We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & glad Clifton Capers is back to it's great standard!”
Review of Clifton Capers - CLOSED

Clifton Capers
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food & glad Clifton Capers is back to it's great standard!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hadn't been to Clifton Capers for a while as previous owners had let the standards slip. However as we were local & hungry decided to visit for a meal recently & we were delighted! The new owners are a family business & very helpful & friendly, the ambience is great & it's nice to sit outside with a glass on wine on the verandah. All in all a great night out & the food was fantastic. Chilli squid, Bruschetta, Barrumundi & Sirloin were had & I can't wait to go back. They also have a take away pizza menu. Well done Clifton Capers!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clifton Capers is back”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A couple of weeks ago my partner and I decided to give Clifton Capers a second chance. When we visited the restaurant shortly after the new owners took over we weren't that impressed. However time went on and after several attempts to get a nice meal in the city of Cairns which wasn't that easy, we gave Clifton Capers a second chance and never looked back. The service has improved 100%. The meals are very tasty and with a twist. This local restaurant should be considered when trying to avoid the busier areas such as Palm Cove or Trinity Beach. With a new menu designed for the warmer climate we would like to thank the team of Clifton Capers to make our stay so special. We eat out a lot and don't mind a change of management which in some cases is for the better anyhow. This local managed restaurant needed some more time to get it right. Mission accomplished and well done. We will be back.......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therollinghotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Environment”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great food and service we all enjoy ourselves when were there and always looking forward to the great meals they prepare...absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raegene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dining on the Verandah”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a family run Restaurant. The greeting you receive when you arrive is though you are part of the family. Our first visit didn't go great .one of the meals we ordered they ran out off. Reordered another meal . After being there for 2hrs and our meals still hadn't been started we decided to leave. They apologised and gave us a voucher for 1 meal. So never to give up we went again 6 weeks later. We shared the crocodile and passion fruit spring rolls. Very tasty. Mains chilli bug and garlic prawns on paw paw salad and paella. The Paella was not cooked in a paella pan and was served in a bowl it was like a Risotto it just didn't have that Spanish flavour. The Bugs and Prawns that came with these dishes were to die for. Desserts are priced at $10.Yes we will return but have learnt to order promptly as when they get busy things can fall apart.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barlow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great customer service and good food too”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The pizza was wonderful, we would highly recommend the mushroom pepperoni pizza. Also the alligator spring rolls are addictive! Prices are reasonable. The red house wine is a good choice as well. The wait staff are friendly and attentive and the restaurant is very clean. Good food for a fair price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Capers also viewed

Clifton Beach, Cairns Region
Clifton Beach, Cairns Region
 
Clifton Beach, Cairns Region
Clifton Beach, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing