We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxing stay at Kresten Palace”
Review of Kresten Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kresten Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was rather surprised by the couple of "bad" reviews posted here recently. This is a fabulous hotel, managed by really friendly and caring staff. The food was great - we both put on far too many pounds! The location is realy convenient and the views are stunning. Can't comment on the TV channels - if I wanted to watch TV I'd stay at home. Similarly with the internet - we bought a data roaming package before we left, so that we could keep in touch, but to be honest, wouldn't have been a problem as I could quite easily have ignored the internet completely and just immersed myself in the wonderful atmosphere.

OK - this is Greece - where accommodation standards do tend to be less luxurious than other parts of Europe. We had a bath and shower with hot water all the time. Yes, only bars of soap, but even the big hotels in Las Vegas no longer provide shower gel!!! Our room was spacious and the bed was king size (not sure if 2 singles pushed together or not?) but very comfortable. Yes, air con old and a bit noisy - but it did work efficiently. Carpeted floor, chairs to relax in as well as a furnished balcony overlooking the sea and distant views of Rhodes town. Beautiful.

The swimming pool was extremely clean and plenty of sun loungers available. Pool bar served drinks all day and the food menu was extensive. tip - share the pizzas - too much for one at lunch time! We strolled down to the beach a couple of times - not much to write home about, but the pool more than made up for it. Tip - bring your own beach / pool towels, as they aren't provided.

All in all excellent value for money and fabulous staff (we have no idea who the guy is that the other reviewer referred to - we never saw anyone like that). It's unrealistic to expect 5star quality / service when you only pay 3star prices, and for what we paid we got a great deal and would stay there again; certainly the best Greek accommodation we've stayed at.

Only minor disappointment - the spa was closed, but as it hadn't been advertised, could hardly complain.

Room Tip: get a sea view room - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thelms61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 720 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed in the hotel for 4 days during september.
The hotel is clean and the staff is very polite. Food was great. Location is good (in the middle between Rhodes and Faliraki. Car rent agencies, supermarket and a restaurant 600-700 meters south to the hotel).

Few things you should consider before booking:
Need to pay 2.50 EURO for seat in the beach (hotel private beach).
In our room the air-conditioner was very noisy and it was hard to sleep.
Only local channels in TV.
No WIFI in rooms, only at reception.

that's it. if you get a good price you can book now :)

Room Tip: the rooms with the sea view are far from sea(they are on the top), but i think that the view is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from 6 days at the Kresten Palace Hotel.
before you read our review, IF YOU BOOKED THERE - CANCEL IT IMMEDIATELY!

The service is awful! there is one guy there with blue eyes and glasses - VERY FAT! behave like an #%&#^! he lied to us 3 times! the first time was when he said that the nearest supermarket to the hotel is about 3KM away, later we discovered that it was 300 meters!! second we got a room with twin beds after we booked a double room, we went to the reception and explained the situation, but at the reception they claimed they do not have (AT ALL) rooms with double beds, and they always connect the beds together so that we feel it's a one big bed... NO WAY!! one night I fell between the two beds while I was sleeping and I hit my elbow. we asked to change the room and he said that all the rooms are the same, we checked it with other guests and we understood that he lied to us - AGAIN!

OVERALL the service is execrable!!!! and we are very nice people!!

about the food-2 SPICY! 2 SALTY! 2 OILY!
YOU CAN'T TAKE THE TOWEL TO THE POOL/BEACH!! you have to buy!
YOU DONT GET A SHAMPOO!!! 4 STARS HOTEL!!!!???
YOU PAY FOR TANNING BED! EVERY TIME 2.5EUR!!!
CRAZY!!
I HAVE MUCH MORE TO TELL YOU...but first go and cancel your reservation ASAP!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NAVI1999998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hi

We have just arrived back from a weeks stay at Kresten Palace. Our friends had stayed there in July so knew that we were in for a lovely holiday. The room was spacious with carpet - the air conditioning was a bit dodgy but my partner managed to sort it out. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner and the towels were a bit grubby. I am also not too sure if our beds were changed while we were there.

The restaurant was great - lots of choice but plenty of room and the staff were always there to help. I do find the long trouser rule for men a bit strange...they should really have a dress code for both - as men were getting turned away for wearing smart shorts ect - while woman were wondering around in hot pants and flip flops....didnt seem quite fair!

We hired a car for the week - which i think is a must with this hotel as there isnt much around it and Rhodes is such a lovely Island with so much to see and do - I am not sure I could have stayed at the hotel without it as there is not much else apart from the hotel.

My partner had a massage at the spa next door which he said was amazing, and the pool area and food at the pool bar was lovely. We did find the reception staff a bit off at times and not always eager to help.

Would def stay again - we had a lovely week and was great value for money!!!

Room Tip: Sea view and not in the hotel - the rooms nearer the pool were great as you were close to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from one week at the Kresten palace. We usually stay in smaller hotels so wondered if we would fing this too big and impersonal, far from it. The staff were always polite welcoming and smiling despite working a 7 day week in 32 degrees of heat! The room was very spacious .The restaurant has a good buffet selection and the greek night with BBq is well worth going to. delicious! The pool has plenty of sunbeds and a poolbar/ restaurant. Be aware of beer prices though 3,30 for a half and 3,90 a pint!! if you want a small beer order a large bottle also 3.90 and 2 glasses!! The pool has one side which is quite shallow which is fab for kids and to play ball in.
the hotel is out of town so be aware that if you're on BB rate there is reasonable walk to find a few restaurants on a main road. Bus into Rhodes takes between 15 and 30 mins 2.20euro pp. taxi 9 euro.
There are a couple of tavernas by the beach, accessed via the hotel ,we didnt eat there in the evening so you may need a torch and flat shoes, but only a 10 min max walk. The hotels private and next beach along is shingle and very pebbly as you get into the sea but has a jetty to swim from. 2.50 euro pp at the beach for a sunbed.

Beach/pool towels arent provided so take your own

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Only three minor improvements i would suggest.
1. to provide showergel and shampoo toilettries in addition to soap.
2. Towels looking abit grey
3.pool brollies and sunbeds need a sproose/ slightly better quality for a 4*

Room Tip: the family rooms are much bigger than a double with extra bed so even if there are three of you its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tonyperryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spent a nice relaxing week at the hotel. We arrived very late at night and the front office people were expecting us. We were given some information and the hotel map and we were soon taken to our rooms. A nice sea view room, opening at the main swimming pool with sea water. The food was very good as well as the drinks. The most impressive of all was the staff which were excellent, from the cleaner to the waitresses and the chef. Their politeness, service, always with a smile and most important of all, most of them were Greek and we liked that a lot.

The only negative and its not for the hotel was the taxi driver that took us from the hotel to the airport when we left and although they have fixed prices he asked for more. We didn't complaint about this however its not good for Rhodes Tourism, visitors to have an excellent impression about everything and then this to be somewhat distorted to some extend by a taxi driver that wants to earn a few more Euros(we used taxis a number of times and all of them were ok except the one that took us to the airport when we left).

Room Tip: Rooms 401 to 414 that open at the main swimming pool (sea water) and with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yiannos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Arrived at hotel to be told there wasn't a room for us but we were quickly sent to the Kresten Villa Hotel down the road courtesy of golf buggy. Next day returned to hotel to be given a lovely room over looking the pool, huge balcony, good sized room, clean and welcoming. Staff very apologetic about the mix up the night before and gave us a bottle of wine, bowl of fruit and four lunch vouchers. Food very good, plenty of variety, salad bar great, and lots of choices, going with my husband who is a chef is always daunting but even he was impressed. The wine waitress is superb and after the first night remembered our order and our room number. Maitre D very accommodating and always gave us a table in the corner. Be warned that men need to wear long trousers and at least a T shirt at night for dinner we saw many being turned back to change really impressed that I didn't have to look at bare chested men when having my dinner. Good bar staff (happy hour from 1830-1930) Didn't hire a car as quite expensive and petrol also expensive but a good taxi service from outside the hotel with fixed prices (9 Euros to Rhodes town) there is also a local bus service from the hotel (2.20 Euros but only every half hour and packed). There were very few British people there the majority were Russian and German and so you may feel a bit isolated. Pool bar great and good salads at lunch time (try the Olympia Salad superb) Took a boat trip to Symi, booked on the seafront, 20 Euros each for the day and you are collected from the hotel. Well worth the day out.Entertainment was ok but there were plenty of places to sit and chill if you didn't want to get involved. All in all good value for money. If you want a relaxing time then this is the place for you a good 3/4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 502-522 brilliant over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenali1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.2 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,528 reviews
26.6 mi away
Lindos Imperial Resort & Spa
20.7 mi away
Atrium Palace Thalasso Spa Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kresten Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kresten Palace

Address: 6th Km Kallithea Avenue, Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range: $60 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kresten Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kresten Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kresten Palace Hotel Koskinou
Kresten Palace Koskinou
Kresten Palace Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing