, but much of the food was canned--a few fresh tomatoes and citrus. We ate dinner there once, but you're much better off going to the local tavernas nearby (Tsambikos--on the water, direction Rhodes, 1 mi.?)
People seemed to be enjoying the entertainment, but that's not our thing, so we don't know.

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank mrhtestarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

In brief these are the reason why I advice you not to book this Hotel:
- Hotel needs total renovation
- Rooms are shabby
-Our bathroom had a blocked sink
-There is a mini bar with no drinks in
-The a/c was not working
-The carpet in the room has three different colors, not sure what color it was originally.
-The food is disgusting and you have to queue for it
-No English channels on TV!!!!!!
-No animation

I personally would not give it more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Vanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We booked it as a package tour.
The hotel was great! Good size, clean rooms, big terraces overlooking the sea, the pool area and Rhodos town as well.
The fridge in the room was very useful for us. The aircondition worked very well.
The meals was tasty and there was a big choice of cold and hot meals as well (we were on half board basis).
The staff is very helpful and polite. We asked for other rooms, since the rooms given for us were dark on the ground floor of a windy side building and it was really a 12 minutes walking distance (walk, scales, elevators) to the reception and the hotel restaurant. The panorama was also awful from here.
So we changed rooms, and we received bigger, lighter rooms with amazing panorama over the sea and Rhodos town.
The area is very quiet, despite the animation it is silent at night, since the organised programs end between 23 and 23.30.
The hotel beach is a small rocky beach, but wonderful for diving and swimming. It was never crowded in June!
The bus stop to Rhodos town is in front of the hotel. In Kallithea centre there are a few shops and car rental offices.
All in all our vacation was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham - England
12
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We thought Kresten Palace was a lovely place to stay, the hotel was clean and spacious, together with helpful staff making our holiday.
The rooms were of a nice size, but perhaps could of had a seperating door between the main room and the beds for the children, to allow for more privacy.
The pool was very clean and a good size with plenty of different depths for the children, if some could not swim, etc.
The food was of a good quality, and a large variety to choose from, but did have a little problem with flies in the restaurant due to the hot weather and the windows being open due to no air con in the restaurant.
The animantion team who did the entertainment were very friendly and helpful, trying to get everyone to join in and partcipate. They were great with the children and better with ours as we were the only british couple with children staying at the hotel in the week we attended (there was only 1 other british person in the hotel), the team made the children feel welcome and helped them to join in with games and translated between the other children staying at the hotel.
The mini golf needed a little attention, so more people would use it.
Overall we thought the hotel was a lovely place to stay, and would definatley stay there again

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
0.2 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
26.6 mi away
Lindos Imperial Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kresten Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kresten Palace

Address: 6th Km Kallithea Avenue, Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range: $60 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kresten Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kresten Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kresten Palace Hotel Koskinou
Kresten Palace Koskinou
Kresten Palace Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing