We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacations! we highly recomend Kresten palace.”
Review of Kresten Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kresten Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacations! we highly recomend Kresten palace.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We arrived at 04am (Sunday-Monday) and the reception was open and waiting for us, after a quick check in, we received a meal coupon because we dint had that dinner, because the charter airplane was late several hours.
Monday morning we checked the hotel premises and what services and conditions were offered for a Half Board accommodation.
The breakfast have lots to offer, from the yogurts, several different fruits, cereals, bacon, fried eggs, scrambled, sausages, cakes etc.
The swimming pool is big, with lots of sun beds for laying down, and for what i could saw with a exercise team that performs gymnastics and other activities inside the swimming pool. The beach is practically private to the hotel and another hotel on the side. its only 200m down the road, but the hotel charges 2,5€ per sunbed all day on the beach. Snorkeling material is recommended and also some rubber shoes for walking in the pebbles and sand. The water are very warm, about 26ºC and transparent, perfect for diving!
The room is nice, nothing special, and if you rate the hotels by the latest tile fashion, you wont like it. for us we don't care much if on the walls are expensive stone, but we like silence, and because the hotel my guess is that its from the 90's, the walls don't have the proper sound isolation, so we can hear the neighbors sometimes, but not that much.
Swimming pool bar serves tasty hot meals, and the daily special is about 7-8€, for what i could see, its the hotel manager itself that cooks int the swimming pool bar during the day!
In the evening we went for dinner, and again excellent food with lots to offer in the vegetables, salads, at least 2 fish dish and 2 with meat, deserts are always being added and the food is very tasty! being Half-Board, the 0,5L water costs 2,5€
We rented a car and spent most time traveling around the Island and also we did a tour to Symi Island, that i highly recommend!!!
There is a hotel shop where you can buy newspapers, water, beer, suncream and some souvenirs and gifts.
There is always night activities like the Greek night, that we missed, then some live music and dancing, and some days "mini-disco", but as we weren't interested we didn't pay a lot of attention.
The dinner buffet is great and everything there are new things to eat, and all of them very tasty.
Last day, the check out is at 12, and our flight was only at 23, so we staid all day in the beach, and before dinner, the Hotel lent us a room for 30 minutes shower and change, for us it was a great last day!
As there is no ATM machines in the hotel, and the closest one are about 1000m we didn't had enough money, only credit card in the last day, so we used the free meal coupon we had and the hotel manager offered us 2 waters for dinner. a nice gesture that we gladly accepted.
It was a lovely week! thank you.

Room Tip: I like some quiet rest, so check if the rooms are far away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulomaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    284
    144
    58
    32
See reviews for
207
315
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A couple of biggies stand out negatively about the property. The maps for this property show this as being in old town rather than being down the coast as it is. Oops. This is a very large, all inclusive resort intended for foreign tourist groups. We booked it and were obviously filler for left over rooms. We had to pay for internet access, had no meals available to purchase onsite and our free breakfast wasn't going to be open before we had to catch our flight. The biggest issue encountered was the fact that the property doesn't turn on the air conditioning until June 1st regardless how hot it might be! Huh??? The floor show was outrageously loud and could be heard in our room like we were front row spectators! Beautiful pool, great server staff, with organized group activities pool-side.
While other activities are advertised, they weren't set up and operating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koskinou hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our first time to Rhodes, so wanted a hotel that wasn't far from Rhodes town. We arrived late in the evening. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We had missed our evening meal, but they gave us a voucher to use at the pool bar the following day for lunch. Which we did use. Our room was clean and fresh. The decor was modern. The bathroom was also very clean. After our long trip we wanted a drink so we went down to the bar. The bar staff were very friendly. Great range of cocktails!! Prices very good too. We also had a seaview which we had booked. Over looking the terrace and pool to one side. The sea was slightly further away, but the views were lovely.
The buffet breakfast was very well organised. Lots of choice and even had a cooked option. This went down very well, once you got used to the funny shaped bacon and sausages!!
The evening meal was also buffet. On arrival we were greeted by a young lady who showed us to our table. That only happen on our first night. After that we found our own table and she generally ignored us!! The food was excellent though. Lots of choice and it always looked fresh. The Restaurant staff were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome.
The pool area was well maintained, as were all the grounds. The pool itself was clean. Massive!! The best pool I have had on holiday. Nice and shallow one end and not too deep the other. Nice touch with the island in the middle. This was accessible via two bridges. Lots of beds and again really friendly pool bar staff.

The only down points.
We also found ants in the room towards the end of our 2 week holiday.
The hotel is very popular with the Germans. The first 10 days we were the only english speakers. We did feel rather out numbered. They could be a bit pushy at the buffet.
In the evening the so called 'Entertainment team' started their show. They always started at 8.30pm with a kids Mini Disco. They played the same 6 songs EVERY evening over our two week stay. This was difficult to escape as the sound echoed around the hotel!! After two weeks it got very annoying.

Rhodes itself was lovely. It's worth getting a car. Rhodes old town and Lindos are real highlights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Food was definitely worse than in close tavernas, sometimes even (rarely) spoiled, recycled food (lunch -> dinner) etc. ... next time I'd take only breakfasts.
Location wasn't bad at all (beautiful beaches, capital city nearby), but not very suitable for walking (smog from cars & dangerous), better get a car.
Those extra-fees for everything were irritating ... 3,80 euro for a water for dinner is just rude, 50 euro for wi-fi internet for a week is also nonsense, in this kind of hotel it should be free.
The central air-conditioning sometimes didn't work well...
Reception was very kind and spoke english well, waiters were also trying to be kind, but sometimes you knew they were just trying :) ... People outside hotel are much more kind, they recommend you a good wine in a shop or good meal at taverna and are grateful for the tip.
Room was clean and nice, the hotel itself as well. Cleaning ladies are doing a good job.
Pool was nice and large, sufficient amount of sunbeds and mini-golf (unattended, dirty) close by. You can play table tennis and similar games inside (some for money)

Well, simply not really bad, but it could be better, it's 3 stars for me, not 4 stars at all :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3x3cut0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Positive things - big swimming pool is never ending joy for kids if you travel with family.
We booked two family rooms and it was really plenty of space and extra beds to live for 4 people in each room if needed. tare 8 out of 10
Problem with a bugs if you live on the first floor, huge bugs crawl inside during night time even if doors are closed.
Bathroom is terrible and need renovation as priority thing. rate 2 out of 10.
food is so so, would rate 7 out of 10.
a recommended aqua park for kids is about 3 km from hotel but it so so - rate 3 out of 10.
Most positive thing is friendly people in hotel and in all island

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabryte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed for six nights at the Kresten Palace hotel, we booked a last minute deal through Thomson travel agents, who are agents of Olympic Holidays.Next time we shall go directly through the Olympic Holiday website, we found out as always to our dismay, that they offer cheaper holidays than the travel agents.

One couple only paid £250 for accomodation & flights, but we payed £900.What a bummer. Just a little advice,we know what to do nex time.

The hotel was really nice, we asked for a room with a seaview , which we got.


The staff at the hotel were really nice and helpful.
Meals were buffet style, which was ok, don't expect cordon bleu.

Watch the Germans lots of them. and they are rude and will push in front of you at the buffet restaurant.

Spar facilities where not in use at the time.

Hotel staff do speak English, but they appreciate a few words of their language. so why not invest in a phrase book?

We found out that holiday reps will charge you more for day trips out , we went on the day trip to Turkey through them 40 Euros per person. We enjoyed the ferry ride.

Watch the Turks though, they will try to there hardest to remove money from your wallet.

The trip to Lindos is cheaper going by bus, we payed only 5 Euros each, one way.

Worth a visit , beautiful scenery at Lindos.

Boat trips to Lindos cost 34 Euros each through the reps, and 17 Euros each if you booked it yourself on the quay side.

You have to be on the quay side at 8am for day trips to Lindos back at 6pm.

The hotel is definitely worth staying at we give it a 9/10

We will be back there in the future.

Enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: Use the buses they are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

just got back had a good week did have to move rooms the first room was 776 up in what i would call one of the wings of the hotel, we paild for seaview but were given a very poor room rep got us moved to great room over looking the pool so check your room before you un pack..staff are Fab very hlepfull, we went out most nights hotel food was good with a good service. loads of room by the pool all day.beach bit small.not bad at all
I .think its 3 Star not 4,just needs some TLC on it in some of the rooms

Room Tip: Check room before you un-pack, best rooms by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjoe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koskinou
0.2 mi away
The Kresten Royal Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 20 in Kallithea
1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kresten Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kresten Palace

Property: Kresten Palace
Address: 6th Km Kallithea Avenue, Koskinou, Kallithea 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kallithea > Koskinou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Koskinou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kresten Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kresten Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kresten Palace Hotel Koskinou
Kresten Palace Koskinou
Kresten Palace Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing