We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Australia”
Review of Warrawong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warrawong Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Australia”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Frank and Karen are fantastic hosts. Their hilltop B&B has the most amazing view from the wrap around veranda. We were treated like royalty. Fantastic breakfast, especially for myself as I am Gluten Free and Karen went out of her way to bake two cakes that I was able to eat. The breakfast keeps you going for the day. Less than five minutes to the beach. Gave us lots of great tips on where to go and what to see.

Room was very clean and air conditioned for Canadians like us who find the 30C weather and humidity a little hard to get used to when it is winter at home. Room could use a luggage stand though.

We found the location (20km north of Cairns) really easy for us to drive to the Daintree Forest (about 75mins), Cairns (35mins).

Many thanks to Frank and Karen for all their knowledge about the area and for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms are a must. All rooms at Warrawong Lodge have amazing views from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa123456789_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Churchstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hosts Karen and Frank were very welcoming to their hilltop B&B high above Clifton Beach north of Cairns. The view from the wrap around veranda, which every guest could access, was stunning with views of pristine rainforest and the Coral Sea at the top end of the GBR. Only 3 guest rooms meant Warrawong felt more like a house party, very casual and friendly. Breakfast is continental style with one of Karen's homemade bakes usually on offer and plenty of fresh fruit. The infinity pool, although small, is sublime and the water in tip top condition. Rooms were spacious, clean and modern with separate toilet and big walk in shower. You need a car at Warrawong as the nearest places to eat are a few miles away but that is no major problem. Would thoroughly recommend a stay to anyone.

Room Tip: All had wonderful views and were all similar in decor, all very quiet as no passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This private mountaintop B&B feels like you are staying in a tropical villa. The pool offers amazing views and the rooms are spacious and clean. Great location between Cairns and Port Douglas with easy access to beaches but away from the beachfront tourist scene. Accommodating hosts and ample continental breakfasts made this a great base to explore the reef and rainforests, or just to hang out.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenysRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at Warrawong Lodge in November and were blown away by the amazing views. Frank & Karen & "Pippi" (the dog) were very welcoming and provided great customer service. Frank was very knowledgeable about the area and answered our many questions. The breakfast provisions were more then adequate and it was very pleasant sitting outside on the deck overlooking the view in the morning. The nautilus shaped pool with budding frangipani tree is spectacular and even tempted me in (and I don't swim). The room was spotless with high ceilings and very spacious. The only two extra things that we thought the room could use is a luggage stand to rest your suitcase on and a couple of pictures on the walls to add some more colour. Other then that it was perfect. Location to Palm Cove around 5mins, great restaurants along the esplanade and dinner at night time. We can recommend the Surf Life Saving Club and the Aloha Bar & Grill where we had dinner, however all the restaurants looked very inviting. Thanks Frank & Karen and of course "Pippi" for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Karen and Frank have done an amazing job at creating a truly stunning B&B / venue, with the most inspiring view of the Coral Sea. The rooms are beautiful, from the linen & pillows (I'm fussy with pillows!) huge shower, etc, then there's the deck the gorgeous pool and even the friendly dog. Noise transferral between rooms is barely noticeable - it's been masterfully built.
A good continental breakfast sees you through the day. Less than 5 mins by car and you're at Clifton Beach, or Palm Cove, and away from all the hassle of Cairns or Port Douglas.
I would not hesitate to recommend it highly as a VERY affordable, VERY comfortable and beautiful B&B with everything you need, if you want stunning views, a unique experience, and a very quiet environment.
Kudos to you Karen & Frank!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Frank and Karen have built a fabulous house into the hillside with 3 large ( 2 double beds) for b+b. When you step out onto the large verandah area, you have the most fantastic panoramic view across the Coral Sea. The rooms themselves are well appointed with a large shower area, tv, a/c and all you would want. We did not have the cooked breakfast as continental was substantial and more than met our needs. Karen bakes muffins and cakes which are really welcome when you return in the late afternoon. There is also a lovely infinity pool where one can just laze and look over the lovely landscape. We stayed for a week in August when every day was 28C and really pleasant. We had the extra treat of cuckatoos in late afternoon on a tree very close to us. We found the location (20km north of Cairns) really easy for us to drive to the Daintree Forest (about 75mins), Cairns (35 mins) or the Tablelands. Many thanks to Frank & Karen who have only had this facility for less than a year and best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Q6495UIdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. It is absolutely beautifully built. The view and pool are amazing. Frank and Karen provided everything we asked for. I have a gluten intolerance and Karen made special bread and bought gluten free foods for our breakfast. They also allowed us to use their BBQ and prepare a meal for ourselves one evening. The rooms are very spacious and the bar area adjacent to the kitchen is very nice too. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are going to be in the Cairns area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton Beach
1.9 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
1.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
12.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
Agincourt Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 7 in Clifton Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrawong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrawong Lodge

Property: Warrawong Lodge
Address: 20 - 24 Alexandra St, Clifton Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Clifton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warrawong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in a northern suburb of Cairns featuring panoramic views of Double Island and the Coral Sea. Guest rooms all with 2 queen beds, en suite, TV, air-conditioning and ceiling fans. There is a spacious guest lounge room, but most guests choose to sit on the verandah so they can enjoy the spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Warrawong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrawong Lodge Clifton Beach, Australia - Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing